Poplar Bluff Regional Medical Center Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place, Great People!
Switchboard Operator (Current Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOMarch 1, 2018
Great environment, with great coworkers and bosses. Hardest part of the job would be the multi-tasking, other than that it isn't a terribly demanding job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
ICU Nurse (Current Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOFebruary 28, 2018
Your day starts and you hit the groung running. Not much down time during the day, often eat lunch time while standing in the nutrition room. A place for a lot of experience. Although we don't handle trauma or neuro, we handle about everything else.
The fellow nurses are what make the team. You can always count on each other when needed.
Pros
Small enough to know most everybody, big enough to gain multiple experiences
Cons
Short staffing (although they are working on it)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced
ER Admitting Specialist (Former Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOSeptember 17, 2017
Admitted patients to ER
Obtained Insurance information from patients,
Admitted other patients to different areas of the hospital
Verified insurance coverage and collected copays when applicable
Escorted patients and visitors to the rooms
Assisted nurses and doctors as needed.
The hardest part of my job was losing a patient or someone I knew and having to watch the family grieve.
The enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people and learning so much more about the medical field
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Lead Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOSeptember 12, 2017
This facility is a great place to work. they are family. Everyone works together as a team. Patient care was the most important part of the work. Management was easy to talk to about concerns.
Pros
charge lunches
Cons
short staff at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
CRNA (Former Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOAugust 7, 2017
An excellent place for learning. Able to learn new techniques and new agents.Taught us how to work under stress. Free Lunches and breakfast. Discount on gym membership and Meds.
Pros
Excellent place for learning
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New hospital with a cardiac center
RN - Progressive Care Unit (Cardiac/Pulmonary) (Former Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOAugust 3, 2017
This was a positive, friendly and motivating place to work. The culture of the facility was one of safety and team work. They were positioning themselves as a Cardiac facility able to perform cardiac interventions but no open hearts at the time of my employment. The physicians were recruited from across the country. The atmosphere was one of professional improvement. I very much enjoyed the self scheduling aspect and all the potential for growth.
Pros
Cardiac Interventions, Self Scheduling, Professional Growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management turnover is high
social work (Current Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOJuly 13, 2017
We can't keep a manager for more than two years at a time. Recently a year tops. There's job security for me because I work my tail off. They can't keep good workers.
Pros
every day is different
Cons
health insurance sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRN Admissions
Admitting Specialist (Former Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOJuly 12, 2017
Great place! Great people. Manger is okay, but she was very familiar with my job and could only answer limited questions. She was a great manager overall and was helpful when she could be.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
RN (Former Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOJune 4, 2017
I enjoyed working at Poplar Bluff Regional , I felt like I learned a lot in the specialty area I was working in. I also enjoyed working as a team to get tasks completed as was done in the department I worked in.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great facility, chaotic hospitalist coverage.
Critical Care Physician (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 30, 2017
Patient population is mostly COPD and obesity with diabetes. Very poor compliance rate. EMR needs to be completely overhauled. Administration is far from reality of daily medicine.
Pros
Brand new, beautiful facility
Cons
As above.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at PBRMC is hard but there is some great people there.
MT (Current Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MissouriMarch 19, 2017
There are some great people to work with. I learned a lot. I love working there but I am wanting to travel more. Hard work. Fast paced. Strict management
Pros
some great people
Cons
short breaks. odd hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOMarch 7, 2017
Throughout the day I am by myself. I don't have to deal with customers or other people. Majority of the time I am by myself. Since it is a fast passed work environment, your have to learn to move quickly to get a patient into the room. The management could have been a little better but it is what it is. I didn't really enjoy the environment too much. I ended up getting real sick by being near sick people overall. The hardest part was trying to get as many rooms clean before your eight hour shift has ended. I really enjoyed that it was full time and I had benefits, but overall wasn't the job that suited my needs.
Pros
Didn't have to leave work to go to lunch. There was a cafeteria
Cons
Worked on holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and entertaining very unique
Barista (Current Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOFebruary 28, 2017
Overall this is probably one of the best places in town to work,
People are polite and excited, being a part of the team here feels nice because people take your accomplishments serious and cheer for you to aspire to become more.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Culture of Safety
Director of Women's and Children's Services (WCS) (Current Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOFebruary 9, 2017
Nice people to work with. Benefits are provided. There are opportunities for advancement. Safety of patients and quality of patient care is a big focus.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good environment
Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOJanuary 11, 2017
very good workplace. good environment. fast paced and feels like day goes by very fast. i enjoyed the people and the patients they always keep a smile on my face.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
cutting hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
NRCMA / Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MODecember 4, 2016
Busy from time you enter until you leave, I have learned so much, billing, insurance,doctors responsibility, appointments. Management is okay. Co-workers are great. Trying to get everything done before the end of the day is hard sometimes.
Pros
great employees
Cons
money isn't good
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you work at HHS ( Hospital Houskeeping System ) at Poplar Bluff Regional Medical Center watch out !
Transporter (Former Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOJune 7, 2016
This job is contracted through the hospital I transported patients
to get x-rays and test ran it is basically just a orderly job but HHS
just makes the job look and sound very good. I would have stayed but ended up resigning because I was treated very bad and
was mistreated by the employees that I worked with. This is nothing but a kid job it has teenagers working here the hours is not that
great and the pay is not that great either for all the running in the hospital that you do putting people in wheelchairs and rolling stretchers down the hall. You also have to take CPR in order to do this job in the first place you have to work with somebody by your side if you don't have CPR.
yes I have CPR training but not by choice
you have a phone on you that never stops ringing it becomes very annoying. If you like teenagers that bother you all the time and I do mean ALL THE TIME and can't keep from touching you then this is the job for you. Management at HHS is very unresponsive and weak
if you report anything don't expect anything to get done or get resolved because it won't.
I wished that I never applied to a job like this one.
Pros
Absolutely nothing
Cons
Everything including management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work ??????? Could have been better
Telephone Operator (Former Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOFebruary 23, 2016
typical day is answer a phone all day long which I didn't mind
I didn't care for the treatment that I received from other employees
transferring calls and looking up room numbers on a computer.
The room that I received calls was small and confining
management was ok. The job was ok
Pros
My manager was nice and very informing
Cons
Confined work space / employees need to watch the way they treat others
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
OB/Gyn Practice Manager (Former Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOOctober 6, 2015
Culture needs work, but is being addressed. Great admin team.Not much for advancement opportunity, but some. New hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exiciding place to work.
Unit Secretary (Former Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOAugust 3, 2015
Providing services for two MD's two NP's and 10-13 RN's/LPN's etc...
Answering phones, directing calls to the proper locations, ordering supplies, monitor vitals, run the daily functions of an ER.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 13Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Poplar Bluff Regional Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 30 reviews
59
48
39
22
12

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.4Culture

Poplar Bluff Regional Medical Center Reviews by Location