Popeye's Restaurants Employee Reviews in Detroit, MI

Found 84 reviews matching the search See all 7,083 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 6, 2019
I know now that there are TWO Popeyes Locations in Detroit that had/has roaches. One location is West of Livernois and the other Location I’m sure everyone knows about. Poor Pay, Poor Hours, Poor Management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 10, 2019
Popeyes is like a second family. Everyone gets along and works together to help reach a goal or complete a task. I wish I could go back I just don’t want to shave my beard lol
Pros
Everything
Cons
Beard shaving
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do better
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIApril 12, 2019
they need to do better. manager is rude. they starting wage is 7.82. They don’t give you a lot of hours. never no smiles employees are mean looking and rude
Pros
easy hire
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so bad , But not so good
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMarch 22, 2019
My Experience at Popeyes wasn't so great , however it wasn't so bad either . Management needs some improvement with how they speak to others. Also you clean , wash dishes , walls , doors, floor, cashier, cook , pack the food , prep.
Pros
No Pros
Cons
Rude Mnagement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cook\fryer
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIFebruary 17, 2019
Good job fast paced n very diverse good team members on time clean n organized company made different money transaction with different custermers,dishwashed dishes if was needed n worked alil bit beyond time 2 years later switch to another location n 3months was terminated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and family oriented place
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIFebruary 6, 2019
Loved working at popeyes .crew and pay was wonderful..could get a little overwhelming but with crew and management working together .you can make it work
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a nice place to work
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJanuary 31, 2019
I worked there and everyone loved me. The hours was good the pay was good. You have to stay to your self if you want to complete your work task. The manager was good.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Popeyes
Staff Crew member (Former Employee) –  DetroitDecember 10, 2018
Popeye's was a very hectic workplace . It didn't stop me from showing up and giving 100% when it was my time to clock in. Honestly would not recommend anyone to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Popeyes was a productive workplace
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIDecember 4, 2018
Every day I would go in put on my hat and start making the chicken.Sometimes I would season the chicken and there would be another cook.The job at Popeyes was a decent job for a minor.
Pros
Sometimes they would give us free lunches.
Cons
Being the only cook.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Popeyes crew member (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 13, 2018
A typical day at work would be fun if everyone was doing their part. I learned how to cope with the different attitudes, how to prepare and cook the chicken. Management was really lazy, the restaurants was nasty most days when I come on shift. What I really enjoyed about the jobs was crew that I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Popeyes
Popeyes cashier (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 9, 2018
I absolutely had a horrible day at popeyes every single day because It was unorganized and very hard for each of the workers to really get along because we had a manager who was so unorthodox
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strict
Popeyes crew member (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIOctober 30, 2018
I Wouldn’t Recommend Working is At Popeyes Or At Least One In Detroit Michigan They Make Their Employees Do A lot For A Lil Pay, They Dont Care For Welll Being & They’re Unprofessional
Pros
Free food
Cons
Poor management skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Popeyes crew member (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 13, 2018
Dirty bad customer service managers always late and they never wanted to take honor in the mistakes they made. It was some nice crew members that was working there
Pros
Nice crew members
Cons
Low hours and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 5, 2018
Fast pace work environment with a flexible work schedule, multiple training opportunities to move up in the company I learned how to handle and prepare food while working here while also learning how to work under pressure
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIAugust 8, 2018
It was fun working at Popeyes on certain occasions But over all the mangers was cutting hours and taking more hours for them selfs and didn’t care how they talked to employees
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Not too many helpful managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJuly 12, 2018
Just be on time and don’t over work yourself it was fun to work there it was not hard at all you can learn a lot working for Popeyes and they even let you move up so you can get more money
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a Job
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIJuly 2, 2018
A job is a Job everyone has to make a living to survive,so I dont and wont complain. A evening at Popeyes it can get very busy and yes people can be rude,but you have to have thick skin. I come i clock into the system. If its a line in the lobby I grab my drawer and start taking orders. Working here has taught me the ability to multitask and provide great customer service. I would have to say the management are all over the place they can maybe take some training classes again. The workplace is always busy do to the area its located in. I really cant say what the hardest part within the job is because Im a people person and I enjoy talking and meeting new people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 19, 2018
Easy to learn job people there are very friendly and I would deffinitely recommend this job to a friend it's very fast paste there very understandable there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work
Popeyes crew member (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 15, 2018
The job was very fast pace at the corporate store, but it is manageable. I worked there for six months and it was actually kinda fun, I enjoyed my time while it lasted at that particular location.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Short breaks and had to cut my facial hair
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Job
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 15, 2018
This is a temporary job. Someone can not raise there kids and take care of there home and daily livings with their pay. Everyday it was short staff and we were over worked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Popeye's Restaurants. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 7,083 reviews
52K
41.7K
31.9K
2760
1761

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Popeye's Restaurants.

Powered by Comparably