PetSmart Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 6,768 reviews
Ratings breakdown
51.9K
42.2K
31.6K
2599
1477
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 6,355 reviews matching the search See all 6,767 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but benificial
Order Filler (Former Employee) –  Newnan, GAOctober 15, 2018
After clocking in and stretching, must get the right PPE equipment and begin picking orders assigned to you.
Distribution warehouse environment must be aware of safety hazards while operating machines.
Picking products that can weight 25-70lbs daily, stacking and preparing for shipping.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Southfield, MIOctober 15, 2018
Had fun working with pets really enjoyed the customers. the management team was very supportive and the store was well maintained. I would recommend it as a place of employment.
Pros
fun job
Cons
no real bad things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Reno nv.October 15, 2018
Its the only job that I had a set schedule and I like that very much I work 3 days at 10 hours and have 4 days off. It's great that's why I like it
Thank you
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
V olunteer (Former Employee) –  Hemet, CAOctober 15, 2018
Loves working here. All of the staff was friendly and loved to interact. Alwayd worked as a team. Very competetive workplace due to being a block away from Petco. Learned alot of skills that I can carry to my future jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, not so good company
Dog Bather (Former Employee) –  New Braunfels, TXOctober 14, 2018
Part time is the only option unless you are a manager or a groomer. Management plays favorites and does not follow through with advancement promises..
Pros
Fun environment, get to be around animals, laid back, most of the people are fun
Cons
only part time available for normal employees, management SUCKS, greedy company, will hire felons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Petsmart Stroudsburg
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Stroudsburg, PAOctober 14, 2018
Petsmart was wonderful to work for, they worked with you with schedule, gave most of the days off you requested, discounts were great too if you had pets.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Dog Bather/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Mesquite, TXOctober 13, 2018
It was a very fast paced job that had plenty of customer service experience. Training was very good and the hours were flexible. I had plenty of help while working there and loved the animals.
Pros
Good customer service experience
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love what i do, but poor management
PROFESSIONAL PET STYLIST (Current Employee) –  North Olmsted, OHOctober 13, 2018
Love what i do, but poor management and not worth it to climb the ladder. It's a massive pay cut to manage a salon vs being a standard groomer. Associates are petty and immature. Management is lazy and worthless.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Front End Cashier (Former Employee) –  Burlington, WAOctober 13, 2018
Stocking shelves a lot not paid good enough for all my work done poor management and not fairly treated and I did not like the poor management team sincerely and thanks
Pros
Free snacks
Cons
Not medical benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Stress gaining yet relieving, and all together a great experience.
Pet Care Specialist (Current Employee) –  North Las Vegas, NVOctober 12, 2018
Working here at the PetSmart Pet's Hotel has been a wonderful experience. These last 3 years have bee filled with incredible moments with our clientele and their pets, as well as my fellow co workers who have helped me maintain not one, but three different stores.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hardest part of the job
Everything (Former Employee) –  TexasOctober 12, 2018
The hardest part of the job is busting your butt, then finding out everyone is making significantly more than you in the same position or your boss has talked poorly about you to other managers interested in promoted you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
Pet Stylist (Current Employee) –  Canoga Park, CAOctober 11, 2018
If you love pets and are patient this is the place for you. It is very rewarding seeing a pet happy and healthy. Especially when they come in happy to see you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to hangout w/ Furry Friends!
Salon Manager (Current Employee) –  NJOctober 11, 2018
I love working for Petsmart for the fact that I'm around pets all day long. The work can be very stressful: sales goals, training staff, scheduling, working crazy long hours, poor management, and not afforded enough time or labor for staff to get all the work done. BUT the pets makes it very tolerable. I love animals and being around them can be very therapeutic during trying times at to work.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
toxic work environment
PetsHotel Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAOctober 11, 2018
terrible store management, no consequences for anyone’s actions even when safety was an issue, no support from the core management. terrible company overall. high turnover rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and enjoyable place to work
Assistant Store Director (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHOctober 11, 2018
If you are a pet owner or love animals this is the place to be. Even if you don not have a pet of your own it can be very enjoyable and rewarding. Many areas to learn and grow within the store. Working with the customers and their animals was very rewarding.
Pros
Overall work experience
Cons
lack of training and advancement provided by the manager that I worked under
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeps you on your toes
Manager- Customer service (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDOctober 11, 2018
Great management team but not a lot of advancement opportunities. They work with you and as long as you show up and keep busy you will be treated well by the managers. Petsmart is definitely a corporation so don't expect the company to care about anything except sales. Animals are not a priority with Petsmart so you have to make sure you have a good group of people to keep the petcare/hotel/grooming salon safe for animals.
Pros
Paid 15min breaks, management, work with animals, Christmas gifts
Cons
Pay, no room for advancement, animals aren't corporates priority, new upsell every week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Early Morning Stocker (Former Employee) –  Santa Clarita, CAOctober 10, 2018
Fast-paced work in an animal friendly environment. Typical day as a stocker would include rotating between what merchandise would be stocked and which planograms would be set.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work schedule
SRC (Current Employee) –  ArizonaOctober 10, 2018
Flexible work schedule, fun work environment with pets at work, corporate office benefits of cafe, special discounts and events on location, friendly coworkers.
Pros
Bring pets to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company to work for if you’re not looking for a job with advancement opportunities
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZOctober 10, 2018
Generally a good work environment except the workers can be very unprofessional. Managers have been great overall. Scheduling is a bit annoying because it’s very difficult to get time off and if you have an emergency and can’t find someone to cover you’re required to come in. You get a lot of repeat customers so it’s nice getting to know the people that come in. Pays average, not a lot of opportunity for advancement which is why I left. Overall not a bad place, but not a job youd want for a long time.
Pros
15% off all store items 50% off select brands
Cons
Unprofessional workers, ehh pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of games to play on break
Forklift Operator rec (Former Employee) –  Newnan, GA 30265October 10, 2018
really don't wanna talk about this job other then say it full of bull hate the job. all I can tell you is go work for them and youll see for yourself.
Pros
free lunch sum times
Cons
they dont care abt emp
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport