Powell Industries Employee Reviews

Found 78 reviews matching the search See all 82 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Life Balance
Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 15, 2018
Good balance as long as you are not working on the shop floor. Shop employees have it the hardest with mandatory overtime and weekends. Other than that, Powell is great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 22, 2018
OK place to work, fast pace. good hours, really clean. everything is inspected before leaving production line. good safety meetings everyday before shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace was hot in the summer and cold in the winter.
Low Voltage Wire Installer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 17, 2018
A typical day of work at Powell, was get instructions as to where you were to go and do the wiring, get tools at cage. Mainly , they depended on me to read all the instructions for safety. I was a memeber of the safety team which my supervisor thought was silly.
Pros
Ice cream social 1 time per year.
Cons
healthcare was great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relax environment
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Covington, TNMarch 13, 2018
Great customers but poor management and pay. Worked the last eight years without a raise or a cost of living raise. The reason I left is no raise in the past eight years
Pros
Off on satyrdays
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Lead Business Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 9, 2017
Poor management and lack of knowledge transfer from those who have left positions and the company. Senior management does not have a realistic view of the work load and expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with
Combo Welder (Former Employee) –  Houston TexasNovember 14, 2017
Good people to work for are their employees are good person they have pretty good insurance
Pros
Good
Cons
Too much dust
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Jackson, TNAugust 21, 2017
Powell Industries is a good company to work for.It was a relaxed environment to work in. I was able to meet new people. I was provided the opportunity to work with some great people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very laid back
Electrical Assembler (Former Employee) –  North Canton, OHAugust 15, 2017
I learned alot during my employment at Powell, but that was due to the help of other employees not management. The pay is low for the work expected but the benefits are good.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Northlake, ILAugust 14, 2017
Always stayed busy in some type of way. Via working on my machine, keeping are clean an organized.
Learned the process on how companies cut metal with water powered machines.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not where your making any serious money
Welding Material sales (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 11, 2017
You where no smarter than an immagrant with no experience .Cheap labor.Not every body was one the same pace of work.Some sleeping,somehiding and some not following company rules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 5, 2017
No experience needed with them because they teach you any position they need you for. I was able to learn a few machines and do assembly line. Good management but don't get caught not doing nothing when there isn't any work because upper management will CAN you.
Pros
8-10 hour shifts with OT pay. Plus shift deferential pay
Cons
Will lay you off when work gets low
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Assembler/ Welder (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 3, 2017
good job i really liked working here really nice people small company
i really liked working here. its a small company pay not that great but it pays
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A solid company with a steady schedule
Electrical Assembler (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 25, 2017
The work schedule at this facility is stationary with hours that are subject to change depending on the workload. The health benefits are affordable along with the 401k retirement savings plan that does match dollar for dollar. My only knock on the company is the organization of management. Everyone needs to be on the same page in terms how the company is ran. Other than that, a good company to work for.
Pros
Paid holidays and PTO, special company events, indoor working environment, personal toolboxes, computer access, on-site cafeteria, adequate parking, end-of-the-year bonuses
Cons
Short breaks, cafeteria prices, lack of proper working space, aisle space is slightly too narrow for forklift operation, occasional trip hazards
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place for salaried employees
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 4, 2017
GOOD PEOPLE CULTURE
Need to revise culture between shifts to improve employee relations.
Very People oriented, diversity is one of its strongest points
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
no shift pairaty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Structural Welder (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 15, 2017
• Collaborated in various welding projects, using MIG, Flux core, and TIG welding processes in welding metal components, inspecting weld quality to remediate improper welds, and conducting final QA control of an overall job to ensure compliance with blueprints & order specifications.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Machine Operator/Back Up Lead (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 25, 2017
Prove yourself as a good worker and they will work you you. When I was there before the layoff I proved myself and less then a year I moved up. Good Environment.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  8550 Mosley Rd, Houston, TX 77075April 10, 2017
great co workers to work with. they help one another. Each day you will learn more.One hard thing about the job is trying not to get behind because all workers are all fast and good workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all good place for entry level positions
Projects Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 3, 2017
Great place that offers advancement. Culture is great. People are very professional. From time to time, I had to do physical work. nothing major. Great place.
Pros
offers training
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Logistics Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Northlake, ILMarch 26, 2017
Good pay - culture is a little loose and mainly ran by the employees who control management. A lot of low hanging fruit and major changes to many policies to make this company to be ran better. I enjoyed it but frustrated,
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pleasant working environment.
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 17, 2017
My experience at Powell was interesting, and at the same time it was a good growing experience. I learned how to work with different people and different cultures because of the diversity in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Powell Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 82 reviews
529
418
322
25
18

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture