Perry Ellis International, Inc. Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 178 reviews
Ratings breakdown
558
452
347
212
19
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 171 reviews matching the search See all 178 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Marcos, TXJuly 7, 2018
Has changed a lot from when I first started working there new assistant manager changed a whole lot of things and added a bunch of unnecessary paperwork that needs to be filled out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Procurement Specialist (Former Employee) –  Miami, FlJuly 2, 2018
Obtain quotes with preferred IT vendors
Create purchase orders, obtain tracking numbers, and monitor delivery process from beginning to end
Sourcing
Audits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead end job that taught me what not to do as a manager
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Wrentham, MAMay 21, 2018
The store manager was all over the place, and with the exception of me and one other most management type positions were filled by outsiders and not people promoted from within.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Merchandise Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 20, 2018
I learned a great deal about the industry at this job. It was a fast paced environment but the staff was very friendly. I got to travel to the far East. It was very exciting.
Pros
Travel
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was alright.
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 8, 2018
It could have been better like how management manages and how thing got done around there.
I liked it for a good while until the people there showed tier true colors.
Pros
discounts
Cons
work enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PEI is a successful company.
SVP, Global Sourcing & Supply Chain (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLApril 25, 2018
PEI acquired many companies and brands. They are a family business even though they are publically traded. Their business model has worked for a very long time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen ambiente de trabajo
Sales Asociate (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 23, 2018
Excelente ambiente de trabajo, mejorar la limpieza
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Elizabeth, NJApril 15, 2018
Great management team with a productive fun workplace
Filled with knowledgeable workers that are focused on customer satisfaction and addressing the needs of every client receiving them with a warm welcome
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Payroll Administrator (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 30, 2018
Busy weeks processing payroll using Oracle E-Business Suite / Fusion. Professional environment with a business casual on Fridays.

At times difficult to complete the assignment in a single day.
Pros
Management
Cons
Hours needed to complete the tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at perry
Sales Lead (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, FLMarch 13, 2018
It was a peaceful enviorment and we able to grow and progress whenever the opening. The management or CEO wasn't a bias individual and gave anyone a chance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company to work for
Senior Designer (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 6, 2018
For the most part the people at Perry Ellis are great! The company has slowly grown to offer a few more benefits to their employees, but for the most part they are stuck in the past when it comes to work life balance and making changes for the betterment of the company and its employees. Upper management can be intense which creates a trickle down effect to all employees. Sometimes the work atmosphere can be very stressful.
Pros
Fun People to work with
Cons
Stressful for insignificant reasons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Sourcing Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 9, 2018
I had worked for the company for 7 years and from those years I have learned a lot. The company in general has a pleasant working environment and employee policy,
Pros
people are friendly
Cons
lack of traning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity for your first job.
Assistant Store Manager/ VM (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 8, 2018
Great for starters. If you can to get into retail management Perry Ellis is the place to get train and the opportunity to became a manager.
Also very flexible with school schedule.
Pros
flexibility with schedule
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, great environment, lots of work but worth it
[Freelance] Technical Design Assistant (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CAFebruary 7, 2018
I really enjoyed working for this company. It was a freelance position for a few months, but the staff was great and all of the employees were really friendly. The work was fair and so was the pay. We worked a few late nights but was rewarded with extra vacation days and great company discounts.
Pros
extra vacation days and product discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calexico, CAFebruary 3, 2018
As my first job, I can say that it helped me grow a lot as a person and a professional, the personal is incredible, the work enviroment is very nice, love that job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast-pace environment selling men dress suits
Supervisor (Key Holder) (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZJanuary 31, 2018
Working for Perry Ellis a great experience, selling men clothes had to be the hardest but yet joy-able experience I have had since working in the retail world. I got to meet a lot of customers from all over the world and create and also expand my leadership skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very slow
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZJanuary 25, 2018
very slow location with little traffic. Could go hours without helping anyone. Didn't receive enough hours due to the fact that it was over staffed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very safe fun
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 19, 2018
a lot of production aprendy the basics the management good many personalities nothing diffcult i like to work with divercidad
Pros
good company
Cons
very little pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible experience
Key-holder / Sales Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 15, 2018
This place is terrible. This place is for people who are comfortable with staying in their confort zone. The opportunity for advancement is poor. There is not good relation between corporate and store management. I hope everything is different now
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow-paced great starter job into retail
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 7, 2018
If you are just starting out in the retail world this is a great place to be. You wont get overwhelmed with a huge crowd, which will make it easier to engage and learn how to ask open ended questions with the customers. Which makes it more personable and easier to build a quality sale.
Pros
great place to start customer service
Cons
no paid vacation, not much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport