Popeye's Restaurants Employee Reviews for Cook

Found 579 reviews matching the search See all 7,061 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Popeyes cook (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXJuly 14, 2019
Employees were fun to work with.
Early morning setup of kitchen involves turning on fryers and fans. Setting up the chicken station.
Hardest part of job is being in a hot kitchen for hours on your feet.
Pros
Good Pay, Opportunities for advancement
Cons
Employees arguing in front of customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an ok job but I want to advance
Cook (Former Employee) –  Vienna,GA,31092July 10, 2019
Great place to work. Just need More money and benefits need to start giving vacation time to employees. Also need sick pay as well. Overall I fill like it is a good place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was not great
Cook (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GAJuly 7, 2019
All the managers at my store where unprofessional and we had a very bad customer service score .......................................................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My thoughts on popeyes
Cook Manager (Former Employee) –  Willingboro, NJJuly 7, 2019
A normal day at work was usually busy and very fast paced. I enjoyed being a shift runner but management wasn't the best. Hardest part was being the only person closing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and stressful
Cook (Current Employee) –  West Nyack, NYJuly 4, 2019
no increase and no benefits and no assurance of any promotions. No dental or health insurance. They don't pay properly the system is messed up. They didn't pay for my first week of training which was 33 hours. Been there for 6 months and still haven't paid me.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
short breaks, no increases, no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recommended for those who are willing to put in work!
SEA/C (Seasoner/ Cook) (Current Employee) –  FloridaJuly 2, 2019
If you are a new employee at Popeye's (position doesn't matter), you don't necessarily have to have a huge skill set, just stuff you need to know everyday in life; like basic math skills and common sense. But the GM (General Manager) is looking for these traits:

-Consistency (none of these trait's matter if your not consistent with anything)
-Respect yourself, employee's and customers
-Obedience
-Always on time
-Unselfishness
-Positivity
- Exceptional work ethic
-Tolerable personal hygiene (yes, this is very important as well)
-and the most important trait of all, accepting criticism in an excellent manner (no back talk or eye rolling etc.)

If you have most of these traits, you will be given more hours, not guaranteed, but most of the time, they'll notice that your not the average joe that come's to work everyday not to work or do the bare minimum, they'll see you that you stand out different then your fellow employees and will reward you. :)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked it very easy job
Cook (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 2, 2019
The job was easy all you have to do is be there they feed you the give you break times it’s a very calm environment the location I was at was more like an tourist area so yes I loved it wasn’t to much going on but work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment.
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  McCalla, ALJuly 1, 2019
It was a fun place to work but looking for a better opportunity. I enjoyed frying the chicken. I also enjoyed working the cash register. It was overall a fun job.
Pros
Free lunch, and also got to keep left over chicken.
Cons
Not enough benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed repetitive job
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Broken Arrow, OKJune 30, 2019
It isn't a bad place to work at. It isn't necessary a fun place to work at and work can be extremely boring and repetitive. I would much rather be working somewhere else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace fun at times
Cook (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAJune 26, 2019
I come in in make sure everything stock make sure we have a lot of chicken to sell when I do all of that I go prep all the side stuff and refill the tea trays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Craziness
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJune 26, 2019
The job is okay for those just starting to work or for those looking for something to just get a paycheck. Between the scheduling and drama of employees I had to find something else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good at all
Cook (Current Employee) –  MinnesotaJune 25, 2019
I like my job it doesn't pay that will so I am so slooking for a real job because I have 5kids so need a good job for I can take care of my family so that I can get a job in st paul close to my loving wife and family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Cook (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 20, 2019
I enjoyed my employment there but relocated to go to school in my home city. I am currently looking to advance my opportunity with a growing company with potential to advance.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Grease
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooming and cleaning
Cook (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEJune 19, 2019
To be honezt i always loved this job it waant necessarily ideal but at the end of the day i got paid good and it waa comfortable i knew all my coworkers
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produtive work place
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 19, 2019
it was ok for a fast food job. not to many problems wit the team memebers ,was a fun place to work at times . the hardest part was the managment . other then that is was ok.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace was fast paced.
Cook (Former Employee) –  Blythe, CAJune 18, 2019
I would not recommend the store that I worked at. I only have experience from the one store I have no idea if all of them are run that poorly. I was never given hours because I couldn't work as fast as the people that have been there for several years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and stressful
cook (Current Employee) –  Dillon, SCJune 18, 2019
you have to cook and season chicken and put truck up when the items comes in and make sure everything in the kitchen is cleaned before the next shift and make sure all the dishes are washed
Pros
free drinks
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work friendly team members and Managers
Cook (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJune 12, 2019
I enjoyed working there as a cook and everyone that was there. I don't really have much to say it's been a while since I've worked there so I really don't know how things are there
Pros
Discount on food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management was horrible
Cook (Former Employee) –  Searcy ArJune 12, 2019
The management is just horrible the job itself is not that hard but the pay is not worth the time that you put into the job. It's just not a good job at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Do It
Cook (Former Employee) –  North Versailles, PAJune 10, 2019
Warning do not work or Eat here. My manager blatantly showed her prejudice when she shorted my hours alleged that those where my hours I punched in. I got a check dated after I've already quit which is damning evidence my hour were manually manipulated... I seen some nasty practices while I worked there. Would never eat at Popeyes again
Pros
none
Cons
no breaks, manipulated time clock
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Popeye's Restaurants. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 7,061 reviews
52K
41.7K
31.9K
2760
1760

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Women's ratings

4.0Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss

Popeye's Restaurants Reviews by Location