Piper Jaffray Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Senior Research Analyst (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJanuary 24, 2018
Piper Jaffray is an investment bank located in Minneapolis, MN. Piper Jaffray provides investment banking and research to institutions and private companies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Exciting Work
Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 19, 2018
Great Culture. Teams are very collaborative. Great place to learn and work. Management is supportive of your career goals. Benefits packages are industry standard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of variety in the job
Technology Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJanuary 16, 2018
Fast paced, and changing environment, a lot going on. Good company events, and good employee participation. I enjoyed the managers and they were good to the employees.
Pros
Location
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Copy Operator/ Mail Clerk (Temp) (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 3, 2018
The entire staff their provide a great atmosphere in which to work. Friendly and down to earth while still getting all important aspects of daily tasks achieved.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours but High Pay Ceiling
Equity Research Analyst, Assistant Vice President (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNDecember 18, 2017
The job is subject to some brutal hours but the pay is nearly unmatched for a finance/econ student out of college. Managment is average at best but the company is actively making changes to improve this.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations role: flexible
Unclaimed Property Reporting Specialist (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNDecember 17, 2017
Typical hours per day were from 7:30-4 but this was flexible. Fairly easy to get time off. I had a great manager that allowed us to get our work done and provided support when needed. Most people friendly, some not, just like any company.
Operations is a small group so not a lot of opportunity to move around within that area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work
Senior Computer Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNOctober 16, 2017
I worked for over 13 years at Piper Jaffray and I have nothing bad to say about them but it has been a long time since I left
I did go back as a contractor for a project and they are good people
Pros
grate people to be around
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Leadership
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNOctober 5, 2017
The environment is wonderful. The people are wonderful to work with. The people are helpful and great to work with. Each work day is different. The leadership of the company is wonderful.
Pros
Good work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Little Fish in Big Pond
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 12, 2017
Needless stress!

I have to be very strategatic in my day-to-day functions.

Prioritizing and being well organized are key components in my role.

Anticipation of the Group Head’s next move is a trait in helping the company to be successful.
Pros
I have the respect of junior / senior executives and my teammates! Nice bonsus!
Cons
Investment Banking can be very stressful and we all feel the backlashes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring Old Corporate Minneapolis
Information Security Analyst (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMarch 14, 2017
These guys only recently approved jeans on Fridays after petitioning for years. I was the youngest there by 13 years. I was also contracting so I did not receive any benefits.
Pros
They gave me a free portable charger once...
Cons
The charger stopped working after a day...
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Isolated management
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAApril 14, 2016
Culture problems seem prevalent throughout company--specifically the lack of accountability for actions taken (including senior management). This has been an employee concern for several years.Low employee morale and senior management is very "clique-ish"--SF and NY feel very isolated from HQ in Minneapolis.
Pros
rebranded and recent acquisitions; increasing footprint
Cons
not competitive; management and execs have no pulse on internal culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Service Representative/Network Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMarch 23, 2016
working at Piper Jaffray was my first IT job, and I was really happy until they outsourced everything. Co-workers were great. The hardest part of the job was leaving. The best part was going into the office daily and seeing co-workers.
Pros
good places to eat downtown
Cons
outsourcing the Dept....
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of room for improvement
Mergers & Acquisitions Analyst (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 10, 2016
A typical investment banking experience, long hours, unrealistic deadline but at the same time great learning experience and compensation.

Need to improve infrastructure for junior people so that they can focus on the actual work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job - No job security outside of Minneapolis
Principal Institutional Sales (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 28, 2015
Enjoyed the people and the job, lots of product to sell. Great access to client base. Account assignments were not consistently managed.
Pros
Access to management and access to accounts
Cons
Sales Management very weak.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Finance Analyst (Investment Banking)
Municipal Investment Banking Analyst (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 24, 2015
Company is good for work-life balance, but from what I heard from full-times compensation is lower than industry average. Staff is generally nice and great to work with, except not necessarily the most educated.
Pros
Work-life balance; staff culture
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CAJanuary 6, 2015
Typical day hard pace workplace and a lot of teamwork and respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Equity Research Intern (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CANovember 28, 2014
I have interned there for close to 7 months now. The pay is fairly good for an internship, the work is interesting, and the people are very friendly and helpful.
Pros
Great environment, interesting work, friendly coworkers
Cons
The hours aren't great, but that's what you get working in finance on the West Coast.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Fixed Income Sales, Trading, & Underwriting Intern (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNSeptember 14, 2014
Great coworkers
Everyone always wants to help
Ability to advance is great
Locations of offices in prime, financial districts
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
Expensive Parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor corporate culture
Associate Treasury Analyst / Cash Manager (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNAugust 5, 2014
Excellent company with high standards, but many employees lack the knowledge of the firm's mission and goals.
Pros
Perks, lunches, pay
Cons
ineffective managers with poor communication skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
Systems Consultant (Former Employee) –  MinneapolisJune 18, 2014
Pros: Good colleagues, willing to help
Cons: More opportunities

Great opportunity to learn new things, good coworkers, decent salary and home/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Piper Jaffray. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 31 reviews
511
413
35
22
10

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture