PICK N PULL Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job but people above u had no clue
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLApril 12, 2018
People t by at run the company have no clue what to do or how to do what you do. They don't even know what you do most of the day
Dangerous work they are very safety driven until they need to get money made
Pros
Free lunch when there is a push. And cookouts for stay safe
Cons
Mangment from above
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Antelope, CAApril 11, 2018
Horrible place to work. Only good thing (if your lucky) is the co workers you work with. That's the only thing that kept me around for 2+ years. There is always favortism......no room for advancement.....raises are unheard of or vary rare. They would even start new hires at a higher rate than regular employees because the turnover rate was so high and they couldn't keep anyone. They set production goals and if the production team meets them.....they reward the team by setting the goal higher and pushing them to their breaking point to reach it. Only a couple paid holidays OFF....you will work most holidays because there is always production work to be done......period. Management is a joke, they smile in your face then talk about you later on........and it's a very dirty.....not good for your health type of job.
Pros
Free saftey lunches. Company dinner (yearly)
Cons
Horrible pay, no room for advancement, no retirement, only 2 paid holidays (off) per year....unrealistic goals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge disconnect between Store and Corporate Management
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, CAApril 9, 2018
HR is out of control with this company. Any complaints true or not turns into a "witch hunt".
Conflicting expectations from Corporate and Regional Management.
Pros
Healthcare
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAApril 4, 2018
Ok place to work , friendly co workers although there are very dangerous enviroments there at times. Safety is a very big concern for all employees and customers. Lots of overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work very nice people to work with
Parts Puller (Former Employee) –  Hammond, INMarch 16, 2018
I really love the job people their treat you like family it was very clean people really care about your feels an love to help you better your self l love the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labor, great environment job, learning experience
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAFebruary 16, 2018
A typical day is getting there early rain or sunshine gearing up. Constant cleaning and then automotive labor day in and out. Very fun learning experience on how the production yard does everything especially when you have younger guys very interested in cars that want to make a career. The hardest part is the general labor. You will be lifting basically the whole intire time.
Pros
Productive environment. cool place.
Cons
Hard labor, unsafe.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Come prepared to work
Production Crew (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAFebruary 12, 2018
No joke fast paced environment that requires labor-intensive work. Great discounts and plenty of Overtime offered. Safety-minded work environment. Great managers and supervisors.
Pros
Discounts, Paid Time Off, Flexible schedule
Cons
Summertime work is challenging
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, honest work.
Loader Operator (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MOFebruary 12, 2018
Good work environment, regular paychecks. A lot of training on all aspects of the scrap metal business. Tough work for tough people, definitely not for everybody.
Pros
Plenty of overtime
Cons
High turnover rate so a lot of training new guys.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok money, good experience, bad management
Production Lead (Former Employee) –  Sparks, NVJanuary 24, 2018
Wish they didnt beat around the bush when it came to raises or advancement, management could be more involved instead of throwing someone into the mix not knowing anything.
Pros
50% off
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work as well as stressful at times
lead prospect (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAJanuary 23, 2018
This job is very fast paced and you need to become familiar with all car parts otherwise it will be very hard for you to charge people at the register
Pros
3 breaks and holiday pay
Cons
dirty place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Floater (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAJanuary 22, 2018
it was a productive place but lacked them managment aspect the pay was not good enough for the stuff we dealt with there but i always kept to myself did my job everyday asi was supposed to then went home i never had any problems with any employees butsome otherof my coworkers where very frustrated with managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pace and all about the numbers.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Richmond, CAJanuary 5, 2018
The work environment a pick n pull is very fast pace, due to the influx of cars received and processed. The work is hard and dirty, you could get injured if you not on your toes and PPE is very important.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
Very Dirty.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like the Stockton location! The other employees are friendly, and it's more of a family atmosphere then anything. The customers are very friendly
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Stockton, CADecember 21, 2017
I like the Stockton location! The other employees are friendly, and it's more of a family atmosphere then anything. The customers are very friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
super fun place to work and learn
vehicle buyer, lead sales (Former Employee) –  Windsor, CADecember 13, 2017
typical day here consists of opening the store, assigning cash drawers, cleaning the sales area, organizing the tires, and buying cars, cashiering, selling cars and car parts
culture here is awesome- staff is great, clients are great and vendors are the best
hardest part of the job is dealing with rainy days- no customers and nobody wanting to have to clean the parking lot and tires rack
easiest part of the job is getting to basically hangout for hours with coworkers and clients in between cashiering. also the vendors bring in lunch for the crew sometimes
management isn't great- she doesn't really know how to run a facility like this.
i learned almost everything there is to know about cars while working there
Pros
free lunch, easy going clientele and atmosphere
Cons
outdoors type work- cold in winter hot in summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Fast paced job
Vehicle purchase agent/customer service agent (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTDecember 5, 2017
Pick-N-Pull was a fast paced fun job where you got to connect with customers. On a typical day, if you were working as a customer service agent, you would count your till in and work on one of the registers. Customers would bring their parts to you and you would charge them. From working here, I learned so much about car parts, and all kinds of mechanical tips. The workplace culture is fun working with the other agents. Sometimes there were competitions between the employees for example who could sell the most warranties. The person with the highest score would win a prize. The hardest part of the job was probably when some of the co-workers would call and we would be short staffed,but overall probably the most enjoyable part of the job would be talking to the customers and building a friendly relationship with them over the years.
Pros
great benefits, friendly co-workers
Cons
short-staffing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CANovember 22, 2017
I loved working at pick npull and wished I could've stayed. due to a family emergency I was forced to leave. management is great! I loved everyone there they were like family and treat you as such. if I could work there everyday I would. love the oick n pull people
Pros
everything
Cons
standing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dull, routine and fast paced environment
Project Worker (Former Employee) –  Carson City, NVNovember 8, 2017
I wouldn't suggest working here. Treated like unfairly just for being a new employee. Almost no training provided. Extreme risk of skin cancer. No respect from managers or employees. Wouldn't work here especially when it rains.
Pros
Learn about cars
Cons
Poor management, health risks, stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy learning about cars
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Modesto, CAOctober 6, 2017
I learn most my parts, my co-workers are friendly and are work area is well kept.some days are slow but when we have sales it gets really busy.I think the hardest part about my Job is making sure nobody is bringing in anything there not suppose to. Other then that its a great place to work.
Pros
discounts
Cons
not enough help
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work at
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cordova, CASeptember 11, 2017
This is the worst place to work at. I wouldn't even recommend it to a dog. The management is horrible they talk about employees behind their backs in the bathroom. They never give a raise or a bonus even tho they are suppose to
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Haltom City, TXAugust 31, 2017
Its never enough they push you so much you cant do anything when you get off but rest that snitch on you for no reason its not cool if you work hard. They want people of theee on race not for a black men
Pros
Not fair
Cons
Leave while u can
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PICK N PULL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 71 reviews
523
415
315
210
18

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.5Culture