Peoples Natural Gas Employee Reviews

3.5
Overall rating
Based on 16 reviews
Ratings breakdown
52
47
35
21
11
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 16 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rather slow pace environment
SR. CLAIMS (Former Employee) –  PGH, PAJuly 10, 2018
the position at this company didn't not allow for any upward mobility and opportunity as was once determined. The business climate is more like a government office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Customer Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 3, 2018
Each day is very busy with high call volume. The job can be very stressful with the numerous call types and so much knowledge needed to be able to handle each type of call.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management out of touch
Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PANovember 24, 2017
I worked in the Emergency Operations Center and the supervisors were there for only one reason, find something to get you in trouble for. No help, no training, micro management to the extreme. Constant overtime and poor hours. Parking is a nightmare and if you come from another gas company, your a pariah.
Pros
Pay was decent and benefits were good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daliy work flow
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  PGHPAJuly 26, 2017
Close proximty to home >parking high price >nice view >great team leads and office parties>team helping each out daily>great bonus>secured building>vendor at lunch
Pros
Bonus
Cons
Short lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Employer.
Manager (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMarch 31, 2017
Excellent company to work for, job security and company is continuing to grow. Largest natural gas distribution company in PA, with work force of over 1,000 employees and we run 3 different gas systems through my gas control department. I have converted 2 new gas control systems within the original Peoples Gas within 2 years of each other and did the conversions within 6 months from start to finish.
Pros
Always a challenge moving gas within the different systems.
Cons
Constant weather changes make hitting quota's sometimes challenging.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Petroleum Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Wilkinsburg, PAJune 16, 2015
free lunches were frequent and the employees made me feel welcome
some days were boring if the work was out of my experience zone
great working hours
Pros
Free lunches, consistent hours, good people
Cons
repetitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer support
Sr. Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  GibsoniaMay 11, 2015
Daily Sales and new customer contacts. Customer service on existing and new accounts. Fast pace environment. Frequent travel to exhibits to display product line in order to acquire new customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits but Company Unorganized, little Diversity
xxxxxxxxxxx (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAOctober 19, 2014
Excellent benefits but old boy culture. Most people are friendly but same old boy network as many other Pittsburgh older companies. So if you are expecting diversity and advancement this is not the place for you. They do have a lot of Indian contractors in IT and most blacks are in the lower paying jobs and in the expected field of HR.

Lack of organization across the board in all departments. One of the most unorganized companies I have ever worked for.

Parking here also sucks especially when you pay over $120 per month for a lease and on game days have to deal with people playing by your car, drinking, leaving trash and broken glass.
Pros
Benefits and Compensation
Cons
lack of advancement, parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good office enviornment, helpful co-workers.
Engineering Design Technician (Current Employee) –  Hopewell, PAMay 12, 2014
Involved in several different aspects of the company as a Design Technician. Work with management, sales, administrative staff, construction and customers to work on replacement projects as well as new construciton. Work with the construction staff on research of older pipeline as well as location of existing pipeline on locations. Co-workers all work as a team to solve different issues. Given significant freedom to go into the field to gather information and notes on different jobs.
Pros
Office and Field work.
Cons
Amount of responsibility and the necessary compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Incentives to Succeed
Communications and Community Relations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMarch 24, 2014
I had a great manager to work for and I liked the role I performed so going to work everyday was a pleasure.

The company does a lot for employees from frequent raffles to win event tickets and prizes; company picnic at Kennywood with chances to win iPads, TV's and more; Discounts on cell phones, computers, vehicles, gas appliances and more; numerous opportunities to volunteer with local organizations. They encourage this by giving you 8 paid hours to go volunteer where you want as well as offering numerous opportunities to volunteer with Team Peoples.

Great culture with an inclusive environment and a big focus on diversity. They encourage you to succeed and further your education with a tuition reimbursement program.

The annual incentive program means if your department meets its goals and the company meets its goals, you could get a bonus of 8%, 10% or more of your salary depending on the department you work in.

Company has a commitment to safety to the community and its employees.
Pros
Employee incentives, great culture, year end bonuses, opportunities to advance career
Cons
Must pay for parking if you work at the corporate headquarters
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed training customer service representatives
Trainer (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMarch 10, 2014
A typical day at work was to prioritize my day. My responsibilities were to train new hires and up train current customer service representatives. I also updated training materials and created assessments. I worked well with my co-workers. The hardest part of the job was the travel to the work site. Being caught is traffic at times was not pleasant. The most enjoyable was to work with the customer service representatives. I enjoy training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good 9-5 job.
Engineering Technician I (Former Employee) –  Hopewell, PASeptember 12, 2013
A typical large corporation with interesting jobs for customer support and engineering departments.
Pros
Decent pay and good work environment.
Cons
Difficult to get in and stay in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peoples Gas was a fast-growing company and placed a lot of emphasis on the Diversity initiatives
Benefits Analyst (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PASeptember 10, 2013
While working as a Human Resources Generalist, I was able to learn various aspects of Human Resources. When I showed an initiative to learn other disciplines in Human Resources, such as Labor Relations, they did not hesitate to give me the opportunity. I had a good working relationship with both the management team and employees.
Pros
Fast moving company, good benefits and compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service call center environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh PAJuly 18, 2012
Answer Inbound Calls to consumers inquiring about their bills, provide billing information, start and stop gas service, resolve issues and insure customer satisfaction
Pros
employee appreciation perks
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Service/Operations Tech (Former Employee) –  Garden City, KSJune 3, 2012
Worked service orders given each day and filled in for meter readers when needed.
Pros
different work locations each day
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 13Report