Perry Ellis International, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 200 reviews matching the search See all 208 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  AZMay 15, 2019
Management is great! Customers are great! Great way to keep you up with fashion. You learn something new everyday. Lots of opportunity for growth. One of the best companies to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Quality Testing and Compliance Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 22, 2019
Excellent work environment and benefits, I would recommend this company to all others. Great opportunities for advancement and management support.
Headquarters location is excellent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is very bad.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 2, 2019
When corporate doesn't like the store manager, they don't realize that they make it miserable on everyone. A lot of associates left the store one after the other because there is no respect, no one goes to the store and finds out what is happening or why are people unhappy. Talking to the people that are there daily, trying to sale and care about the store, they can give good feedback. Corporate pays more attention to what a paper says, buyers are very messy and have no organization. Technology is ages away from this company. Everything is outdated, some stores have RFID but it doesn't even work properly. They don't simplify shipment , they just add more work. Pay is not good for everything they ask for. Etc... it needs a lot of improvement.
Pros
Discounts, benefits.
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with a staff that is very welcoming
Sales Associate (Seasonal) (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLMarch 19, 2019
The best part of perry is the staff they're very welcoming and really make you feel like you're a part of a team they taught me so much by shadowing them and help me develop my own style to sell to our consumers
Pros
Great staff and management
Cons
Hours can be hard to get from time to time and the system crashed twice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Seasonal Job
Vendor Representative (Current Employee) –  Montclair, CAMarch 18, 2019
This job is good for people going to school because they are very flexible with schedule, and understanding that this is more of a part time job that is a good experience for other jobs in sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced and productive environment
Intern, Design (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 14, 2019
I had a very through and packed 10 week internship. It was overall a very knowledgeable experience for me and I would love to go back anytime. The work culture is very meticulous and organized.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Strict boss
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and Different
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 13, 2019
Perry Ellis is a good founding job for a young teen or anyone aspiring to get heavily into fashion. It's not a permanent job but it 's a start. Once you progress you move forward.
Pros
Commission
Cons
Different hours each week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and supportive work environment
Intern (Former Employee) –  Doral, FLFebruary 13, 2019
A typical word day consisted of coming in and working on answering IT support requests and setting up computers and printers. The staff was very supportive and helpful whenever I asked for help or explanations on what I should do. My co-workers were very friendly and made me feel welcome as I worked there.
Pros
Friendly work environment
Cons
Traffic with transit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, up beat and exciting
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXFebruary 12, 2019
Diverse work environment and management was great. Part of the job is to try on the clothes to have better understanding of the product fit and be able to help customers. Overall it was a fun experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job, but a little oj job insecurity
Facilities Manager (Former Employee) –  Doral, FLFebruary 5, 2019
It was a big change for me, coming from a Manufacturing enviroment to more WH and offices, but I adapted to the job.
Daily activities were more material handling. Pleople were nice, good Management.
Pros
Good work enviroment
Cons
Job insecurity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Associate (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXJanuary 30, 2019
The people over at Perry Ellis are really great to work with. Everyone gets along and treats each other with respect. Making friends is pretty easy, everyone has much to talk about. Starting pay is at $10 an hour which is pretty good for the area. I have nothing bad to say about this place it's pretty great.
Pros
Commission
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and friendly environment
Inventory, Sales (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 28, 2019
A good place to work, people have strong communication and helping attitude. Good work-life balance. Additional perks with discounts on stores and provide health promotion activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers don't have best intentions for employees
PRINT DESIGN ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Doral, FLJanuary 27, 2019
Not only does PEI pay some of the lowest salaries in fashion their corporate structure is terrible. They act like they are still teens in high school gunning for each other and even work Supervisors don't have the best intentions for their employees. They go behind your back and even block promotions if it is not par to "their plan for you"
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncertainty and insecurity
DESIGNER (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 17, 2019
Its impossible to feel secure in your job--they will interview your replacement while you're still work there. There is a lot of turnover and the company is ruled by nepotism.
Pros
Good people working there
Cons
Insecurity and nepotism
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Associate Designer (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 25, 2018
I loved working there, I had to resigned due to husband's work relocation. But there is a lot of support and creative space. they own many brands so the opportunities to learn different areas are incredible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Sales Associate and Stocker (Former Employee) –  Allen, TXOctober 22, 2018
i love waking up every morning to go to work. super nice people to work with. i love the environment fun, exciting but we do get serious when we need to.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
benefits health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
suitable work place
Inspector (Former Employee) –  Seneca, SCSeptember 30, 2018
Working here you will never know what job task you will be performing when you come into work that day. The hours are so inconsistent you will not be able to plan your outside life due to the fact you will never know when you're getting off work.
Pros
They're flexible when you need time off
Cons
The work schedule is awful
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pe inc
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Wrentham, MASeptember 24, 2018
Just find another job.
not a good work place.
outlet shoppers.
not ready to promote anyone
the discounts are okay.
the stores are ran horribly.
no training
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great place to work, very helpful coworkers
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Winnsboro, SCSeptember 16, 2018
Picking and packing clothes was always interesting,using an handheld electronic device to scan items in the system filling orders and making sure all items were sent out and labels were properly placed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to start in retail they train.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Orange, CA 92868September 7, 2018
They train you for customers and let you practice before work. Only thing is that after all that hard work the pay isnt all good. But have a great staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Perry Ellis International, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 208 reviews
567
460
355
215
111

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP5%
In the Top 5% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Perry Ellis International, Inc..

Powered by Comparably