People's United Bank Employee Reviews

Found 390 reviews matching the search See all 391 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start career in banking.
Financial Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CTOctober 18, 2018
This is by far a great bank to work for when you are starting out your banking career. The training is A1 and they definitely get you prepared before sending you to the branch. The only thing I can say needs improvement is the pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could do a lot better
Banker III (Current Employee) –  West Haverstraw, NYOctober 12, 2018
I cannot speak for other markets, but the Westchester/ Rockland market needs work. The turnover rate is too high because outside hiring is encouraged more than hiring from within; and even when they do hire from within, it is usually based on favoritism and not who really deserves it. There are unnecessary meetings and conferences held weekly by upper management, claiming that it is to "help" branches attain their goals, when really it is only a waste of time. The goals themselves are unrealistic, as they do not seem to coincide with demographics. How am I supposed to sell a certain amount of credit cards or loans of any kind to an area that is not particularly affluent? This company has no financial advisors that are bilingual in an area that is 90% Hispanic, and then hold YOU directly accountable for not reaching branch goals.
Not to mention the technology is incredibly outdated, and that makes selling this bank even more difficult. Customers prefer a faster, more efficient way to do their banking these days. Meanwhile, almost all of these ATMs still require ENVELOPES for a simple deposit and even CASH deposits are not made available immediately.
Also, because of the increased in-store approach to banking, "bankers hours" are a thing of the past. Be prepared to work 9am-7pm shifts consecutively (especially if you're short staffed, which is ALWAYS in this market), and still only have a 30 min break. In-stores are also allowed to have only ONE employee running the entire branch if you're an "Advantage Center" because of the money counting machine available in certain branches.
  more... While transactions are handled more quickly, it inhibits actual customer interaction. I cannot cross sell as efficiently or better help a customer with a serious issue, all because I am left alone... all because the company deems this acceptable.
They're making it more obvious that WE are expendable, and it is only a matter of time until we are, and all of banking will be done solely online.
Your branch coworkers will be the highlight of your days while working here, and that's about it.
  less
Pros
Expensed travel, flexible hours if you're in an in-store branch, OT available almost always, lots of training available
Cons
Everything I wrote.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Financial Services Associate (Former Employee) –  Hicksville, NYOctober 12, 2018
typical banking policies . management tends to get stressed over the team meeting goals. hardest part of the job is rowdy customers who come in and make a scene.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed
Teller (Former Employee) –  Lexington, MAOctober 8, 2018
Along with having to handle cutomers it is not fast pace and you really get to encounter the whole feel of having the one on one experience with a customer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Career Advancement with Reasonable Goals.
Sales and Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Long Island, NYOctober 5, 2018
People's United Bank is a unique financial institution that offers employees the option of working in a traditional 'brick and mortar' building with guaranteed Sundays off, or the more flexible 7 day a week Stop and Shop locations. The traditional branch are great for people who need Sundays off and enjoy working earlier in the day. The Stop and Shop locations are full service branches that generally offer faster career development and days off during the week as well as rotating weekends. I have had a great experience working for People's United Bank and have received much support from Senior Officers who take the time to know the name of their employees. The goals are tiered and achievable.
Pros
Quick Advancement, and Great Reward and Incentive Program
Cons
Short Lunches (30 mins)
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job for advancement and good pay
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Bridgeport, CTSeptember 20, 2018
I work with a great team. We are constantly working in fast pace manner. But support each other which makes work fun and pleasant.
Management is very considerate of our personal lives and helps with accommodating for shift alterations or days off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine company and okay culture
Back Office - Retail Banking (Current Employee) –  New EnglandSeptember 20, 2018
People's United Bank is a fine company to work for, but the technology is dated and career advancement options tend to be a bit limited and slow to come to come around (depending on your division). The culture is definitely positive, with a consultative sales approach in retail banking, and they have recently started to embrace the idea of coaching versus a traditional and strict 'command and control' Overall, worth taking a look as a future employer.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and everchanging
Branch Manager / Officer (Current Employee) –  Bloomfield, CTSeptember 11, 2018
People's United is a growing company with a great culture. Things are always changing and management does a good job coaching to change. There is a lot of opportunity for growth and advancement. Good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine but nothing great
Securities and Income Processing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Williston, VTSeptember 4, 2018
Work can move between overly stressful and fast paced to mundane and slow over the course of the month, week, or even individual work day. Would not recommend for individuals who have a tough time dealing with stress.

Management is relatively easy to work for and approach on most issues albeit slightly out of touch with worker morale on a day to day basis.

Benefits and job security are the main reasons to stick around as both factors are enough incentive to weather the stress storm if high paced work is something you handle well
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company to work for in regards to managment and job culture.
Financial Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Westport, CTAugust 30, 2018
I loved working for People's United Bank when it was just People's Bank. Excellent customer service and wonderful opportunities for growth. The only thing I struggled with was the job work/life balance. The bank later on expanded and started to become bigger and that is when things started to slow down in regards to customer services, and pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work
Lead Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Bridgeport, CTAugust 30, 2018
Over the years the job has become stressful and management seems to not care about their employers only themselves.. It has not always been this way. I consider my co-workers like family..
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Residential Investor Delivery Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Brattleboro, VTAugust 27, 2018
Great place to work. Opportunities for advancement. An overall good working environment. There is continuous training and opportunities to enhance you ability. Great benefits...retirement, health care, flexible PTO, etc.
Pros
Flexible hours, great benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship Experience
Wealth Management Intern (Former Employee) –  Burlington, VTAugust 27, 2018
This was a great internship to learn a lot. The portfolio managers are great and very knowledgeable. I would recommend this internship to anyone in college between semesters.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Career
Financial Servies Professional (Former Employee) –  Bridgeport, CTAugust 22, 2018
Earlier in my career as an individual contributor I developed strengths in sales and relationship management as a financial advisor. When promoted to management, I gained expertise with operations, budgeting, strategy formulation, finance, human resource management, product management, and project management. All these experiences have been foundational to all of my career efforts.
Pros
I always had a great boss for 14 years, but not the last year.
Cons
The last boss due to a bank merger.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with!
Commercial Banking (Former Employee) –  Bridgeport, CTAugust 15, 2018
Constant training and opportunities to enhance your skills. Always projects available to stretch your abilities. Wonderful for career minded individuals.
Pros
Work rewarded.
Cons
Inflexible work hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Sales and Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Stamford, CTAugust 12, 2018
Good company to work for. Opportunities for advancement are there as long as you are motivated and management likes you. Training programs used to be great but now they aren't training new employees as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment
Bank teller (Current Employee) –  Hampton Bays, NYAugust 8, 2018
great workplace environment. competitive with other banks in the area. great room for career growth. great schedule weekends and holidays off. great pto time.
Pros
schedule
Cons
no overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Banker IV (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MAAugust 7, 2018
Great place to work. Many of the same customers come in daily so its nice to see friendly faces. Always a fun atmosphere and not a job that you dread going to every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Senior Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Rutland, VTAugust 6, 2018
I learned about the finance industry. I learned skills that I could carry to other jobs. The most enjoyable part of the job is all the great customers that you meet
Pros
nice people
Cons
raises aren't very much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Stowe, VTAugust 1, 2018
Problem solving , people relations, cash handling, sales, fun place to work. Meet all kinds of people. I learned people skills, problem solving, cash management, finding needs. The sales for different products and telemarketing were the hardest part. Management was was very good. The most enjoyable was fulling customers needs
Pros
Benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at People's United Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 391 reviews
595
4113
3104
238
141

See reviews about

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight