Plato's Closet Employee Reviews in Richmond, VA

Found 14 reviews matching the search See all 1,277 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced. Loved the music and customers.
Lead Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 13, 2019
My first retail job and I loved it. It was a great place to work, comfortable work environment, friendly employees, good music, and cool manager. I didn't want to leave but there was more in store for me else where.
Pros
First pick on intakes and good discounts.
Cons
More clothes than I could handle from time to time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not recommended
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 23, 2019
don't work there at all. The owner shows lack of interest in any of her employees and could care less about how long or how much we have worked. Its an actually stressful and tiring job!
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consignment Store for Teen Clothes
Franchise Owner/Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 4, 2019
As a franchise owner of Plato's Closet, this store provided my family the opportunity to grow our business knowledge and gave us the foundation needed for future business endeavors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management.
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 25, 2018
We would work only two four-hour shifts per week. We only would get paid twice a month. We only were allowed to work for four hours so they were not required to give us a break.
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment for fashionistas
Sales Leader (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAFebruary 11, 2018
great place to work. its a good first job. friendly environment. owner and manager are friendly and professional. clientele is bearable which is saying a lot in the retail world.
Pros
discount on clothes
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic environment
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 11, 2018
I learned specific time management skills that compliment both my work and personal life. Being in lower level management, I had the opportunity to learn how to effectively work with, work for, and work around a team. The workplace catered mainly to the younger culture which required the development of many personal characteristics that include empathy, patience, tolerance, and more. The most enjoyable aspect was being able to have such a great team to lead.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with different styles of fashion.
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VADecember 19, 2017
It was a peaceful and relaxing place to work. Not too busy not too slow. The hardest part of the job is trying to keep under the racks clean from debris and lint. I enjoyed putting the clothes back because i go to see the different styles of clothes.
Pros
Discount on clothes
Cons
no break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time job
Team lead duties (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 14, 2017
Great place to work at if you are a collage student looking for a part time job. fast paste environment. Great managers. flexible on hrs. Always room for improvements and possible raises.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced
Sales Associate/Closer (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VASeptember 6, 2017
I worked at a Plato's Closet for a couple of months, it's not a bad job. You just have to be a fast learner and be able to handle some nasty customers. Management was usually super flexible with my schedule and gave me a good amount of hours. Pay raises are not hard to get and can be done in a couple of months time.
Pros
Cool inventory, fast paced, flexible hours
Cons
No benefits, short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute waste of time
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 21, 2015
Let me start by saying, I had three years of retail experience/customer service and my wage was still $7.25. LOTS of favoritism. EVERYDAY there was a new rule. Now they can't even keep staff because of the lack of knowledge from management and how inconsiderate the OWNER is. By far the worst job I've EVER had. Not worth the amount of work you do for so little pay. Very inconsiderate of people who go to school or have other priorities. They were always nagging about something. Oh, they also listen in on your conversations on the cameras, so be careful what you say. Don't waste your time working for these money hungry, inconsiderate, selfish people.
Pros
none
Cons
favoritism, little pay, lack of knowledge
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Platos Closet
Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, vaOctober 29, 2014
It is just a good stepping stone while you are putting yourself through school.
Pros
Learning customer service
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, but Questionable
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VASeptember 16, 2012
Working the average day at Plato's Closet is fun. The customers are great as well as the employees. The management needs improvement as far as manager-employee relationships, especially since it is a small buisness. There was favoritism and all employees were not treated equal.
Pros
friendly, fun atmosphere, good co-workers
Cons
short breaks, extremely low pay rate (doesn't amount up to the work being done)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-Workers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 31, 2012
The co- workers at Platos Closet are always friendly. Ive never had any problems there with the associates. Everyone who works there is different in their own way but they always work together to do their part to get the job finished.
Pros
30% off
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Plato's Closet reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Plato's Closet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,277 reviews
5351
4365
3319
2135
1107

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight