Penske Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  DeWitt, NYDecember 13, 2017
This company was the far worse that I have ever worked for. I would never recommended this company if they opened again! Penske Trucks is totally different, they are rentals. Penske I worked for was auto repair that most locations were connected to Kmart's.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy must be able to multi task
Call Center Agent (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLDecember 12, 2017
Very fast paced and you must be able to multi task. if you are good on the phones and really want to help people this would be a good job. You interact with a lot of employees so you must be people friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall place to work
Rental Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brandon, FLDecember 12, 2017
Overall, this was one of most pleasuable places to work. Aside from some of the managers being VERY incompetant at their jobs and handling the most basic customer service issues. Penske treated me very well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
active work environment
Management Trainee (Current Employee) –  New Castle, DEDecember 8, 2017
A typical day at Penske includes answering telephones making reservations. Having strong problem solving skills will get you through a day at Penske. With supply and demand playing a big role with Penske.
Pros
benefits
Cons
30 minute lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Taylor, MIDecember 7, 2017
The logistics part wasn't bad, just that management seemed a bit incompetent, no real communication between employees and supervisors, contrary to what is said they do play favorites.
Pros
Decent wage and benefits
Cons
Very poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started off great
Assistant Rental Manager (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNDecember 7, 2017
At first its a great place to work. Then it slowly sucks the life out of you. Usually understaffed, worked 6-7 days per week and a lot of 12 hour shifts. High expectations for very little compensation. Management started off as being friendly and helpful, once you are trained in they basically turn their backs to you. Corporate culture similar to a good ol boys club.
Pros
They treat you right at first
Cons
Pretty much everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful poor work enviroment
Maintenance Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Reading, PADecember 5, 2017
Understaffed poor customer service, management wanted us to find any reason possible to blame customer for the issues of there trucks inorder to rebill the customer for things that were not the customers fault.
Pros
good pay
Cons
understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement
Fueler (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTDecember 5, 2017
Wanted to be a mechanic but their was seniority. Had to wait for open position. Fueling was easy but was not paid much and was overqualified for positon. Took job to get foot in the door. Left on good terms and relocated back to NJ. Would work for company again but as a diesel mechanic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Customer Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Dayton, NJ 08810December 4, 2017
Work load was stressfull i completed the impossible made unsatisfied customers happy completed 50 hours of work within 40 hour work weeks skipped lunches stayed late to keep up just for my manager to play the blame game when something went wrong. Lesson learned work your butt off just to get stabbed in the back
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Will work you till you quit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active workplace
Branch Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Dayton, NJDecember 3, 2017
Penske was a good employer, lots of opportunity, and pushing for advancement. The pace is very fast and one has to be able to process many inputs at a time to be successful.
Pros
Company Support
Cons
Pace can be overwhelming
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Service Administrator (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLNovember 30, 2017
Very fast paced work environment, keeps you busy, on your toes, and sharp. Have to be able to improvise for different scenarios for all customers!!!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job as salary and could be put on Temp layoff.
Materials Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Spring Hill, TNNovember 25, 2017
Your work day starts and ends before and after your shift by hours.
The last Manager I had made it much better.
They work, they demand results and then swap all information.
Pros
Team work and Ethics
Cons
Higher ups were the problem
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced with a Great Team
Logistics/Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Milford, DENovember 24, 2017
At Penske there is no typical day at work. Its go in at 5:30 in the morning before the sun is up, and someone needs a truck first thing. You better hope all your guys come in because this job requires a team of individuals!
Pros
Fun, Good Pay, Great Management
Cons
Fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning exprience
Used Car Manager (Current Employee) –  Torrance, CANovember 22, 2017
During my employment at Penske, I have learned a lot about the car business and customer service. As the used car manager, I knew the ins and out of the used car process, and followed it. As soon as i would get one task down, management started giving me different tasks to do from different departments. Management would always choose their favorites for most work related opportunities. Never gave credit when do and don't really appreciate their employees
Pros
you get paid
Cons
favoritism, under managed, not well equipped with tools that are needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
WORKING SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXNovember 19, 2017
Penske is a great company to work with mechanics and people who love to work on big trucks. Penske is family oriented and has always kept their employees in the loop on any company wide decisions that make the company competitive in today's market.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
personal
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Linden, NJNovember 18, 2017
I ran the shop on a daily basis. Oversaw the mechanics and dispatched work. I enjoyed learning about the new technology on the trucks. The most enjoyable part of the job was dealing with the customer's.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detail orientated and friendly team environment
Materials Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Dearborn, MINovember 17, 2017
I enjoy working at Penske. I started as a temporary employee back in 2012 with Kelly Services and was hired within 6 months. There is a team environment within every department, we get great discounts, and wonderful benefits. I would recommend working for Penske to anyone!
Pros
Great Discounts and Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers are probably the best thing about this place. Love working with everyone
Detailer (Current Employee) –  Cerritos, CANovember 15, 2017
Management sucks. When I asked for a raise, all they did was laugh. Don't expect a raise ever. Best thing about this place is working with the people around you. Easy to move up in the company but will give you a very small raise to nothing at all.
Pros
Lots of overtime, easy to move up
Cons
Won't give you a raise no matter how hard you work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick pace work place with mediocre management
Diesel Technician (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, MENovember 13, 2017
A lot of work, we (shop) always seemed to be behind and techs would rush to get jobs done resulting in come backs. Could use some spice to change it up and make things work more smoothly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n\a
Diesel Technician (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZNovember 12, 2017
nothing to say about this company i can't complain that much, but they need to take care of they employees more and not demand more from employees....
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Penske. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,154 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4