Pinkerton Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Pinkerton
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Menlo Park, CASeptember 21, 2018
Pinkerton hires employees and places them at a job location. Because of that a lot of what the employee experiences is based upon the company where you are placed. However, after working a lot of contract positions, I found being an employee at Pinkerton very refreshing! I was checked in on regularly, just to see how things were going and if I had any questions, there benefits were very good, and it was nice to finally have vacation and sick time, not to mention a matching 401(k). I thoroughly enjoy working for Pinkerton and would highly recommend it to anyone!
Pros
onsite at Facebook I get free food and can utilize most services.
Cons
A few more holidays would be great but I was happy to get any!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to start a security career
Security Officer/Guard (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 27, 2018
This place at the time was a great place to work if you wanted to start a career in Security. I learned a lot of security procedures for when I got into a career of Corrections. Great place to work without stressing too much.
Pros
Great staff and great place to start in the security field
Cons
A little slow at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a stepping stone
Investigation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Downers Grove, ILAugust 17, 2018
In every area of employment we should take the good and bad. Learn from companies and look for better. Unfortunately, this company was not a good fit for me because I always want to be promoted. It was just not there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Security Supervisor (Former Employee) –  VirginiaAugust 16, 2018
They lost a ton of contracts the supervisors are ok the work and life balance is not good this job was ok they provided secret clearances if you worked on a site that required it
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great co workers and experience
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEAugust 9, 2018
I really loved working for this company they have taught me alot 0f security guard duties for0 personal safety to clients and buildings alot of stress but worth it I would recommend working for them to new applicants
Pros
Great customer service
Cons
Hardly any breaks no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Head Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Rockledge, FLAugust 8, 2018
Had Some great years put into this company. I have met many great people I will never forget about. Would recommend anyone looking for longevity to this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Analytical Work.
STRATEGIC INTELLIGENCE SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 30, 2018
If you like investigative analysis on various topics in various industries, Pinkerton is a good choice. Support to corporate clients and Executive protection Teams can be varied and fast paced, especially during fast moving global security events.
Pros
Interesting subject matter with a mission focus
Cons
Can be long hours during global security events and Life Balance suffers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJuly 11, 2018
i started with the company on the dry docks in mobile al and later they wanted me at one of the hospitals. when a Sgt. position came open at springdale mall i asked to tranfer to get the position. i was the acting Sgt. for some time but i had to move out of state for family problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary job
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 8, 2018
Is a good place to work until you find something else. Temporaries job does not have the security for benefits, which is what everyone needs to provide to a family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assigned places that were not safe for anyone working alone
Armed Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 25, 2018
This company had a contract with LASD to put armed security guard in the county parks and county buildings. These areas are now covered with sworn deputies.
Pros
Exciting work assignments
Cons
Needed more than one officer assigned to high risk locations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good security company
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 22, 2018
I worked for three sites at Pinkertons security. all three sites was pretty good locations was in mid town Manhattan so transportation was easy, shift managers was fair
Pros
great shift managers
Cons
hard to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guard
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHJune 8, 2018
This was a part time job. The days were slow. I learned a lot about security (the basics). Management was usually available by phone.
The workplace culture was primarily American.
There really wasn't a hard part of the job.

We had a lot of time to read.
Pros
We were in position of authority.
Cons
The time went slow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont get comfortable
Account Representative (Current Employee) –  Hunt Valley, MDJune 6, 2018
Easy place to work once you understand the protocol. Do understand that if you make a mistake it may cost you your job and no person will support you.

There are good people and some good management but its undermined by the negative.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
employee (Former Employee) –  usJune 6, 2018
Great history. Many very dedicated colleagues who are trying to do the right things. Sadly revenue is ultimately all that matters to top management. With better management Pinkerton would be unbeatable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 5, 2018
This company was a great security company to work for. They merged with Securitas Critical Infrastructure Services. Then the company changed a lot. no longer fun to work at
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 3, 2018
If you like to work for a company that has bad management and do not care for their own people then I recommend working for them. If you are lazy and do not like following the rules and pretty much do what every you want then great company for work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everything was ok
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 28, 2018
Not really a bad experience but not a great one either. This company was somehow just in the middle. It was such an uneventful experience either way that I had actually forgot I used to work there until I was asked to do this review by indeed.
Pros
wasn't terrible
Cons
wasn't great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a slow-paced job, but with the enjoyment of helping people.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTMay 22, 2018
It was a very slow-paced job. There were multiple sites to be sent to to guard, so it was enjoyable meeting new people and helping them so that they did not violate any company rules.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is Whack
Access Control/Armed Security Officer (Former Employee) –  VirginiaMay 8, 2018
A typical work day is whack
what I learned is whack
management is whack
culture is whackest
hardest part of job is super whack
the most enjoyable part is whack
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people were great
Accounting Specialist (Current Employee) –  Hunt Valley, MDMay 1, 2018
very independent working . the moral was low which made it hard to .concentrate .the management was disorganized and lack of communication was big part
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport