Pilkington North America Employee Reviews

Found 82 reviews matching the search See all 84 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding work.
Technical Associate (Former Employee) –  Niles, MIFebruary 20, 2019
Good work place and conditions were where acceptable. I was given a good amount of lead way to do as I felt was the best work flow and time line. Very professional management Team.
Pros
Excellent place to work.
Cons
Too many hours per week. ( 70-80 )
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and low pay
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Urbancrest, OHFebruary 2, 2019
1) Operated a cherry picker and put glass in crates to ship to consumer
2) I learned to operate a cherry picker.
3) The culture is fast paced and you have to keep up with numbers or be fired.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHDecember 4, 2018
do your work and stay on task and you will do just fine. You have as much chance to progress as anyone there, i was there 4 months before i was promoted to trainer and given a raise.
Pros
paid lunch
Cons
cant leave building
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast-paced with many different opportunities
Senior Stock Clerk (Current Employee) –  Urbancrest, OHDecember 2, 2018
Overall not a bad place. Quite a few people and Lead positions that are not qualified to be in lead positions. That's only my opinion though. High turnover rate for some reason. I would say very fair to employees.
Cons
Short breaks and either no overtime or mandatory overtime. You don't get an option
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top notch company
Lead Applications Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHNovember 20, 2018
Pilkington is a great place to work. Leading edge glass technology. Quality management and good values. Great cafeteria, pay, and benefits. I would recommend working here,
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and laid back work place
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 30, 2018
I deal with customers as far placing there orders and pulling it for them and I also make deliveries for the company,also stock the glass that comes in on the trucks
Pros
Good health benefits
Cons
No overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Furnace Specialist (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, INSeptember 24, 2018
The benefits suck. They never do what they say they are going to do. The Union is a complete joke, if you are not in maint. then you do not matter at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly changing fast paced environment
Process Manager (Current Employee) –  Laurinburg, NCSeptember 15, 2018
Coating glass and glass manufacturing in general is an ever changing process. There is always something to do and there are always new problems to solve. Very rarely is there any down time as the process runs 24/7. Can sometimes be frustrating but never boring.
Pros
Challenging, never boring
Cons
Long hours, little to no down time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job.
Warehouse General Manager (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 7, 2018
Good place to work. Capable management and clear view of industry. Good working conditions. Good equipment. Solid sales support and customer base. Solid market growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
glass production (Former Employee) –  Rossford, OHAugust 11, 2018
Pilkington was a fair place to work. The benefits were also great. The work enviorment can get kind of stele. Made some great work friends there. Hardworking job !
Pros
steady work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not at all
VA Operator (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, INJuly 5, 2018
Union president always accused me of saying mean things to people and constantly came and confronted me about the rumors I allegedly.said or did. And so I quit
Pros
Paycheck
Cons
Its like teenage drama
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back work place
Warehouse/Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJune 6, 2018
I loved my job my staff and everything about pilkington. I would love to go back to work for them. I wish there was still a company opened here in Oklahoma City.
Pros
Go anywhere for lunch
Cons
No paid lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management with no job security.
Delivery Driver/Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYMay 14, 2018
Poor management and job constantly threatened. By a manager who had no experience in auto glass - he was a pet store manager who treated employees as disposable.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Distribution Work
Warehouse Supervisor/Lead Man (Former Employee) –  Morrisville, NCApril 23, 2018
Not a bad place to work at, company went through a buyout and said no managements changes coming, yet two months later they made many changes and eliminated my position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly asking people to get back to work no help from anybody above the lead op.
Back-up Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Niles, MIJanuary 23, 2018
They can’t get anybody to stay working there, had to train atleast 4 new people a week. Expected to do all the extra work of a lead op, but didn’t want to pay any extra.
Pros
I liked the people I worked with.
Cons
No help from the higher ups.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, bad morale
Shipping operator (Current Employee) –  Laurinburg, NCJanuary 20, 2018
For our area the pay is extremely well. Must be hired permanently 1 year to recieve 40 hrs paid and 2 emergency days. Hired 3 years to recieve 80 hrs paid 2 emergency days. Job security is high due to the demand for product and high retirement rate recently. At first morale overall amongst workers was high ,people enjoyed coming to work and therefore more productive. Now its more of we got bills thats why we here mood. Lack of experience and low quality of drive in new hires/temps in the past year makes the work day tiring and stressful.
Pros
Guaranteed at least 40 hrs. Optional overtime
Cons
Scheduling errors, lack of experience and drive in new hires, can't leave on breaks. $5 employee badge replacement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
night work
Delivery Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 19, 2018
very hard to drive all night long with the equipment we were provided,vehicles were not equipped with fog lights or heated mirrors,group of drivers were great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace with low pay
Driver (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, LADecember 29, 2017
Workplace culture was good. Pay was inadequate (barely above minimum wage) with meager raises. No incentives to stay with the company. Immediate supervisor was fair and approachable. Manager was not.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company changed
Driver, Warehouse, Lead person (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MODecember 15, 2017
This review is from my experience from 1994 to 2003. The company has changed ownership since then. At time of hire, it paid fairly well and the hours were good. Equipment was well maintained. Warehouse was very clean and organized. Then some people came and went in warehouse and the office. Due to some employees taking advantage of company they reduced headcount and put more responsibility on remaining employees. Many days I would have to work double shifts to cover for missing employees. As supervisor I was given conflicting direction from different departments of management. The company finally closed the warehouse and laid all employees off who did not relocate.
Pros
Interesting company. Decent pay. Good equipment
Cons
not enough manpower for company goals. They open and close locations a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management and lack of continuity
Warehouse Lead (Current Employee) –  USADecember 4, 2017
There's no job security. Will work you to it's benefit, not too concerned about employee satisfaction. 8 hour work days, no breaks, only a 30 minute lunch.
Cons
Short lunch break, poorly managed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pilkington North America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 84 reviews
521
425
323
26
19

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.4InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight