Physical Optics Corporation Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Sr. SOFTWARE ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAJune 26, 2018
Excellent working conditions to allow you the choices to move up the ladders in either business or technical perspective. The people in the company always there to support you when you have problems during executions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace with ping pong table
SVP Assistanrt (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAApril 18, 2018
It was a good work environment but I didn't fit in , it wasn't for me.
It wasn't my industry where I felt I was advancing or applying what I had learned , I was really restrained and didn't feel like it was meant to be.
Pros
Amazing people
Cons
was not my scene
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Technical Illustrator (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAApril 10, 2018
During the contract season stay busy easily able to work 10-12 hours a day.
Workload can seem daunting at times, but it keeps you busy and the day flies by.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good talented employees, bad managers and future outlook
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAMarch 11, 2018
Advantage of working into small-company, quick prototyping culture.

Disadvantage in short of vision from upper management. Its ironic as company was built on vision of two very genius people. Need the next level visionary in the company. Loyalty is valued over the work and work-quality. that is the reason for high turn-over. No PM training given to the PI's who run the grants.
Pros
exposure to many different technologies, application areas and talented people
Cons
Management, lack of vision
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fulfilling career
Operations Specialist (Current Employee) –  Torrance, CANovember 29, 2017
The company has been going through a tremendous growth spurt in the last few years. It is a fast paced, evolving environment. There is a tremendous amount of work to be done. I find the job to be stimulating and very fast paced. There is clear path for career growth if I put in the effort. The pay is above average and the benefits are great. I think this is a great place to work!
Pros
Work/ life balance, good pay, excellent benefits
Cons
No work from home policy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not recommended
Electronics Engineer (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAOctober 10, 2017
Management was mess- no clear goals and objectives, salary was average to low, Culture was no knowledge sharing , ethnically formed groups, office was worse I have ever seen.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CEO is very understanding, having built the company herself, working hard.
Senior Scientist, Fiber Optic Sensors (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAFebruary 17, 2017
It is good for a year or two, do NOT stay longer.

The hardes part is - working on a NEW problem every 2 months or so, there is insufficient resources to continue on a single problem solution to excel in it. One must typically write bids/proposals every month, to stay employed, as the grant runs out very fast.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative, fast paced and challenging environment
Research Scientist (Current Employee) –  Torrance, CAJanuary 21, 2015
A fast paced progressive atmosphere that allows for diverse thought and growth.
Pros
Stable company compared, able to grow your skills
Cons
communication from upper management is not direct
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Scientist/Program Manager (Current Employee) –  TorranceNovember 10, 2014
management is not up to scale. no opportunities for growth. people with degrees from low level schools run the place
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pure R & D. Complete spectrum of latest techology
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAApril 2, 2014
Great place to get exposed to a pure research and development environment. Very smart people from all over the world work at this place. Always a fresh challenge around the corner.
Pros
Exposure to latest technology
Cons
Projects rarely see the light of day. Can be very frustrating at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and research oriented company
Research Scientist (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CASeptember 18, 2012
I enjoyed very much working at Physical Optics Corporation. The workplace was so nice with a friendly environment. I learned a lot managing different projects while allocating time to create and innovate novel ideas to write proposals in response to governmental solicitations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work, long hours
Technology Vice President, Government Systems (Current Employee) –  Torrance, CAJuly 29, 2012
Long hours typical of a small company. Some management is difficult to deal with. Lots of varied technology via Small Business Initiatives.
Pros
decent salaries & benefits
Cons
expectations are extremely high and require long hours if you let it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Physical Optics Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 13 reviews
53
42
35
22
11

See reviews about

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.8Culture

Ratings from women

3.6InHerSight Score

3.2Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

4.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Physical Optics Corporation Reviews by Location