Pioneer Energy Services Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 49 reviews
Ratings breakdown
524
416
35
22
12
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 48 reviews matching the search See all 49 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace high demand rewarding work
Hiring Manager (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 31, 2018
Pioneer is a great company with a ground up mentality. They truly work hard to promote from within and make every employee feel like a valued member with a voice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working envirment
IT Service Desk Administrator (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 17, 2018
good working environment
good place to work at
management was not bad
got along with all my co-workers and team
lweng was one of the managers that was good to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Operator/ gun loader (Former Employee) –  Minden, LAMay 4, 2018
It was a good job with great benefits. i was just getting tired of being bounced around them being undecided of where they were going to place me at in the company.
Pros
benefits
Cons
undecided of placement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Pipe recovery specialist (Current Employee) –  Dickinson, NDJanuary 19, 2018
Good place to get started. Decent management. Work schedule was main reason for taking the job. Lack of work in my speciality is main reason for leaving.
Pros
Scheduled days off
Cons
Lack of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
HSE Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXNovember 22, 2017
I was promoted with my own expense to become a HSE and Help train employees all over the country and even in Colombia, All expenses paid while traveling for Pioneer
Pros
P-card
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and hard work
Derek Hand / Floor Hand level 3 (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDNovember 20, 2017
Time goes by fast working so much . Then you have 7 days off with family and living conditions are not the best in man camps. I love the work and work loads. The pay could of been better.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
never home away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Floor hand (Current Employee) –  Rices Landing, PAOctober 29, 2017
Pioneer is a great place to work. they make you feel like family. Even though they are a major company. They pay very well you just have to want to work long hours and be willing to be away from your home for weeks at a time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Derrickman (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDSeptember 28, 2017
Working for a company like this is a life change. You will experience huge difference's in work ethics, capability and see what you have inside yourself.You will be taken to levels of pay most only dream of you will work hard for it in dangerous conditions but amazing atmosphere take the job!
Pros
Unbelievable
Cons
Danger
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Motorman/Floorhand (Former Employee) –  Rices Landing, PASeptember 15, 2017
its a good place to work I enjoyed my time at pioneer energy services. I learned a lot and the oilfield industry while I was there. I would work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours with great pay
Derrick Hand (Former Employee) –  North DakotaJuly 14, 2017
You work a lot but are well compensated. The only downfall is you are away from home for long periods of time and you are required to be there when scheduled.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

Want to know more about Pioneer Energy Services?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work for
Derrickman (Former Employee) –  west tx , hobbs NMMay 3, 2017
pioneer drilling in my opinion is one of the best companies to work for in the industry. the culture of pioneer is work safe and live safe. the hardest part of the job was always being away from your family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is governed by fear
Sales Representative - Bakken Area (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDApril 7, 2017
Management doesn't communicate clearly. The workplace is governed by fear and you never have a feeling of safety. I really liked the job at first, but quickly found that it's a very dog-eat-dog environment. I enjoyed working with the people that I did.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Wireline company
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Graham, TXMarch 8, 2017
Was a great place to work until the oil field went down. Had a lot of good times there and made a lot of good friends. Management was a little iffy. They pay well and have great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
FLOORHAND (Former Employee) –  Liberty, TXFebruary 15, 2017
As long as oilfield work is going good, this is a great place to work. They follow all OHSA rules and keep you working as long as you want to work. Plentiful hours and good pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome company
Floor Hand (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDJanuary 20, 2017
It is a smaller company and they know you by your name. I would go back to them in a heart beat. They know what they are doing and in the oilfield that matters. they provided housing for us, which is a big plus.
Pros
housing
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with a good crew
Floorhand/Roughneck (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXDecember 20, 2016
Focused on safety, fun place to work. Long work days and good pay, overall was a great place to work. Provided bedding for overnight stay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked 13 years for this company and enjoyed every bit of it.
Drilling Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXNovember 28, 2016
*Start the day by having a safety and pre-job meeting.
*Reviewed past 24 hour production. Discussed good and bad issues with all office personnel.
*All managers very alert and in good spirits.
*Co-workers awesome to work with. Very helpful employees.
*Hardest day at work was to be notified about the lay-offs due to the slow economy.
Everyone that I talk to normally, enjoyed working for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drilling rig
Floor hand (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDNovember 27, 2016
I worked at pioneer for a few years and I enjoyed it very well it had its ups and down just like any drilling rig but it was a great company and was very cooperative with there workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to Work for
Corporate EHS Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXNovember 27, 2016
I was with this company for almost 6 years. It was a great place, with great employees and atmosphere. You felt like you were part of a family. Even with the market the way it is, this place would be a great place to work and collaborate with intelligent and motivate people who want to do the right thing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pioneer Energy
Tool Pusher (Former Employee) –  Paradise, TXAugust 25, 2016
Make sure all rig services were done and crews were full and ready to work. Safety meeting. Learned CPR and other safety classes that went with job. Management was good. Co-workers were like family. Hardest part of job was fast rig moves. Team work was most rewarding part of job.
Pros
the people worked with
Cons
rig moves
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport