Politico Employee Reviews

Found 11 reviews matching the search See all 13 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible for non-reporters
HR Geneneralist (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAJuly 25, 2019
The only employees who received any kind of decent treatment were the reporters and sometimes the sales employees. during the time I was there Politico didn't have an Employee policy handbook so there was no consistency/fairness in how rules were applied.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative Media Company with a Tough culture
Events (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAJune 18, 2019
POLITICO is doing innovative things in the media space, but has had trouble retaining editorial talent. Overall I believe the culture has improved but in my time there, it was very churn and burn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Startup newsletter
Managing Editor (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 29, 2019
This startup paper newsletter covered national Latino politics from Texas. It was a great adventure and fun to be a part of something different and new.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still
Business Development Associate (Former Employee) –  Rosslyn, VANovember 15, 2017
So here I am again typing away because I have to. Indeed sure does get a lot of ad time for a pretty 50/50 type of service. I'm just going to get a bunch of calls from bad people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast past learning experience
Experience and Production Associate (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 5, 2017
POLITICO is a great fast past company for a competitive employee to learn a great deal of skills. There is never a typical day in the media which makes working for a media organization the most challenging part of your job and the most rewarding aspect. POLITICO has given me the opportunity to grow as an individual, strengthen my work ethic and sharpen specific skills for future career endeavors.
Pros
Fun atmosphere
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
Editor-in-Chief/Reporter/Staff Writer (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 17, 2017
Working at Politica Politico was an excellent experience for me. I learned a lot about government and politics and I met very important politicians. It was a stepping-stone kind of job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High-powered work environment
reporter (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 30, 2017
Your coworkers will be mind-blowingly smart, competent and committed, but the demands will be intense. I gave a low grade to management because of my particular immediate manager, but I think more highly of upper management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard work harder environment
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMarch 31, 2017
The product they are selling is truly great, but the management needs a lot of work. It is a young environment, but the goals are aggressive and relentless. The management invests time in training you, but not in supporting you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience!
Senior Accountant - Revenue Recognition (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAJune 30, 2015
Compare other companies I worked for, Politico is ok. It has great benefits, good coworkers who is willing to help.But the management micromanagement and stressful environment and intensive work.
Pros
Flexible hours, Great benefits, easy access to metro.
Cons
Very stressful, micromanagement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Business (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 3, 2014
POLITICO is a great place to work, and the company is growing rapidly so there are opportunities here for hardworking and ambitious people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

See more Politico reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Politico. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 13 reviews
54
43
34
20
12

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

3.4InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

3.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight