Plug Power Inc Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dreamers
Production (Former Employee) –  Latham, NYMay 14, 2018
Pros
Money was good
Nice day job , but many times there is mandatory overtime working 6 days a week 10-12 hour shifts
Cons
Management lacking
The ones that have been there for years slack and the ones who work hard and have opinions about the others get looked over and let go. DON'T believe them at inventory time when they let you go and say they will call you back in a couple weeks , it doesn't happen.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disconnect between the office and the field; Nepotism as a business model.
Millwright/Industrial Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Latham, NYApril 15, 2018
The good: Pay was good for my position, largely because of the amount of hours I ended up putting in due to mismanagement and ineptitude of other field employees. Decent benefits.

The bad: Unfortunately there are only a handful of people who are good at fulfilling the requirements of their role within the company. There are very few in the office that are overworked and under compensated; these few do their best but upper and middle management seem to tie their hands more often than not. The remainder seem to be secure in their roles largely due to nepotism and brown-nosing; if you are the type that typically allows your work to speak for itself then you are probably going to have a bad experience. Most field employees are overworked due to mismanagement, general lack of communication, and supply chain issues.

While on the subject, supply chain problems exist largely because Plug Power refuses to pay for services or products already rendered, until they are ultimately placed on “ship hold” with everyone. Plug Power refuses to pay contractors in a timely manner, effectively “poisoning the well” and increasing the cost of contracted work

There is a massive disconnect between office and field employees. Upper/middle management and HR have no idea what their field employees tolerate on a daily basis, and they really don’t seem to care when it is brought to light.

Regardless of the terms you part ways with the company they will do everything in their power to keep from paying out accrued vacation time, employee owed expenses, etc.

Essentially no work/life balance.
  more... In my second year with the company I spent 342 nights in a hotel room.

If you report suspicious or illegal activity they will terminate you regardless of track record.
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and stressful.
Field Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Gordonsville, VAMarch 6, 2018
Management and support is poor. Subcontract to Walmart adds additional challenges. Company has moved too rapidly. Technology advances fairly quickly and the there is not much time "perfecting" current products.
Pros
Fuel cells and the technology is good
Cons
Long hours, overwhelming breakdown rate of units, part support is lacking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Valley, WAJanuary 30, 2018
is an ok place is a very slow pace and the management was poor
I did nt learn anything there it was not for me and they paid really low and was not a good environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, interesting place to work. Job security is lacking
Chemical Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Latham, NYJanuary 12, 2018
Plug Power was a relaxed work environment. Management was great - my manager taught me so much and helped me to grow as an engineer and as a person. As an intern, I did not get much direction on what to do or how to do it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Latham, NYDecember 21, 2017
You can be the best and hardest worker there and they still fire you. They play favoritism and always have part shortages. Managment is horrible. Only good thing about the job is the people you work with. Worked there for 6 months and got fired for no reason over the phone. Would not reccomend this job to anyone
Pros
N/a
Cons
Forced overtime, Poor management, Only hire temp, Lay offs, Management playing favorites with useless employees that are lazy
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good concept for fuel cell poor execution in production
Electrical Mechanical Technician (Former Employee) –  Denver, CODecember 11, 2017
No concept of manpower. Every department that requires actual work is undermanned and under paid. The only people making money in the company work from their chairs. Management for the lower class have no clue how to hire or fire the appropriate people due to manning. As a technician if you know how to work you will be over worked and if you are someone that does not want to work the management will do nothing and even give you extra days off so everyone else has to work extra. Getting parts to do your work is like pulling teeth because the company can't manage their money for the amount on job sites they have and they are taking on new ventures before they secure the progress of the ones newly established.
Pros
You get to work in the hydrogen field
Cons
May be the reason the demand for hydrogen dies off as predicted
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay if youre willing to traval
Hydrogen Fuel Cell Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Mankato, MNNovember 1, 2017
Being a mostly decentralized company as a technician your main chances for advancement are abundant but only if you are willing to take promotions that either relocate you or have you traveling 90% of the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Assembly and Lab Test Technician (Former Employee) –  Latham, NYOctober 16, 2017
i loved that job! the people were great, the job was interesting and advanced technologically, i learned about mechanical and electrical systems and how to diagnose and repair them. the company have massive layoffs in 2011 and my department was shut down or i would have never left.
Pros
people, environment.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brand new technology
Hydrogen Technician (Current Employee) –  Gordonsville, VAAugust 22, 2017
I did like working at Plug Power. However working there was very stressful. As far as the company itself,I really couldn't ask for a better company to work for. Excellent benefits.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Pay and very stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay and easy work if you can learn and retain information
Lead Technician (Current Employee) –  GeorgiaJuly 20, 2017
Great company to work for as far as starting pay but very little help from management and constant vendor issue inhibiting techs from doing their job.
Cons
constant parts issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work but the company is not stable
Test, Reliability, Quality Assurance Engineer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 29, 2017
Good Place to work but the company is not stable. From 350+ employees, it gets down to maybe 30 today. Job security is the issue.
Culture is great but the job security is the issue.
Pros
Good Place to work
Cons
Company is not stable
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace but work is inconsistent
Test Technician (Current Employee) –  Latham, NYApril 26, 2017
Plug is a good company when it comes to the interactions between colleagues and communication between employees and their superiors is excellent. Monthly all-employee meetings keep the entirety of the work force knowledgable and up to date with the company and monthly company lunches are a plus. The work provides plenty of exposure with fuel cell technology. However, there are several shortcomings: inconsistent work and unreasonable deadlines cause periods of low work where idling is prevalent and longer periods of high work requiring employees to work constant overtime, skewing the work/life balance and preventing the use of vacation time, lower pay relative to other technician jobs in similar fields, and a high turnover rate due to the insistence of only hiring temps, most of which have little to no experience with technology.
Pros
Company lunches, friendly environment
Cons
Inconsistent work, high turnover rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mass Supervisory top heavy distraction
Main-line Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Latham, NYApril 26, 2017
This is the most massive supervisory top heavy managerial, supervisory work environment that I ever worked at. Besides the name calling and cynical remarks by employees, this work environment was advancing in a positive way with technological advancement. There was completely no talent review of outstandingly dextrous and skilled employees until the management finds out that production is slowed because of a resignation. This is a Company that will keep hiring and leave the long tenured, skilled employee behind without fair compensation.
Pros
Great work environment in a technical field
Cons
Immature Management and no consideration for talent
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Box truck/ Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Latham, ILApril 12, 2017
Learn a lot working there took advantage of the unlimited over time I worked an average of 45 hours a week give a take but needs to update their inventory records storage and devices.
Pros
Fast past always working time fly
Cons
Putting up with young minded shift leads who take advantage of his position
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience with Plug Power
Hydrogen Fuel Cell Specialist (Current Employee) –  Latham, NYMarch 30, 2017
Plug Power has been one of the most beneficial career choices I have ever made because it is a company that allows you to grow with the company. It was the beginning of the maintenance field for me and I will never be able to say anything bad about the company. My time with Plug Power has not only taught me so many things, but it has also matured me as a professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job with stressful moments.
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Terrell, TXMarch 24, 2017
Schedule fluctuations that are totally dictated by the customer. The job is cool in as you are learning about a product that can work well if properly manufactured. Parts will fail whether through normal wear and tear, or bad from refurbishment and poor design. Either way, you as the tech are the scapegoat and the face of the product for when things go wrong. Customer management will force you to perform "quick fixes" of units which in turn makes breakdown diagnoses worse and adds more work on the tech. Anything you say and do will be used against you if you show that you are not willing to put up with a culture that stifles logic. You will get easily burned out because there are more units than techs in the region as a whole. Plethora of overtime that sometimes you have to work because of so many breakdowns. This company is built on emails instead of face to face which can create tension between employee and management. For the most part they have your back, but are very limited to the politics that goes on between company and customer. I see this job as having high turn-over because they want people to suck it up and take whatever the customer dishes.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
30 minute lunches. Toxic customer environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NO formal training all OTJ
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNFebruary 27, 2017
great job even on night shift but there was no formal training .
great hours, pay and benefits . on call was worth the money , and you weren't micromanaged
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Hydrogen Fuel Cell Technician (Current Employee) –  Latham, NY 12110February 27, 2017
Good place to work for, a lot of opportunity to grow. there is traveling involve to help other sites if need be. Good pay rate and if you advance there's a chance to put on salary, you also start out with a ton of vacation, PTO and sick time.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and Quality production
Assembly Technician (Former Employee) –  Spokane Valley, WAJanuary 19, 2017
I like plug power cause i learned another stuff from them and now i have experiences soldering i prove my self to work assembly i can move forwards.thanks
Pros
Nope i provide lunch
Cons
15 minute break
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Plug Power Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 44 reviews
58
413
311
26
16

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
3.1Culture