Porterville College Employee Reviews

Showing all 28 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
coordinated work environment, perfect for first time work position.
Student Worker (Current Employee) –  Porterville, CAJune 3, 2019
Working at PC was a very enriching experience. Working there is a perfect start for high school graduates heading into the real world while staying steady on their education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community College
Adjunct Professor - Digital Media (Former Employee) –  Porterville, CAJanuary 21, 2019
It was a long drive for me but the teaching experience was generally great. I felt included even though I was only part-time. The atmosphere was generally very supportive. Would have worked there longer but the drive just became too much and I was not able to afford to move there on a part-time salary.
Pros
Good energy, nice campus, supportive
Cons
The drive, surrounding agricultural area made air a bit unbreateable at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was cool
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Porterville, CADecember 12, 2018
I am forced to write here, I liked my job. Nice bosses, nice co-worker. Filling up word count. Good food, fun and "rewarding"? Filling up last bit... Made it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
WRITING/MATH MENTOR (Former Employee) –  Porterville, CAOctober 25, 2018
Most days of tutoring are really easy. Management tends to back you up when you have a problem student. You feel safe there.

You learn really quickly how to give feedback to students quickly because if you don't, students stop showing up.

The best part is the people on the job, both the coworkers and the students.
Pros
They're chill about you needing time off.
Cons
It's government work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a great education envirnoment
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Porterville, CASeptember 26, 2018
I really enjoy being around the staff and the students. The college meets the needs of all of the students. There is a variety of services offered at this camus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work-place with great people and management
Online Student Coach (Former Employee) –  Porterville, CAApril 1, 2018
Working at Porterville College was a great door-opener, giving me a lot of experience working with new computer programs. The people I worked around had friendly faces and there was never any chaos to be found.
Pros
Very quiet working environment
Cons
Could easily fall asleep
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy office job
Student Aid (Former Employee) –  Porterville, CAApril 1, 2018
i was doing a student/employment program so i buddied with the dean's secretary and helped her with filing and presentations and things. it was only for one semester and didn't pay much but i got school credit for it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Pass Leader (Former Employee) –  Porterville, CAMarch 18, 2018
Porterville College was an overall great place to work and help students grow in the subject. At the same time as helping students; you also learn at the same time as they do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned so much
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Porterville, CAMarch 12, 2018
Great place to intern I learned so much from the ladies at the child development center. I was also able to do what I love and thats work with children.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct Faculty
Adjunct Faculty (Former Employee) –  Porterville, CASeptember 17, 2017
Only as-needed if classes are available. We did get a union right before I left. Immediate supervisor fair and professional. upper management always looking for ways to cut. income and hours depending on how many classes taught.
Pros
Immediate supervisor was wonderful
Cons
only as-needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community College
Registered Nurse Instructor Porterville College (Former Employee) –  Porterville, CASeptember 6, 2017
Fundamentals and Medical/Surgical Nursing of first and second
semester nursing students. Responsibilities include lecture
and lecture preparation along with facilitating clinical experiences,
skills lab, working with Clinical teaching assistants, pre and
post clinical conferences, preparing exams, grading papers,
and evaluation of student performance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Student Worker (Current Employee) –  Porterville, CAAugust 23, 2017
I answer phones multiple times a day. I direct calls to the correct department. I tend to students who need help with finding classes, frequently asked questions. I meter the mail daily. I file multiple types of paperwork while keeping my work area nice and neat.
Pros
Fun work environment
Cons
Not enough hours offered
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Porterville College environment
Network Administrator/Tech (Current Employee) –  Porterville, CAAugust 4, 2017
The culture of Porterville College is that of a close knit family. Everyone at the college is dedicated to provide the best learning experience for the students. Administration is very open to suggestions to that will improve any aspect of the environment that could helps students succeed.
Pros
positive work environment
Cons
shortfall in the ability to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers and managers
Campus Cadet (Former Employee) –  Porterville, CAApril 1, 2017
I had alot of fun with my co workers. Everyday was different and some days challenging which made it fun. We would deal with alot of people and cultures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
had fun
Athletic Assistant (Former Employee) –  Porterville, CAMarch 9, 2017
i had a lot of fun being around college students and doing various duties around the different sporting events at school. announcing was the best part and the food also.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Supplemental Instructor (Former Employee) –  Porterville, CAJanuary 18, 2017
A typical day at work would consist of clocking in on time. Meeting with assigned supervisors/managers, going on to work, and have fun while doing so. I learned the value of utilizing ones time as effectively as possible. The management was incredible. They were kind and respectful. My co-workers were all motivated and extremely friendly. The hardest part of the job was keeping track of the different functions of the job, but nonetheless it was fun to do. I enjoyed working alongside my co-workers the most, it was a fun atmosphere to be around.
Pros
Management
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Receiv ing Associate (Former Employee) –  PortervilleAugust 3, 2015
Their great and willing to work with me and my schedule. Very open and accepting to me. I enjoyed every minute of the experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gave me a sense of pride.
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Porterville, CAJuly 26, 2015
Working with other students that are having trouble and being able to assist them was a very fulfilling experience. The director was also very helpful as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with other students as a mentor! The staff in both the science and communication departments are awesome!
Supplemental Instructor (Former Employee) –  Porterville, CAMay 1, 2015
I was given a room in the library, here is where I set up my PASS sessions. I would make study plans and go over course material. I would also help communication students practice their speeches, giving them positive feedback and helpful ideas in dealing with communication apprehension.
Pros
On slow days I got paid to do homework.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Student Nutrition Services (Former Employee) –  Porterville, CAApril 5, 2015
Great friendly and professional atmosphere.
Learned to prioritize task and manage time
Management provided flexible work scheduled
Hardest part was limited funds due to balancing work and education
Most enjoyable part was meeting different cultures
Pros
Friendly culture
Cons
Limited on funds
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Porterville College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 28 reviews
517
49
31
20
11

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.4Management
4.5Culture

Porterville College Reviews by Location