Popeye's Restaurants Employee Reviews in Chicago, IL

Found 125 reviews matching the search See all 7,259 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
GM (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 18, 2019
n/a Very stressfull paid for 40 work 50 hours per week. If a manager calls off you pick up the slack. Crew call off you pick up the slack. Very hard place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice beginner job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 19, 2019
As a frequent fast food worker this job was one of my least favorite. Great for high school students who need part time work. Easy work , bi weekly pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like this job but I want to move on.
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 14, 2019
This was my very first job and still my current job I have no problems with Popeyes but I just feel like I need to move on to something better and that’s is why I’m looking for a new job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work
Seasoner (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 13, 2019
This job was ok as a side job but it is a 90 day probation period and that is when you first start working you only make $12.50 hr but after 90 days it’s $13 hr.
Pros
Breaks
Cons
Not as many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast food
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 31, 2019
popeyes was another company I loved working for . everyone was friendly sometimes some days is was different but overall work was easy the customers were always polite my specialty was the drive thru and cook
Pros
discount food
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very productive and fun place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 17, 2018
Working for Popeyes was a very fun and productive experience. This company gave you the opportunity for growth and also gave you the benefits to grow in their company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Waitress and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 3, 2018
Very professional. Great people to work with. Loved everything about the place. Would definitely work there again. Would recommend everyone to work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 24, 2018
Nice learning inspires fun challenging it help me a lot to be very patients Work hard it gave me something to look forward to now I’m ready to share it with others
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 20, 2018
I had fun working there but there wasn't enough hours to live off of.The past was really fast and the discounts were ok . The management was ok and the crew was ok
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rude
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL 60641November 8, 2018
A typical work day was horrible! They practically hired anyone there, which caused the work area to be unprofessional and/or unsafe! The management was very rude, and did not have good leadership skills. The place was unkempt, and just a complete disaster. In need of new management, and crew to be rescued.
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 26, 2018
You guy's could be better but your not. Plus i lost my guy because management wasn't doing what they're supposed to do plus they have lied on my name false advertising that I left on my own when you told me too leave have better managers plus have more working hours 30 hours is not enough to be in there all day slaving
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N\a
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 28, 2018
I really don’t have a summary cause I didn’t even really like working at Popeye cause they didn’t pay me enough to be working all them hours I was working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company I worked at
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 26, 2018
One of the worst jobs
I’ve ever had no clean very rude super ghetto not respectful to others
It had bugs to loud very unsanitary
They re use lots of food for next day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive and unhappy workplace
Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 17, 2018
A lot of drama and less work getting done, plus employees are not appreciate for the work they put in, also managers are not recognized for their work, and also higher ups use their personal altercations, to dictate what hours we deserve
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
No benefits, employees not valued, managers are not respected
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
popeyes
Crew member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 13, 2018
I worked here while i was a teenager and its great money for high schoolers. An adult would need to work two jobs if working here because it would pay all the bills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to be it teaches you alot
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 7, 2018
Good days at work
How to box the food up and learn the register
It was a fast pace
The hardest part was getting the drive thrust off my clock in time
The enjoyable part is cleaning the lobby
Pros
free lunchee and we had discounts
Cons
45 minutes breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace knowledgeable started as a team member grew to an store manager.
Crew-Member/ assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 30, 2018
I learned a lot working with over 500 hundred personalities a week not including coworkers. Learned how to build a strong customer service skill while being rewarding with build of sales.
Pros
Growth promotions
Cons
Long work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
character/communication
Cashier Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 13, 2018
My overall work experience obtaining my first employment based job with Popeye's chicken and biscuit gave me the necessary skills for advanced career goals. Working for a franchise Popeye's in Selma, Alabama gave me the correct hands on skills of operating computer/electronic cash handling, and food preparation.
Pros
Its excellent providing great customer service skills.
Cons
If fast pace its not for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool work place sometimes
Food Prep (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 28, 2018
One I learned working there is to do your job and kind of stay to yourself because some people don't like when the new person come in because they thinking that you are coming to take there job and some people don't want to see others grow....
Pros
The crew members
Cons
The boss
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much work not enough money or hours
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 8, 2018
Not for impatient people they want the maximum amount of work for the lowest pay. The management is terrible. There’s no order. It’s a job for someone getting out of high school, not an adult with bills.
Pros
No free lunches
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Popeye's Restaurants. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 7,259 reviews
52K
41.7K
32K
2778
1787

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Popeye's Restaurants.

Powered by Comparably