Popular, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 700 reviews matching the search See all 1,013 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bppr
Bank Representative (Current Employee) –  St Thomas, VIAugust 14, 2019
Banco popular has great benefits and is not a bad paying job. There are days where it may be overwhelming and gets hard, but you can’t let that get to you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bajos salarios, buenos empleados
OPERATION ANALYST (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRJuly 31, 2019
Los empleados son excelentes, pero la gerencia no hace balance entre hogar y trabajo. Prefieren contratar gente de afuera y darles mejores beneficils y paga antes que darle el puesto a un empleado interno.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not worth it
Commercial Teller (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJuly 26, 2019
They put extreme pressure on the employees to sale products just to be in competition with other banks and if you don't make your sales they write you up on your performance sheet.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was like working at the United Nations
Legal Processing Specialist III (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 22, 2019
It was like working with family. Actually i had several family members working in other departments. I made lots of new friends and I learned a few foreign languages. I hated that I had to relocate.
Pros
Flex time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job atmosphere
CUSTOMER CENTRIC SOURCER (Current Employee) –  Santurce, PRJuly 16, 2019
I had a great team to work with. Relaxed but goal-oriented and some sense of urgency. Frequent team meetings to make sure goals were met and regrouping, if necessary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extreme Stress, Low Pay.
Sales and Service Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 15, 2019
Typical Bank politics run amok here, between managers trying to keep you from advancing or pushing you out of their branches, upper management constantly pressuring you to meet sales goals and grow infinitely, there is plenty of reason to complain here. The pay is decent for the amount of work you actually perform which translates to long and boring days with little work. Calling nights are normal and if you're not on the phones calling people the entire time you're working you are considered lazy or not working. Work life balance is great but if you have stresses at home you shouldn't work here as this place will compound it. I wouldn't recommend working in any bank to anyone.
Pros
great work hours, welcoming environment
Cons
extreme stress, low pay, not true full time 36.25 hrs a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a very good company.
Telephone Banking Consultant (Former Employee) –  Guaynabo, PRJuly 10, 2019
There's very little or no growth opportunities and that's the reason I left. Apart from that Popular Inc is a very good company and they treat very well their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everything is monitored
Cash Management Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Juan, PRJuly 10, 2019
Good luck! And meet as many people as you can and move to different positions. Learn about everything. Move on and up. Very important to have your college degree
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Popular 1-1
Telephone Banking Consultant (Former Employee) –  Cupey, PRJuly 8, 2019
1. Attendance is very important
2. customer satisfaction and correct wording is life or death
3. Management is not always ready so please study the terms and procedures
4. The coworkers are amazing 80/100
5. Hardest part is keeping your cool
6. Most enjoyable part: Making new friends
Pros
good healthcare
Cons
unlikely to change location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salarios bajos
Compliance Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Guaynabo, PRJuly 7, 2019
Necesitan mejorar sus métodos de que plazas con los mismos títulos tengan varios salarios unos más altos que otros y no importan los años de servicio o experiencia
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good experience
Compliance Coordinator (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRJuly 2, 2019
Is a good experience, a must in every professional life.
Very good benefits,
They should be more flexible in terms of working remotely (is better for single moms).
Pros
The experience
Cons
Not a great compensation $
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun .
Teller (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYJune 26, 2019
Lack of integrity, over work everyone there , send you to other branches without your consent, LOW PAY for all you do . No recognition. Don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent companyto work at
Senior Loan Processor (Former Employee) –  New York, NY 10004June 25, 2019
I loved working at popular relocated to Texas looking to start career here. The company was very employee focused. Training and promotions readily a cessible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Adjuster (Current Employee) –  San Juan, PRJune 21, 2019
My current position provides an excellent base for the knowledge the banking industry requires. We work with several platforms and different products, hence we know a little of everything.
Pros
Teammates, multitasking, good workplace, good benefits, growth opportunities.
Cons
Location, facilities, required two years work experience to move areas/divisions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Willing to Return
Bank Representative (Former Employee) –  East RegionJune 19, 2019
The company is very well established and very attractive under the current state of the Island. I would like it very much to work again with them under my current skill set and become an incredible asset.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
sales and service banker (Current Employee) –  BrooklynJune 16, 2019
Great place to work. Reasonable hours, and YTO (your time off) are great. This bank is trying to keep up with this fast moving times, technology is changing at a blink of an eye, Popular is ensuring that with this sometimes dangerous technology, we don't fall into the trap of scammers, making some wise decision on what to accept in this fast works. For example cash app, etc
Pros
Perks duscounts
Cons
Not able to make 40 hours only 36.15 hours sometimes you need those extra hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job/ Life Balance but Management needs to identify what it needs.
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRJune 9, 2019
Communication in the office isn't that great.The training I received was sopply at best but I made the best from it by practicing on my own and looking for other solutions. Team doesn't demonstrate confidence on other member's skills nor give out initial projects as templates to what the team needs for new members to complete. During my time there, I felt really lost on what the team wanted from me and didn't even knew my job description until the last month on my contract. Other deparments worked smoothly and better oriented. Workflow was ok and the job enviroment was really relaxed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment but low wages
Loss Mitigation Mediator (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRMay 27, 2019
Great place to work with good benefits but the down side is the wages are far below market average and no real shot at a management position. Upper management does not work with middle management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 años bien trabajados
Senior Bank Representative Officer (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRMay 26, 2019
como en cualquier otro empleo, el ser responsable y dedicado tenia sus recompensas. Disfruté mucho los años que trabajé con BPPR.
Es un trabajo seguro con oportunidades de crecimiento.
Pros
estabilidad y reputación
Cons
el salario era competitivo, pero pudiera mejorarse.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo divertido
Técnico de Procesamiento de Correo (Current Employee) –  San Juan, PRMay 26, 2019
Buen patrono excelente compañia buen ambiente laboral
Pros
Ninguno
Cons
Ninguno
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Popular, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,013 reviews
5430
4363
3163
235
122

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture