PIEDMONT COMMUNITY COLLEGE Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 29 reviews
Ratings breakdown
514
47
38
20
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 29 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doing good work
Director of Operations, Caswell Campus (Former Employee) –  Yanceyville, NCMay 2, 2018
Piedmont Community College strives to meet mission and vision goals in an increasingly stressed and economically distressed environment. The core administration and staff is invested and dedicated to the local community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Outreach Counselor I (Former Employee) –  Roxboro, NCMarch 6, 2018
Great place to work at . Management was very supportive and encourage employee's advancement. Co-workers were positive and supportive of each other; life a family.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great chance to learn and grow.
Work Study Student (Former Employee) –  Roxboro, NCDecember 26, 2017
Piedmont Community College work study was a great place for me to learn new skills. I worked in the Arts department so I learned to mat artwork which required basic math skills. I also learned to talk to people about their work and skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small college, tight-knit community
Adjunct (Former Employee) –  Roxboro, NCSeptember 18, 2017
Piedmont Community College is a pleasant place to work with a respectful and diverse student body and a small, tight-knit community of coworkers. Getting full-time work is harder, as there are limited openings at any given time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to grow professionally
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Roxboro, NCSeptember 6, 2017
As a contracted instructor there was very little supervision. You have to be disciplined and prepared to teach. You will have the opportunity to impact students and build a comfort level when it comes to making presentations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Medical Assistant Instructor (Current Employee) –  Roxboro, NCAugust 31, 2017
wish they had a full time position , if so I would not look to change positions. The pay is good, commute is great, coworkers are awesome. I enjoy the information I teach.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor communication
Correctional Education Instructor (Former Employee) –  Roxboro, NCMay 29, 2017
Working on an island. Lack of managerial support.Insufficient pay for the demands of the positions. Poor opportunities for growth and promotion. Company has low morale.
Pros
job flexibility
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
INSTRUCTOR, MEDICAL ASSISTING (Former Employee) –  Roxboro, NCMay 10, 2017
I loved teaching for Piedmont Community College. I wish it the position had have been a full time position instead of temp. I would still be there, I enjoyed helping and teaching the kids.
Pros
lots
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was very satisfying
Teacher's Aide (Former Employee) –  Caswell County, NCNovember 28, 2016
Working as a Teaching Assistant was a rewarding experience. My direct supervisor supported me very well. The overall experience of providing teaching assistance in that particular environment was very helpful to me as a person and taught me how to work with individuals of diverse backgrounds.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice people, helpful
Help Desk (Former Employee) –  Charlottesville, VASeptember 13, 2016
I started studying at the Piedmont Virginia Community College when I was 18. I came to America when I was 16, and I had to learn a whole new language and culture. I still study at Piedmont Virginia Community College and enjoy the benefits. Everyday when I worked, I would answer phone calls, fix some computers. Image new computers. Replace new computers, and changed hardware.
Pros
Working and studying at school
Cons
Pay, lack of freedom to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get feet wet.
Bottom Totem pole holfer (Current Employee) –  roxburger, NCAugust 23, 2016
good place to get started. you'll learn early on that there is little or no room for advancement in IT here. we spend all year keeping old machines running and everytime we ask for new machines/equipment, we are told, "theres no money."
Pros
good folks
Cons
the campus is old, there is a "PLAN" but we arent allowed to ask about it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmoshpere for learning, well organized and well run.
Cosmetology Instructor (Former Employee) –  Burlington, NCNovember 9, 2015
At the time of my employment at ACC I was just learning to become a teacher, it was a great place to begin. My coworkers were knowledgeable and patient and so was my supervisor. There was a great mix of students from all cultures and backgrounds. It is a good place to learn and work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my boss
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Yanceyville, NCOctober 10, 2015
Great opportunity to meet outstanding people each and everyday.
My manager was an amazing mentor.
The work was fairly easy.
Worked with a lot of students on the computer.
Wasn't too many coworkers because the facility was a little small, so it was only the manager, and two coworkers including myself. But I got to learn from the work I did while I was there. I was only there for two years because I was a work study student. But it was the best two years of my life. Working on the computer gave me so much knowledge about technology.
Pros
Building myself, great opportunity
Cons
Not a lot of hours, the pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respected and dedicated professional environment with experience providing internal employee development
Disability Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Roxboro NCSeptember 12, 2014
Worked with individuals with mental and/or physical disabilities; monitored clients progress, testing and assisted wit note-taking. Also used interpersonal communication techniques, created and edited spreadsheets, Word documents and forms
Pros
Great Supervisor
Cons
Temp
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping students achieve their goals
Academic Skills/Tutor Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Roxboro, NCMay 21, 2014
Manage a tutorial lab
Train tutors
Hardest part of job is when a student drops out
Most enjoyable part of job is helping students realize their potential
Pros
travel opportunities
Cons
few raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Evening Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Roxboro, NCApril 16, 2014
It's a part time job where as evening supervisor I get to interact with students of a diverse background.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great environment to work and learn in.
Peer Tutor/Mentor (Former Employee) –  Roxboro, NCJanuary 7, 2014
On a typical day, I assist students in developing competency in course work, keep records of tutoring sessions, and complete follow-up forms. My supervisor was a nice lady to work for on most days. There were a few days that I tired to stay out of her way. The hardest part of the job would be not having more hours to work throughout the week. The best part of the job is those moments when students finally grasp the information that I had been helping them to learn.
Pros
Helping students develop competency in their work.
Cons
Not being able to work more.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School
Gunsmith (Former Employee) –  Roxboro, NCNovember 12, 2013
great school and very good techers the class is well done and rated very highly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was my school workstudy
Computer Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  roxboro, NCJune 1, 2013
I had fun helping people in the computer lab and the staff was cool
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good learning institution for students with goals
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Roxboro, NCMay 22, 2013
It is satisfying to see students gaining knowledge and experience. Co-workers and manager are very supportive and co-operative.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PIEDMONT COMMUNITY COLLEGE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

PIEDMONT COMMUNITY COLLEGE Reviews by Location