Phoenix Children's Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 227 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed
Accounts Payable Technician (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 8, 2018
A lot of data entry and some research

completing remit spread sheets to email

business casual, the software is very industry based and busy enough for 8 hours a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs improvement in leadership ethics, values
Speech Language Pathologist (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 8, 2018
Excessive work load in my department
Advanced skills are not valued
Great benefits
Compensation is not competitive with other children's hospitals across the country
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital, poor work environment
Staff Pharmacist (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 30, 2018
The hospital is fantastic and the care they provide is top notch. The work however is very stressful and there was an entrenched culture that was not conducive to a good work environment and a team mentality.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flex schedule
Physician Revenue Cycle Collection Specialist (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 28, 2018
Offers flex schedules and remote from home. Productivity driven sometimes unrealistic. More training needed for new employees. Provides discounts and financial assistance for families.
Pros
Salary and raises
Cons
Productivity driven sometimes unrealistic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mission/IT Management has issues
Manager of Endpoint Engineering (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 28, 2018
Everyone loves the mission, the facility is amazing and when you go to work and see all those families, you know you are making a difference.

The IT management has done some great work, but it can be a bit hit or miss.
Pros
Mission
Cons
IT Leadership quality consistency
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Supervisor - Interventional Radiology Department (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 18, 2018
PCH was a great place to work. The only problem I had there was one doctor who was a tyrant and very difficult to work with. But, I just heard he was asked to retire, so I I would highly recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Child focused care.
Health Unit Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 13, 2018
Nice place to work.
Flexible hours.
Fun place to work.
Commute is not bad- its just off freeway.
Twelve hours shifts. Three day work week for some jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
REGISTERED NURSE (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 30, 2018
Great hospital to work for. I felt that the needs of the staff were listened to and there was room to work independently and as a team. good training and preparation for the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Coder II (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 26, 2018
Typical day: Come in, sit down, work.
Learned: Not to associate with coworkers.
Management: On your back at all times, unless you stay very close to your manager & become a special employee.
Culture: Hospital has high turn over rate in all areas, especially business office & coding.
Hardest part: Getting supervisor/manager to 'like' you.
Most enjoyable: The children & doctors!
Pros
Treatment for the children
Cons
Favoritism from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working here was an honor
Mental Health Therapist (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 26, 2018
it was an honor to be a part of such important work in improving the lives of children and families. PCH is a wonderful organization with plenty of room to grow professionally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low wages compared to other facilities for same position
PCT (Patient Care Technician) (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 18, 2018
PCT wages were considerable lower than other facilities. At times under staffed and over worked with little or no break.

job duties clearly defined, if you have a great work ethic you will always find yourself busy and your patients well attended and nurses happy.
Pros
rewarding in environment, when working with supporting team members
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love pch
Coder (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 8, 2018
PCH is an excellent company to work for. they offer great pay and benefits and truly care about their employees. They care greatly about their patients and make sure to keep employees that feel the same way. Many rewards are offered for being a good employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits, work conditions are good
Patient Access Representative (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 17, 2018
my position has a high turn around. great benefits
learned to handle stressful work pace,
like to work with children
the fun part is interpreting spanish speakers its very rewarding
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job
Clinical Nurse (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 7, 2018
I enjoy working at PCH. Some departments have a 'mean' culture; however most of the employees are kind and helpful. PCH provides ongoing training and provides wonderful benefits.
Pros
working with the children
Cons
at times denied PTO
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Going Staff
SECRETARY II (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 18, 2018
It was a very hard job as the one I had worked in the pods in the Banner hospital before they had their own freestanding facility. They rented space from Banner Sam. Working in the pods with the sick children was the hardest part of the job. If you have the desire to work in that environment, I would encourage you however it wasn't for me as it was too emotional.
Staff was so enjoyable to work with.
Pros
Celebrity Meets and Food often
Cons
Full time was 35-40 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
CRS Fully Accounts Receivables Collector (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 12, 2018
The top management really cares and takes time to know their employees on a one on one basis. Compensation and benefits are top notch.

Giving back to the children and working towards a stress free experience with the hospital is our number one priority.

I learned there are great companies with compassion still out there you can feel proud to work for.

Not being able to wear my Phoenix Children's Hospital t-shirts at work anymore to show people we are everywhere in the community we are a proud employee that represents the hospital.
Pros
Great benefits and compensation
Cons
Holiday pay comes out of your pto.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 12, 2018
At Phoenix Children's Hospital, I worked as a volunteer for Health Information Management Department. I learned about the hospital's patient portal and how to properly approach and educate patients and their families about the FollowMyHealth Patient Portal. The hardest part of volunteering was approaching the families. I really enjoyed interacting with the patients and their families and educating them about the portal. It's a great place to volunteer!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, great coworkers
Clinical Nurse II, General Nephrology/Rheumatology (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 17, 2018
fast paced with great coworkers and support staff. working collaboratively with patients and their families is rewarding. multiple opportunities for education.
Pros
coworkers, education opportunities
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Patient Access Representative (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 13, 2018
Enjoyable to work with children and have a different outlook on life, Kids came in for chemo and still were smiling and made me realize that my problems are nothing compared to what these children were enduring in their short life span. Phoenix Children's was always accomodating to family
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get to meet new people and work in different areas of the hospital
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 11, 2018
I would call in each day to find out what area the hospital I would, this was good because it gave me the experience in different medical fields. It also gave me an idea what field I would like to work long term and where I could make the most difference.
Pros
Tthe experience in different medical
Cons
I couldn't make any personal plans because of the schedule was unsure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Phoenix Children's Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 227 reviews
5100
454
344
215
114

See reviews about

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Phoenix Children's Hospital Reviews by Location