Planet Beach Contempo Spa Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 80 reviews
Ratings breakdown
534
415
318
28
15
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 78 reviews matching the search See all 80 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was job that had no room for advancement
Clerical Associate/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJune 10, 2018
I had to sell different types of packages for tanning. I would give them information on the different levels of the tanning beds. Then we would have to ship down the machine after each person used them,
Pros
Lunches and free time
Cons
No stablilty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Local
Managing Director (Current Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJune 4, 2018
The local store has been a pleasure to be a part of. The owners have become like family and have always been great about working with me and my schedule. I have really enjoyed interacting with the customers!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Spa Director (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAApril 30, 2018
Planet Beach was a great place to work! The New Orleans(uptown) location was usually rated number one salon among the competing salons across the south. There was room to grow in the company, and the pay was hourly, plus commission each month, with bonuses through out the year. Excellent place to work, as long as you have a team that is easy going, and willing to put their best foot forward.
Pros
room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here when I lived in Longview!
Spa Consultant (Former Employee) –  Longview, TXMarch 13, 2018
Fun atmosphere, competitive sales, outgoing personality required! If you're self motivated and consistently reliable, you will be significantly compensated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Spa Consultants (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 4, 2018
As a spa consultant i identified problems, offered solutions and
helped the staff implement them. I worked with architects and
designers in the creation and decor for a hefty renovation. I
assisted managment to come up with a menu of services that
potential clients will find appealing. I assisted in the marketing
of the spa by attracting new clients in exciting, intriguing
business propositions.
Pros
Free servics
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpredictable Days
Owner & Operator (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CAFebruary 6, 2018
Hard to know if you were going to be busy or slow. Always depended on the time of year. Tanning is a very competitive business. Commission on sales was low.
Pros
Free Tanning
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fastplaced workplace with online training manuals but lack of opportunity for advancement.
Receptionist/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Eustis, FLNovember 30, 2017
Planet Beach taught me valuable skills for working around many frustrated people, but the owner of my store showed no opportunities for any employees to advance in their job titles or pay, and brought his religious beliefs and practices uncomfortably close in the work place. It was a fun place to work, but every business has it's flaws.
Pros
Free Tanning, Smells Good
Cons
Lack of Advancement Opportunity, No pay raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, Unhonest, Unethical, LOW PAY
Spa Director (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 28, 2017
I would NEVER suggest anyone to work for Planet Beach Contempo Spa Uptown Dallas. They do not play fair and expect you to do really unfair and unethical things to clientele to make up for loss of profit. You never know what you will be walking into working for this facility. HUGE waste of my time!!
Pros
Free tanning and spa membership, discounts at surrounding buisness
Cons
Low Pay, Commision Bases pay at a slow buisness
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Personal Spa Consultant (Former Employee) –  Novato, CANovember 27, 2017
A relaxing yet competitive and fast paced work environment selling skin care products and services caring about guests overall wellness with personal spa profiles to help guests achieve their goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDNovember 6, 2017
Hardly any customers came in maybe about 15 a day and it wasn't well managed. But it was a great place toward and everybody was super friendly. I recommend there as a minimum wage job.
Pros
Not stressful
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LASeptember 14, 2017
Planet beach is a great place to work for high school/ college students. Depending on the season, this job can be relaxed or it can test your multitasking skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved being a Spa Director!
Spa Director (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 25, 2017
I had an incredible team that loved what they did so it made selling the services easy. The owner was a little unhinged but the customers made it all much better.
Pros
awesome customers, great staff
Cons
poor ownership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Spa Consultant (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKAugust 13, 2017
Being a spa consultant was a lot of fun. I made lifelong friends with co-workers. The environment was very laid-back. The manager was very young and inexperienced and it made the environment difficult at times.
Pros
Free services
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work
Spa consultant (Former Employee) –  Brentwood, CAJuly 31, 2017
benefits include commission on sales and free membership, but a lot of work to do and no breaks. you get paid through your "break" and have to eat your meal when the business is slow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
realxed
Spa Consultant (Former Employee) –  Biloxi, MSJuly 13, 2017
its a very relaxed atmosphere
customers are super nice as well as employees
so many options to choose from
very clean and appropriately lighting
enjoyable experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Planet Beach
Spa Director (Former Employee) –  League City, TXJuly 8, 2017
My time spent working at Planet Beach was not only fun but challenging, I learned the true meaning of leader lead and enjoyed seeing the company transition from tanning to contempo spa
Pros
Cutting edge tanning/spa equipment
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job I've had in a while
Spa Consultant (Current Employee) –  Destin, FLJune 29, 2017
Definitely one of the best jobs I've had in a long time. I love waking up and coming to work in the mornings. As someone who hasn't worked less than 2 jobs in over a year, this is definitely my happy place.
Pros
Free spa membership
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High School level job
Spa Consultant (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDMay 14, 2017
Very mellow job with not a lot of skill requirement. Has taught me very basic customer service skills like answering calls and making appointments. Great for any high school/college student with a busy schedule. Free tanning and gym membership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best management
Spa Consultant (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMay 14, 2017
Place was a mess, it was almost a "mystery" as to who the owners were, or even who the GM was... and I worked there for a while. Even the DT manager seemed like a myth. Terrible company to work for.
Pros
No real manager, free tanning, basically doing nothing all day.
Cons
Pay, hours, commission, product(s), people, other staff, management, creepy costumers, unsafe tasks, unfair pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Spa Consultant (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMay 6, 2017
They started as a place that was fun to work. After a while the needs of the employees were not met. They also hired unprofessional management to run the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport