Police Department Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 69 reviews
Ratings breakdown
535
416
314
23
11
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 53 reviews matching the search See all 69 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
collaboration and professional service
Intern (Current Employee) –  Itta Bena, MSJune 16, 2018
I love the entire police workforce and being an intern was a blessed opportunity. My boss was a paralegal so I was able to attend civil trials along with her. I adored the courtroom being that I’m in school studying prelaw and criminal justice. I also love the respect and courtesy that gave to clients which led to me wanting my masters in psychology before attending law school. I would recommend this facility in a heartbeat!
Pros
Off days
Cons
Paperwork
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Gun permits (Former Employee) –  Gary, INFebruary 22, 2018
I really loved the job but it was just temporary. I was a secretary and then working with gun permits it was really a good job.Im looking for laundry/housekeeping right now for part time 4 hours of work.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse , challenging, rewarding
Inspector (Former Employee) –  JamaicaFebruary 12, 2018
This is a noble institution and a great career. I am honored to have served. The experience and lessons learnt are invaluable and I would recommend this as a career.
Pros
Networking opportunities
Cons
High risk
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and harrassing
Cocoa Beach Police Department (Former Employee) –  Cocoa Beach, FLFebruary 1, 2018
As a dispatcher you are treated as less than and are bullied from the beginning. The current Chief is very insensitive to individuals that live on the street and only cares about his image.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of standing on your feet
School Safety Agent (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 15, 2018
the job can be very demanding at times but you are very secure in your positions once you pass a year on probation if you are looking for job this is the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interned as Victim Advocate
Victim Advocate (Former Employee) –  Bowling Green, KYJanuary 14, 2018
Loved this job, wish it would open up for a permanent position. You get to work with detectives and health workers to get evidence to prosecute perverts!!
Pros
Learned alot and loved that field
Cons
Only interned
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved helping the public
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Lone Grove, OKJanuary 13, 2018
I loved dispatching at the police department, it was the best job I've ever had, if they had a different manager I would of stayed forever, there was a lot of personal stuff going on between several other people is the reason I left as well
Pros
Good insurance
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable work place
La verne police expolorer (Former Employee) –  La Verne, CAOctober 31, 2017
Briefing started at 6:30A.M and P.M so depending on what shifts you were working you have to attend either one. I taught to speak clear and to be heard as well with always being punctual, and prepared. The most difficult part was learning all of the codes; I had the most fun going on ride alongs because I loved the adrenaline rush and being bale to see how quickly officer works in certain situations.
Pros
Walking by citizens and them thanking you for protecting them
Cons
not knowing what people you will come in contact with
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
En términos generales buenos
Investigator (Former Employee) –  Arecibo, PROctober 21, 2017
Es una agencia de gobierno donde ofrece servicio de seguridad y protección al ciudadano. Es una agencia donde nos mantiene en adiestramientos y nos ofrece recursos para el aprovechamiento de los agentes de la policia.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 11, 2017
none to give good place to work no review to give
if you like working with the public and helping people this is a great job for you, do not feel that the salary goes with job but if you get promoted the salary gets better
Pros
people
Cons
stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report

Want to know more about Police Department?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Union Springs, ALSeptember 26, 2017
With this being a small town this job was pretty much laid back. Some days require more work do to being busy do to storms or maybe just the weekend, but nothing hard. The Workplace environment is friendly and sometimes exciting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  La Joya, TXSeptember 19, 2017
Hardest part was multi tasking
I learned many police codes
Most enjoyable part of the job was talking via radio
What I disliked was all my coworkers negative attitudes
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if you don't mind the politics involved.
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDAugust 27, 2017
Working in law enforcement has it's own unique challenges. But if you can handle the stress and politics involved you can have a wonderful rewarding career.
Pros
helping people
Cons
the politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at the police and sheriff department justice center
Police Administrative Aide (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSAugust 21, 2017
I learned a lot as well . Patience understanding., I loved what I did meeting new people... going out in work force helping people.. I really recommend working in the force..
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
El ambiente de trabajo muy bueno
Agent K-9 (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRAugust 14, 2017
Me encantaba este trabajo siempre se aprendía algo nuevo y mas mi compañero el Can Bass1 detector de armas y Drogas
Pros
el sueldo
Cons
nada
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A career that that one can definitely push their careers further.
City of Trenton (Former Employee) –  Trenton, NJJuly 14, 2017
A typical day I arrive at room call 9:30 pm and start my shift at 10 pm until 8 am or 12 pm all depends on the day....My partner and I check our Police vehicle making sure lights and sirens working properly.We respond to different quality of life assignment.Report weiting,making arrests giving motorist motor vehicle summons.
Pros
Comradiry
Cons
Not knowing if you will get hurt
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Detective (Current Employee) –  Collegedale, TNJune 27, 2017
I enjoy coming in every day and doing my job. I come in every day and investigate the cases that are assigned to me. Management likes to micromanage. I am able to work at my own pace.
Pros
I make my own schedule
Cons
Too much Micro-Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Seargent Of Police (Former Employee) –  Río Grande Municipio, PRJune 24, 2017
A typical day of work always brings you a new experience while more people are related to you more knowledge you acquire for the sake of your work.That makes you a better citizen.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working on the road alot
Aux. Police Officer (Part Time) (Former Employee) –  Virgin IslandsJune 3, 2017
● Carry out specific job duties on a regular basis.
● Patrolling designated areas.
● Enforcing laws.
● Respond to emergency calls.
● Arresting individuals suspected of committing crimes.
● Issuing citations.
● Testifying in court and conducting traffic stops.
● Complete reports and fill out forms regarding incidents.
Pros
meeting people everyday
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Police Explorer (Former Employee) –  Delray Beach, FLMay 25, 2017
There is no other police department like the Delray Beach Police Department. The officers are caring, very active in the community, and set a phenomenal example of what it is to be in law enforcement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport