Pioneer Energy Services Employee Reviews

Found 51 reviews matching the search See all 52 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
WIRELINE OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Billings, MTAugust 6, 2018
It was a good place to start out in the oilfield. Good training. Lots of different styles of jobs and approaches to problem solving and dispatching.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it
Derrickman (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 31, 2018
I worked for over 5 years enjoyed it at first but then you sacrifice so much time from your family to be underpaid. Dangerous work environment. And they have killed somebody in the past year.
Pros
Ok pay
Cons
You're gone from your family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Floorhand/Roughneck (Current Employee) –  Chickasha, OKJuly 18, 2018
Laid back work environment all the managers are easy to approach and listen to suggestions everybody gets along with each other good pay and benefits room for advancement and willing to give time off for family emergencies
Pros
Good company
Cons
Lack of work because they're new to the Oklahoma area
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace high demand rewarding work
Hiring Manager (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 31, 2018
Pioneer is a great company with a ground up mentality. They truly work hard to promote from within and make every employee feel like a valued member with a voice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working envirment
IT Service Desk Administrator (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 17, 2018
good working environment
good place to work at
management was not bad
got along with all my co-workers and team
lweng was one of the managers that was good to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Operator/ gun loader (Former Employee) –  Minden, LAMay 4, 2018
It was a good job with great benefits. i was just getting tired of being bounced around them being undecided of where they were going to place me at in the company.
Pros
benefits
Cons
undecided of placement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Pipe recovery specialist (Current Employee) –  Dickinson, NDJanuary 19, 2018
Good place to get started. Decent management. Work schedule was main reason for taking the job. Lack of work in my speciality is main reason for leaving.
Pros
Scheduled days off
Cons
Lack of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
HSE Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXNovember 22, 2017
I was promoted with my own expense to become a HSE and Help train employees all over the country and even in Colombia, All expenses paid while traveling for Pioneer
Pros
P-card
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and hard work
Derek Hand / Floor Hand level 3 (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDNovember 20, 2017
Time goes by fast working so much . Then you have 7 days off with family and living conditions are not the best in man camps. I love the work and work loads. The pay could of been better.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
never home away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Floor hand (Current Employee) –  Rices Landing, PAOctober 29, 2017
Pioneer is a great place to work. they make you feel like family. Even though they are a major company. They pay very well you just have to want to work long hours and be willing to be away from your home for weeks at a time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Derrickman (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDSeptember 28, 2017
Working for a company like this is a life change. You will experience huge difference's in work ethics, capability and see what you have inside yourself.You will be taken to levels of pay most only dream of you will work hard for it in dangerous conditions but amazing atmosphere take the job!
Pros
Unbelievable
Cons
Danger
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Motorman/Floorhand (Former Employee) –  Rices Landing, PASeptember 15, 2017
its a good place to work I enjoyed my time at pioneer energy services. I learned a lot and the oilfield industry while I was there. I would work there again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours with great pay
Derrick Hand (Former Employee) –  North DakotaJuly 14, 2017
You work a lot but are well compensated. The only downfall is you are away from home for long periods of time and you are required to be there when scheduled.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work for
Derrickman (Former Employee) –  west tx , hobbs NMMay 3, 2017
pioneer drilling in my opinion is one of the best companies to work for in the industry. the culture of pioneer is work safe and live safe. the hardest part of the job was always being away from your family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is governed by fear
Sales Representative - Bakken Area (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDApril 7, 2017
Management doesn't communicate clearly. The workplace is governed by fear and you never have a feeling of safety. I really liked the job at first, but quickly found that it's a very dog-eat-dog environment. I enjoyed working with the people that I did.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Wireline company
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Graham, TXMarch 8, 2017
Was a great place to work until the oil field went down. Had a lot of good times there and made a lot of good friends. Management was a little iffy. They pay well and have great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
FLOORHAND (Former Employee) –  Liberty, TXFebruary 15, 2017
As long as oilfield work is going good, this is a great place to work. They follow all OHSA rules and keep you working as long as you want to work. Plentiful hours and good pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome company
Floor Hand (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDJanuary 20, 2017
It is a smaller company and they know you by your name. I would go back to them in a heart beat. They know what they are doing and in the oilfield that matters. they provided housing for us, which is a big plus.
Pros
housing
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with a good crew
Floorhand/Roughneck (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXDecember 20, 2016
Focused on safety, fun place to work. Long work days and good pay, overall was a great place to work. Provided bedding for overnight stay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked 13 years for this company and enjoyed every bit of it.
Drilling Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXNovember 28, 2016
*Start the day by having a safety and pre-job meeting.
*Reviewed past 24 hour production. Discussed good and bad issues with all office personnel.
*All managers very alert and in good spirits.
*Co-workers awesome to work with. Very helpful employees.
*Hardest day at work was to be notified about the lay-offs due to the slow economy.
Everyone that I talk to normally, enjoyed working for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pioneer Energy Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 52 reviews
526
416
35
23
12

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture