Physicians Mutual Employee Reviews

Found 113 reviews matching the search See all 114 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEMarch 13, 2019
Horrible place for temp work went through a tem place and never would again. Boss was ok told her something in confidence can never trust supervisors again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like family
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEJanuary 3, 2019
I love the gig but looking for better, I want a job I can do more than just one thing, learn different jobs. Overall is a really good work place though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep Looking!!!
Telesales Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NENovember 24, 2018
In my tenure I experienced constant favoritism throughout the department. If you want great pay, this is NOT the job for you! As a professional I believe that your pay should reflect your efforts and unfortunately this is not the case at this place. Keep looking for better! Good luck!
Pros
Decent base pay
Cons
Commissions were nothing compared to what you make them!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring and Understanding management
Mail Specialist/Shipping & Supply Technician (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NENovember 13, 2018
I worked at both the home office and their print shop. The management at the home office seemed a little too stern at times, lot of brown nosing. The print shop management seemed to understand our personal needs more so than corporate. Still a great company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst decision of my career
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEOctober 31, 2018
Office location was OK - work equipment very dated.
Attendance policy was not enforced for ALL employees.
Some Management was unfair, biased, and unethical.
Repeatedly hostile and offensive work environment.
Annual increases were a joke and past due by months.
Pay was well-below industry average/competition.
Many Managers showed favoritism for certain employees.
Benefit costs and choices were average.
PTO was accrued hourly and not competitive.
Pros
Location, Free lunches, casual Fridays
Cons
Management, corporate structure, pay, unreasonable expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great product training, but commission-only pay structure
Agent (Former Employee) –  Monona, WIOctober 8, 2018
If you are fine working on only commission you would do fine here. Their training on their products is very good. Beware if you do leave they will send you a bill for about half the commissions you were paid. You are a self-employed contractor so there are no employee benefits for health insurance, etc. You can make great money here but you want to have enough saved to actually live on for quite a while as it takes time to build up your book of business.
Pros
Good product training
Cons
Hard to live on commission-only
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Agent/Salesman (Former Employee) –  Creve Coeur, MOOctober 3, 2018
I would have loved to stay, it only paid commission only. If I could have had a set salary, I would still be there. The management was awesome and the training was great.
Pros
great listeners
Cons
you work independently
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging
Insurance Agent/Producer (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NESeptember 24, 2018
my day starts with making phone calls to potential clients, setting an apptoitment to meet with them in person to get to no them and what their needs are. then go meet the person and talk about their situation and needs for insurance.
Pros
meeting people
Cons
no garauntees making a sale and paying for expenses
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Professional Company
Agency Field Service Compliance Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NE 68131September 11, 2018
Busy environment, lots of call volumn and variety. Good salary and possibility of commission. Nice people. Offer good service and good products. Management is good to their staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work. Management is great.
Licensed Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKAugust 31, 2018
PMI is an awesome place to work. Management and training are awesome. I love meeting and helping people. They give you great leads and are there to help you every step of the way. They really want their people to succeed.
Pros
Great training/management
Cons
Home office is 2 hours away from me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report

Want to know more about Physicians Mutual?

Ask a question
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrific
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 23, 2018
Never begin
Look the other way
Inadequate management
Bad leads
Work for free
Low commissions and bonuses
No benefits
It is a big joke
Big mistake
Help I'm drowning
Bad management
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 19, 2018
I would recommend this company to anyone. They train there employee and go out on appointments with new agents. leads are good and have been able to set appointments
Pros
making sales
Cons
Commission only
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great...but
Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  East Peoria, ILJune 18, 2018
This company is great if you can afford to not have an income for several months while you get on your feet. This company is focused primarily on COLD CALLING so if you do not like cold calling stay away. The pay is decent, one your started.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I've ever had!
Agent (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJune 12, 2018
Excellent training! Managers who are available all the time. Amazing support staff. Best products and customer service. Wonderful recognition and support. They make you feel valuable and involved and make sure you have the best training in the industry.
Pros
Amazing training
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the job, People on the other hand
Supervisor/Data Entry Imaging (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJune 12, 2018
I loved the job I had a Physicians Mutual, but some of the workers needed more supervision then I could provide. Also the Company started laying off employees that had been there a while to cut cost by hiring employees that would work for less.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment low morale.
Senior Claims Examiner (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEMay 1, 2018
The training at Physicians Mutual in my position as a Claims Examiner was well below standard. There was not enough staff for the workload, and management was not open to change.
Pros
Cafe
Cons
Training
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Put in your time
Producer/Medicare Educator (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZApril 3, 2018
It can be a great job, but you have to be motivated to put in the time and effort to sell policies. Commission-only means having some other way to get by until you get up to speed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Place To Work
Life Ins Agent (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEApril 2, 2018
Relaxing atmosphere with good management. Performed all basic CSR/Sales tasks. Occasionally, had to take calls that I couldn't make commission on but 85% of the calls were commissionable.
Pros
good cafeteria
Cons
the walk to the building is a little long from parking lots
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible experience
Independent Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 18, 2018
This company was very disorganized and did not live up to the promises it made. They push their agents to sell Medicare supplements but probably 90% of the leads they give you is for their dental policy.

They spin it that you want to use the dental policy to get in the door to sell Medicare supplements but most people don’t qualify or their prices are way out of line with other companies . And the only product they do any advertising for is their dental policy. I guess they are keeping it a secret they sell Medicare supplements .

Their technology and processses are not at all updated. And they force their agents to hand deliver every policy . So I found myself driving an hour to deliver a dental policy that I maybe made a hundred bucks on. Again they try to spin it as a good thing but it is not their time and gas money .

Just another company that over promises and under deliverers . And then blames you when things are not working without taking any responsibly for their own problems .
Cons
Outdated company with poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work atmospher
Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 26, 2018
solicitation of prospect clients via mailings and telephone. Constantly in a training mode. Work with other agents regularly. Attend agent development meetings.
Pros
Leads provided, work own hours.
Cons
opportunities for sales.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Physicians Mutual. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 114 reviews
547
426
327
26
18

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight