Portillo's Employee Reviews

Found 445 reviews matching the search See all 449 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very stressful job
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Streamwood, ILJanuary 14, 2019
The new employees for the most part get payed more than employees that have been working there for years. They have horrible management specially the GM.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced. Really cool
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Homewood, ILJanuary 10, 2019
Good place to work. Really test how fast you are and how the brain can operate to do many more things at once. Everyone work as a team and talk to eachither and get the job done!
Pros
N:a
Cons
N:a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New Lenox, ILJanuary 7, 2019
The management was terrible I was getting paid $9/ hr I was working there for 6 months a bunch of people quit in one week I stayed and they hired a bunch of new people and they were getting paid $12 / hr they yelled at me for sneezing and also for not being able to work some days so I can watch my brother not friendly people I wouldn't wish on my worst enemies to work there
Pros
Quitting
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make or break
Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 28, 2018
Working downtown Chicago at Portillos was an experience that would carve you out of stone or crush you into dust. But you always had a great team backing you up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Catering Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Merrillville, INDecember 24, 2018
Nice job for someone who is looking for part time or a high school student. Doesn’t pay enough. You will work more hours than you’re being paid and sometimes even go outside in the cold just to take orders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must have good work ethic.
COOK (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, ILDecember 22, 2018
Being a former employee of Portillo's gave me an experience unique to the food industry. I have had previous restaurant experience, but Portillo's is one that has tired me out the most. The work is intense and the policy's are strict. However, if you show you are there to work, management will do their best to make your shift go by easier.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace but fun to be apart of the team
Cahier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Shorewood, ILDecember 18, 2018
Nice job. Some people and things just grow apart. Very flexible schedule. Under new management so things were a bit rocky but should be fine now. Overall nothing but good things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work here entailed strenuous, tedious tasks that involved dealing with greasy food at a rapid pace.
Cook (Former Employee) –  Woodbury, MNDecember 18, 2018
I was not content with working here. The work environment was disgusting, we were required to wear nice clothes, only to be surrounded by grease and sweat the entire shift. There was not much space to move around the workplace and I did not enjoy myself while in that building.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, poor management and unfair pay
Grill Cook (Former Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILDecember 12, 2018
Wasn't getting paid a fair amount for the amount of heavy work I was doing and management was rude and unfair. Scheduling me hours that weren't even on my availability.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
Pay and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Order taker (Former Employee) –  Elmhurst, ILDecember 7, 2018
Fast Paced
One of the best fast food restaurants (food quality)
Downfall is working outside in the drivethru especially in the winter, however, when weather is nice its not so bad.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I was told at the interview...
Salad Prep (Current Employee) –  Fishers, INDecember 6, 2018
When interviewed I was told that there were plenty of hours available to work. A couple weeks later I’m only scheduled 4 days (30 hours). I believe they will say anything in order to hire someone. There was no training for my position, and other new employees received no training for their positions either. It appeared some employees were being given manager discounts on food. Some workers were being scheduled 12+ hours a day, resulting in burn-out. By Sunday most employees had the “thousand yard stare”.
Pros
50% discount on food
Cons
Favoritism, long weekend hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Forest Park, ILDecember 4, 2018
Portillos had a lot of misguidence but overall the people and employers were good. Required slot of moving fast pace. But it was a great opportunity to work together
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Co-workers
Maple Grove- Cook/Host (Former Employee) –  Maple Grove, MNNovember 20, 2018
people you worked with were friendly and always
i learned that you always got to stay busy and on top of things
that you have to be very flexible with your hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving exellence
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Tinley Park, ILNovember 13, 2018
Scheduled crew for peak hours
ensure the food was at the right temperature
oversaw daily store operations
Maintained store appearance
made sure customers orders were correct
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Greendale, WINovember 9, 2018
I Love Portillos And Would Do Anything To Work Back There I Loved Being There. Its An Amazing Place To Work For Great People & The Food Is Amazing . I Love It
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun And Fast paced
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Chicago ilNovember 8, 2018
Working at Portillo's is refreshing seeing new faces , celebrities , and more important people . Portillo's is very face paced and challenging if you're new . Overall it is a nice environment.
Pros
50 percent off meals
Cons
No breaks if not there over 5 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and fast paced work environment
Expeditor/Server (Former Employee) –  Park Ridge, ILNovember 4, 2018
I got to know so many amazing customers! Such a good environment to learn how to communicate with coworkers and customers. I enjoyed working at this location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend to adults
Crew Member/Server/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Homewood, ILNovember 2, 2018
This might be a great job for high schoolers looking for experience or if you are a person that likes daily changes. It’s very fast paced & the pay did not match the job description . Most of the time multiple jobs needed to be done at one time . I worked for them for a year & they did not raise my pay but new employees were getting paid more . Management is ridiculous & lacked communication . The main manager was inconsiderate & direspectful towards the employees . During rushes the main manager would throw tantrums & be upset without helping . After an altercation i called corporate about it & they didn’t do anything nor communicate as they said . The only pros are possible good hours (because someone always calls off) , the good energy from coworkers (some mangers) , weekly pay , the discounts & some restaurant events .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Cashier and Cook (Former Employee) –  Harwood Heights, ILNovember 1, 2018
I worked at the portillos in Harwood Heights for 4-5 months. Terrible management . Managers did not care for the well being of their employees. As over 6 employess in the span of a month had multiple anxiety attacks but nothing was done to care for them. The managers always cursed at the employees. Always yelling. And also threatened employees too. It was an uncomfortable environment. And overall just a terrible place to work at. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long days
Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 22, 2018
constant 6 days , lots of changed schedules during the current work week , lots of call and no shows. be prepared to only go to work and go home and then back to work
Pros
the name portillos
Cons
6 day work week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Portillo's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 449 reviews
5124
4128
3112
245
140

See reviews about

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.6Culture