PetSmart Culture reviews

Found 1,261 reviews matching the search See all 8,062 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont like the atmosphere
salon associate (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJuly 21, 2019
was uninviting and a bad place for different ideas the culture was still and a place for people to just stay and rot. was the worst place I have ever worked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy working there
Dog Trainer/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 16, 2019
Have worked there 7 years. Love the job. Great management team. Would like to see better pay, feel like they do need a better training program as far as new trainers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best first job ever. I was a teen freash out of high school and this was my first dream job.
Cashier/Petcare (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 14, 2019
Staff was very friendly! Truly a family! I loved my managers. They were super friendly and understanding. They truly cared about my wellbeing and getting to work! My car broke down and my managers left work to come get me! I am grateful for my 0150 Family!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great place to work if you have vast amounts of patience.
Dog Groomer (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSJuly 8, 2019
I loved my job and the people I worked with. The hardest part of any given day was dealing with ignorant customers that thought they could do my job better than me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy workplace
Pet Care Associate (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXJuly 8, 2019
Good place to work if you like keeping busy, lot's of customer skills are required. Not a good place to be if you have any allergies to dust and or animal fur, but is manageable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Presentation Manager (Former Employee) –  Eugene, ORJuly 8, 2019
overall not a bad place to work,
great interaction with pets,
trucks and freight procedures are really easy,
some customers are super great people.
i meet some great staff as well
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work enviorment
Pet Trainer (Former Employee) –  Noblesville, INJuly 3, 2019
From the team to the management it was a great place to work. I learned about leadership, time management, and team building! the hardest part was leaving at the end of every shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and Favortized.
Associate (Former Employee) –  Delran, NJJuly 2, 2019
Despite having amazing coworkers, the petsmart management ended up favoritizing if there was a pitty party complaint from a coworker and the management would cut the other workers hours. Without viable reasoning. Majorly favoritizing one who wouldnt perform the duties correctly and the other who would.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, fun workplace
PetSmart DC Associate (Current Employee) –  Newnan, GAJuly 1, 2019
I love The team , everyone is helpful and the environment is such a great place as well. I love the work i do. Everyone down to the managers are very helpful and understanding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and decent job
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Crystal City, MOJune 30, 2019
Good culture, fun place to work. Knowledge about bet products and pets is a plus. Left for better pay. Smaller stores require multiple roles be filled by same person. Pretty busy at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Six Forks, NCJune 28, 2019
it's a great place to work and where you can be around animals fair management as well and a great co-worker where you can see each other as family and friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love The people, everyone is welcoming, helpful . It’s a great environment! I’ve learned so much how to work a Vokolek
PetSmart DC Associate (Current Employee) –  Newnan, GAJune 28, 2019
Everything about the job is great ! Great management , co workers, it’s a great & welcoming environment. Everyone is so helpful and treats you like family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job and great co-workers
Groomer (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 27, 2019
An typical day we would be clocking in, going to do the job, chat with co workers. Management was very helpful and understanding, a laid back enivorment. When at times we were short staffed co workers would always be a helping hand.The hardest part of the job was dealing with the animals. West La petsmart was a family, we could always depend on each other.
Pros
Free Food at times and great co-workers
Cons
short lunches, short staffed at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A daily grind
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  East Hartford, CTJune 27, 2019
.Management not bad but could be better. Faster respond time to workers and customers. More staff for shifts so things flow more smoothly. Often times its just one cashier and one petcare, which can hold up people and often causes lines especially when closing.

.Learned a lot more about certain animals and species.

.Hardest part- organization and understaffed

.typical day- customer service and any other assigned task. Usual done pretty fast and gets boring.

.Culture is passable.
Cons
short breaks for long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Cashier Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Crestwood, ILJune 25, 2019
I had a good experience at PetSmart. The staff was helpful and friendly. We worked well together and the management supported us with any guidance necessary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You want to be treated like cattle, go for it!
Mod Picker (Former Employee) –  McCarran, NVJune 23, 2019
They tell you to clean as you go, but if you don't hit those numbers, you better just start leaving slots even more messy than you found them or else! If you are not 20-something and fit, forget it. If you are, just be extremely patient with their voice thing, you can only go as fast as it will let you. In any case, apply only if you can stand taking 0 pride in your work and rarely ever need a bathroom.
Pros
Fun culture
Cons
Stressful, Dirty and unsafe environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Petsmart is a fun and hard working community and I absolutely enjoy working there.
Stocker/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Augusta, MEJune 21, 2019
Working at Petsmart is awesome. We are like a family there. It’s amazing to be able to worm with a group of fast paced and talented people while at the same time feeling at home.
Pros
Fee lunches, good people, flexible schedules, good leadership
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCJune 21, 2019
Can be hard if your not competitive theres a lot of matches to see who can get the most of everything and than the manager say you won they dont give you the prize
Pros
Getting to pet other pets
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work management needed improvement
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Wayne njJune 18, 2019
When I worked there I had a positive experience with my coworkers and the job it's self I loved my customers but the management definitely needs improvement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team orientened environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Saint Augustine, FLJune 17, 2019
Customer driven focus company, short work days. Great for starting a career. Open management environment, cares about their workers. Every month you learn something new about the company culture through mandatory videos.
Pros
Fun place to work
Cons
Short hours during week
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PetSmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 8,062 reviews
52.2K
42.5K
31.9K
2745
1669

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.2Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight