Pioneer Natural Resources Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 152 reviews
Ratings breakdown
575
444
323
26
14
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 150 reviews matching the search See all 152 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for competitive and demanding
Floor Hand (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXApril 27, 2018
Just started there fast paced work nights pulling units on a work over rig in midland texas saftey is the main thing here and job security we are not scared to shut a location down for a safety reason
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Validating driver tickets (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXApril 23, 2018
Pioneer has always been such a great company. The department I worked for, however, was new and in development. The validation department was in its beginning stages in development. Our work load was a lot, but the model and formula was different from everyone. There was no set guidelines that co-workers had on validating truck hours. Our job was to validate driver tickets on work hours to save the company money. The manager of the department allowed everyone to validate on their own preferences. As a new employee, I had my work graded by other fellow employees who validated in their own way. It wasn't fair and wasn't unified.
Pros
Working for a great company with great benefits
Cons
The different viewpoints on how to complete the job task.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good work enviroment
Frac IV Operator (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXApril 15, 2018
They clearly didn't care much about their employees. Most vehicles were unsafe and it was on the employee to operate it or get reprimanded. Very bad job culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tremendous Permian Basin results
Operations Manager - Gulf Coast (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXApril 12, 2018
Pioneer Natural Resources is a tremendous Permian Basin growth story. PNR at one time had substantial deep water and South Texas production - deep water was sold, and South Texas is being sold - those proceeds will be invested in the Permian Basin.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pioneer Natural Resources
OnBase Consultant (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXApril 10, 2018
They let you work 9 hours Monday through Thursday and 4 hours on Friday. They keep a lean, flexible permanent staff and hire a lot of contractors so they can drop people if the Oil market isn't doing well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused jobs
Oil & Gas Accountant Intern (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXApril 9, 2018
Jobs seem very focused, and not much room to expand on new tasks. Routine days, occasionally will have special projects. Overall a good company to work for.
Pros
High pay, Controlled environment
Cons
Focused work becomes routine/mundane after 1-2 years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PNR Review
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXApril 9, 2018
Great company - they look after their employees - it is a shame that I am a contractor.

I have not heard anyone truly talking poorly about their company.

Their IT shop is very thin.
Pros
Looking after their employees, the environment, benefits.
Cons
A lot of chiefs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding
Drilling Advisor 2 (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXApril 6, 2018
I was not ready to retire but personal circumstances had to be considered in my decision to retire. Pioneer was a good company to work for and I enjoyed my 11 years with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boss was kind of a jerk
Detasseler (Former Employee) –  Dixon, ILApril 4, 2018
Overall a good job but lacking in beneficial experience. My boss seemed like he wanted to work all day and never quit, but we had a sort of under boss who was very nice and respectful.
Pros
Good physical exercise.
Cons
It is often muddy and hot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oil and Gas Industry
NA (Current Employee) –  TexasMarch 20, 2018
The culture has changed a bit over the years where they are less people oriented. They pay above industry standard with great benefits. In the end they are a business that is focused on the bottom line. The industry is unstable as far as job security. Corporate management is not always in tune with the field level and this is exhibited by local management. Advancement is tough unless you are a young engineer.
Pros
Great pay and benefits.
Cons
Management, Job Security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work culture with friendly co-workers always willing to help.
Administrative Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXMarch 8, 2018
Everyone at Pioneer is very friendly and willing to help with any issues you might have. The company is known for its job security, especially since the oil and gas industry is known for being volatile.
Pros
Free lunches, management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive - always busy great employees
SR. ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Trinidad, COFebruary 26, 2018
very relaxed atmosphere, management was always there to explain jobs, hardest part of job was not knowing when they were going to lay employees off. All staff at PNR was great including front office and other departments
Pros
great benefits
Cons
always wondering when lay offs would take place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good place to work
Risk Management Clerk (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXFebruary 25, 2018
Good place to work if you're an engineer. Pretty good culture. They have free lunches which is nice. Your kids can work there over the summer. Gained a lot of good experience.
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Compnay
Senior Accountant - Pioneer Water Management (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXFebruary 6, 2018
Some in management are not good. They are in cliques that are not helpful to employees. The Culture is mixed. Sometime is can be a little too political.
Pros
Cafeteria, half day Fridays
Cons
Some in Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very smart staff
worker (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJanuary 25, 2018
brilliant staff could be utilized better. too many politically charged decisions lead to stagnation and low morale. kingdom building is a problem, leading to overstaffing of teams
Pros
brilliant staff
Cons
underutilization of skilled staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Maintenance Tech Helper (Former Employee) –  Midland, TX 79706January 23, 2018
I was there for their teen program, It was great and I enjoyed learning new things. I liked the people they were nice. It's a good summer program for kids I think.
Pros
good job, good pay
Cons
didn't last long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits.
Human Resources Representative (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXJanuary 21, 2018
Good team work with corporate employees, enjoyed trips to corporate office to meet those with whom I had phone conversations when there was a need for more indepth research to assist employees at local offices. Company offered excellent benefits .
Pros
Excellent Benefits
Cons
More training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working
Detasseler (Former Employee) –  Sterling, ILJanuary 19, 2018
It was a temporary job detassling, it's only available for a couple months. It paid okay money, but was sometimes very labor intensive. I learned that being very hardworking, and always showing up was for the best.
Pros
good hours, most of the time
Cons
unpredictable hours, temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, corporate management did not listen to field personnel
Procurement Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Trinidad, COJanuary 14, 2018
Had an awesome manager but when he resigned and I moved into his position as manager it quickly became as to some of the reasons he resigned; upper management in the corporate office was difficult to deal with.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, but harsh
Corn Detasseler (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIDecember 11, 2017
More you worked, the work conditions were poor in the fields. Barely any breaks at all. KIds were screamed at to get back in the fields, less than a 5 minute break.
Pros
Good socializing skills
Cons
Long, hot dreadful days with barely any breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pioneer Natural Resources. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Women's ratings

2.3Fairygodboss Score

0%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

0%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss