Plastipak Packaging, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plastipak
Fork lift operator (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILAugust 13, 2018
The work is with plastic bottles that are shrink wrapped for shipment rather that boxed. This would lead to accidents with damage and sometimes more than one operator was involved.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work fast paced sometimes stressful
Process Technician (Current Employee) –  Alsip, ILAugust 3, 2018
Overall good place to work can be stressful and sometimes they put to much on one person but team tries to help out. Job has mandatory overtime during busy season. But it also has 4 day work weeks during slow season.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry level manfacturing job
Machine Technician / Quality Assurance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILAugust 2, 2018
Was an easy transition into the workforce out of college, provided great time and project management skills. Great workplace culture and very teamwork friendly environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only work here if you are friends with management
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Pineville, LAAugust 1, 2018
Management only takes care of their buddies and are very cut throat. In my first week as a supervisor i was told i had a certain amount of time to fire a long time employee, simply because the manager didnt like him. Once in the role I quickly realized that thier idea of leadership and mine did not align. I believed in training employees to better themselves. They did not.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment
MACHINE OPORATOR AND QUALITY ASSURENCE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  McCalla AlabamaJuly 26, 2018
The position that I held at Plastipak gave me the ability to gain knowledge that I needed to help me advance within the workplace. The environment was extremely loud as it is in most packaging companies however the management and other employees were always willing to go the extra mile to get the job done efficiently and productively.
Pros
Great staff excelent pay grade
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My thoughts
Quality Auditor (Current Employee) –  Jackson Center, OHJuly 25, 2018
It can be an ok place to work benefits are good you work a lot of overtime job security is bigout there always have a job because what we make is in high demand
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Too much overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work for
Process Technician (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAJuly 24, 2018
Good place to work for the management was very understanding. Co workers were very friendly and helpful with eachother. Weekends off and you would have a rotating shift on a bi weekly basis
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most wokative place
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 12, 2018
I operate machine . i watch the detergents up and down the line. I reconstructed boxes i refill machines with detergents caps. I kept the hole operation going
Pros
Free luch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Extruder/ Process Technician (Current Employee) –  Medina, OHJuly 9, 2018
Run the operation of the Extruding and Blending (mixing) of Material for the clients of A. Schulman Administer the links between various work orders of materials. Monitor material quantities and material inventories, and material issue documents.
Pros
a very diverse place
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced place to work
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 8, 2018
Decent company to work for, benefits are nice. Just long hours and sometimes you will be required to work 6-7 days in a week. Management on the supervisory level lack communication, pay increases don't be that much, corporate is tight with their money. Training could be a bit better, seen a lot of new hires quit soon after.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Beverage Process Technician (Former Employee) –  Medina, OHJuly 5, 2018
The job would be better if the accepted medical documents. I got fired because they wouldn't take any medical excuses, even though your not allowed to report to work if you are sick and contagious. other than that if was a good job and decent pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Production Tech (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILJuly 3, 2018
I really enjoyed working there, learned a lot about blow-molding! the plant is super clean and air conditioned and the management was great to get along with!
Pros
air condition
Cons
12hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I had signed up for
Category Logistics Planner (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MIJune 29, 2018
Was not the job I expected, was miserable from the start, but made the best of it until we were transferred.

Not adequate resources for each employee at first, Had to fight to get our own computers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy work atmosphere.
Blow Molder Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Champaign, ILJune 29, 2018
10 hour work days; extremely busy and fast paced; always work to be done. Start work at 6:45 a.m.; have 1/2 hour lunch; day ends at approximately 5:00 p.m.
Pros
Good benefit package
Cons
Low on pay scale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work for, good people, clean environment
Process Technician (Former Employee) –  Medina, OH 44256June 25, 2018
Decent pay, a lot of hours. if you like money and not having a life, this is a job to be at. People are really nice and its clean. Benefits are good as well. Management and HR staff are good people, very understanding and nice.
They have a cafeteria and company who cooks food and plenty of vending machines.
They do have strict rules on having food and beverages out on the floor, but they do provide water coolers in most of the departments though out the facility.
Pros
cooked meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. decent pay and lots of OT
Cons
12 hour shifts, no paid lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short staffed and no benefits hard to move up
Technician (Current Employee) –  McCalla, ALJune 25, 2018
This company has no benifits or bonus unless your management and no simpathy for days your are out sick or whatever the case may be. You only get yearly raises and they aren’t nothing but to 3 %
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Jackson Center, OHJune 18, 2018
The job itself was not always the hardest but it will keep you busy. The pay was not bad either compared to some of the other industries. High turnover because people don't want to work overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall lack of good management
TEAM/LINE LEADER (Former Employee) –  Medina, OHJune 13, 2018
Management is poor and turnover is high. The environment is difficult due to the high turnover and lack of management made an easy job more difficult.
Pros
no pros
Cons
lack of leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant work and fast pace to keep everything running properly
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 12, 2018
Have to be able to keep up with the lines and be able to manage the line by yourself. If your line goes down look for something to do, and keep your area clean. Help others if you have nothing else to do and respect time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No training
Injection Technician (Former Employee) –  McCalla, ALJune 8, 2018
This is a company that believes everyone should teach themselves instead of having an outlined training protocol.The only thing that the company put any focus on was safety
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Plastipak Packaging, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 324 reviews
563
487
387
244
143

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.0Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
1.4

1.3Personal Development

1.4Career Opportunities

1.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight