Pittsburgh Technical College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and a lot of learning experience
Assistant Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, PAAugust 28, 2018
Very nice people to work with and a wonderful work flow and work place. You learn something new everyday when working there as well. You can never have a bad day there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looks can be deceiving
Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee) –  Oakdale, PAAugust 12, 2018
PTC is a great place to work! Upper management is always open and willing to help. Offers great insight and feedback when teaching classes. Reviews. Overall, such a collaborative and supportive company to be a part of!
Pros
Management, support, pay
Cons
Massage school lacking interest. (Not company’s fault).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sports Official
Sports Official (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, PAJuly 30, 2018
For a full time student at Pittsburgh Technical College, it was a great place to work part time to earn a few dollars on the side. Management was fantastic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and a great way to get students involved intramuruals
Work Study Student (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, PAMay 5, 2018
It is a very good place to work, but it can only pay minimum wage. If you have no means of transportation and you live on campus I highly recommend working here. The staff our very friendly people and will good you through any trouble you are having.If you have an emergency they are very understanding. All around a good place to work.
Pros
Friendly co workers
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
HelpDesk Technician (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, PAApril 21, 2018
I worked as a Help Desk Technician at Pittsburgh Technical College. This position allowed me to see what the world of IT was like. Working with my colleagues in the NOC really opened my eyes to new opportunities. Such a great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PTC Review
IT Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, PAApril 17, 2018
The position offered further learning opportunities while studying in the program. This includes representing program in Open House events, learning how to communicate what you've learned through tutoring students, and more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited Opportunities
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oakdale, PAApril 3, 2018
The benefits are good but chances for advancement are extremely limited. Also, pay increases are definitely very poor. They average out to 1$ a day. In some years they do not offer a pay increase. One of the managers in my department bullies employees that she does not like. Even though several employees have complained to HR and in some cases left the company, upper management chooses to ignore her behavior. As a result the work environment has become very stressful and toxic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, PAJanuary 23, 2018
I have given enough information through the survey. Overall, PTC is fine, but they have hired managers poorly. The students need understanding and dedicated teachers,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School that helps students realize their dreams.
Admissions Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, PAJanuary 19, 2018
Working At Pittsburgh Technical Institute was like having an extended family. Everyone I worked with cared about one another and helped each other when needed. We were professional, but also had fun with each other. It was competitive, but not in a cut-throat way.
Pros
Ability to help shape students lives, and educate parents on the College process.
Cons
1/2 hour lunches, hard to advance from my position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect job for students to become a lab assistant
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, PASeptember 20, 2017
Most of the career is sitting in the tutoring center helping someone assigned to you or doing your own work. There is actual work to do but lots of time for self reflection.
Pros
Lots of free time to work on your own things.
Cons
Usually uneventful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a Student Worker in the Maintenance department
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, PAJune 22, 2017
College Maintenance is a position that takes a lot of patience and understanding. In apartment housing, the workload never slows down there is always something to repair or replace. Staff is outnumbered by resident 's, and this can make for a stressful situation. But this job to also has that sense of satisfaction that comes with it at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great school, good place to work
Student Worker/Intern (Current Employee) –  Oakdale, PAMay 11, 2017
The school has very knowledgable instructors and provided a safe, distraction free learning environment. I really enjoyed my time as a student worker and was able to sharpen my professionalism as well as work ethic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great college atmosphere
Admissions Advisor (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 17, 2017
I really enjoyed my work experience at the employer. My boss was encouraging and supportive. My coworkers were so much fun and relaxed to work among. What a great experience. Nice place
Pros
college campus
Cons
was full time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's gotten better
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, PAApril 9, 2017
The electronics program was a little sub-par when I went through it but, they have made major upgrades to the program great career field and the teachers really care about the students
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Student Worker housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, PAMarch 28, 2017
I had a great experience with PTI. I was able to work and go to school at the same location witch is the best part. I also love that i got to work with my peers and made work more enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Cordial and professional environment
IT Instructor (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PADecember 13, 2016
Get to the classroom 15 minutes before class to setup for the class.
Great the students at the beginning of class.
Ask if they have any questions or concerns from the immediate past lecture.
Go over assignments, if any.

Go over the days lessons and assign assignments.
Ask students if they have any questions so they can be answered.
Finally close for the day
Pros
Good learning environment, small class sizes and good supporting staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great memories with great knowledge
Studio Monitor (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, PANovember 5, 2016
great place to work for with helping students. Changing activities everyday but fast-paced at times. Great knowledge and exposure to the latest technologies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Associate Director of Admissions (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, PAOctober 31, 2016
great place to work and a wonderful time working with students. The management team is always willing to help you grow in your career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pittsburgh Technical College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 19 reviews
512
44
33
20
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.3Management
4.6Culture

Pittsburgh Technical College Reviews by Location