Powerhome Solar Employee Reviews

Showing all 69 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
Powerhome Solar selected this as a representative review
Great place to work
Sales Development Representative (Current Employee) –  Troy, MIJune 12, 2019
My experience with PHS has been phenomenal. Ever since my first day out of training, I felt a sense of family and community! These guys care about their employees and also about their customers. Powerhome Solar is also one of the highest paying jobs in the sales field with Excellent Commission and bonuses, in my opinion. I would recommend this company to anyone that is looking to have a fun sales career!
Pros
Free lunches; Bonuses; health Care; fun environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hope you don't like your family
Lead Technician/Installer (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJuly 18, 2019
Not a family environment got kids I would suggest find somewhere else late notice of mandatory out of town work with poor information of return.......
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Powerhome Solar
July 22, 2019

Hi there, as what happens in any job, sometime work takes precedent over family time, and as with any employer, we appreciate the flexibility our employees give us to get the job done when unique circumstances arise. Working outside of your typical state footprint is not a common occurrence. We know our associates value time with family, and we make sure to afford everyone those chances.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy hours, Poor leads.
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJuly 15, 2019
This is a commision only racket. You drive around the state to pre scheduled appointments (sometimes 3-4 hrs apart). These appointments are often poor quality leads sourced from facebook with misleading ads like " free energy" " goodbye to electric bills" etc. After You show up at an appointment, the customer expects you to offer "free" energy. Average workday is 12+ hrs (mostly driving or waiting for next appointment)
The competition (yellowlite solar) offers better products at a cheaper price. Very tough place to work. High turnover.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from Powerhome Solar
July 22, 2019

Hi there, I'm sorry that you did not see the value in working for the company. We tirelessly work to source quality leads for our sales team, and to characterize our ads as misleading is simply not true. It is true that days can be long for our sales team members because of the driving, but they also can make significant income when they learn how to sell solar. We have stars on our staff that are continuously atop our monthly leaderboards because they get it. Working for POWERHOME Solar is an opportunity for the right person, and we welcome people who want to make a difference in customers' lives, and in turn, their own lives. All the best as you pursue your next role.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work. Stay away.
Installer (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, MIJuly 11, 2019
I don't know were to start with this place, everyone is over paid. they got audited by OSHA. every thing is a big secret around here. bunch of young adults who don't get taught anything about electrical besides how to put solar panels in. people made fake emails in the company to get them fired because they didn't like them. I could tell some crazy stories but lets keep it minimal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from Powerhome Solar
July 15, 2019

Hi there, as with any construction company, OSHA conducts routine checks of our business, and that is nothing out of the ordinary. As for your other points, we respectfully disagree with all of them. We do all of our work within compliance standards. We have a very robust blog that details the happenings of the company. You'll see that our CEO has won Ernst & Young's Entrepreneur of the Year Award in the Southeast in the Emerging Services category, that our CFO is up for CFO of the Year, and that our business as a whole is pulling in accolades from people who are seeing what we are doing in building a movement of clean, green energy. We share those messages routinely with our employees, because we want everyone to be excited about the direction of our company. We wish you best of luck in the next stop of your career.

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blah
Interconnections coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mooresville, NCJuly 8, 2019
the most stressful place I worked all blame gets put on you whether it’s your fault or not and they give you false hope for advancement opportunity and compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Official response from Powerhome Solar
July 9, 2019

Hi there, we are sorry that POWERHOME's fast-paced environment wasn't what you wanted. We have high expectations of ourselves because we want to deliver for our customers in a timely manner. We're also very proud of our build-from-within culture. Opportunities are indeed here for people that deliver results. Best wishes in your next role.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full comission - no leads provided
Commercial & Industrial Accounts (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIJuly 5, 2019
No base, full commission, no leads. Responsible for developing all sales leads. Lead time from initial contact to sales closing was four to six months.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from Powerhome Solar
July 9, 2019

Hi there, yes, it is important to be a self-starter in working for our commercial division, and having that trait in any role is a way to generate the positive momentum you and your company desire. I hope your next role is a better fit for you and your talents.

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was stepping stone to the next chapter of my life
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Chester, VAJuly 1, 2019
I learn a lot about electrical work there . They have a long way to deal with management . The job is not hard . Sometimes for people in the office make it harder than it should be
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Powerhome Solar
July 9, 2019

Hello, thank you for sending us your feedback. We are happy that POWERHOME Solar gave you the opportunity to better yourself as an electrician. As for our management, we work within established guidelines to do the job that is needed for our customers. We are also proud that our CEO Jayson Waller has been named an Entrepreneur of the Year Southeast award winner by Ernst & Young. Every day, we get a little bit better. Thank you again for your work with POWERHOME Solar.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work at.
Installer (Former Employee) –  PAJune 26, 2019
No management. They do not tell the truth to customers. They tell them what they would want to here. Threaten to fire employees often. Constant swearing around shop. All need better management training. Immature.
Watch your pay check.
Pros
N/A. None
Cons
Hour lunch is not justified. Hour wasted in a day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Official response from Powerhome Solar
July 1, 2019

We are sorry that you had a bad experience in working for POWERHOME Solar. As one of the fastest-growing companies in the solar industry, we are constantly improving and rolling out additional training to give our managers and our associates the greatest amount of support possible to allow them to be successful at their jobs. We are proud of the gains we have made, and we will be even prouder with every improvement we make. We wish you all the best in the next stop of your career.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No time for family
Solar Installer (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJune 18, 2019
Management is a joke. Plays favorites. Worked 15 days straight! Wasnt allowed a day off or i was terminated. Was working 12-18 ours everyday. Paychecks were nice.
Cons
No family time...management was lacking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Powerhome Solar
July 1, 2019

Hi there, we understand how important family time is for all of our employees, and we strive to maintain that balance for all. Sometime our work calls for overtime, whether that be for reasons involving weather or holidays, but that is not the norm. It is important for us to maintain customer satisfaction, and we work within established employee guidelines to do that.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, lack of training
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Troy, MIJune 11, 2019
Admin managers are rude and do not train their employees, yet expect them to maintain "production".
Female managers, specifically, are petty, immature, unprofessional, and feel they need to enforce fear tactics in their employees to keep them working. Lol
Yah, this doesn't improve morale... FYI
Its all about numbers here so the owner can maintain his flamboyant sense of ??"style"??
The company is run by high school kids. Don't waste your time.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything. Prison like environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from Powerhome Solar
July 1, 2019

Hello there, we are sorry that your experience at POWERHOME was a disappointing one. However, we know that not everyone is a good fit to work at POWERHOME. As a rapidly-growing company, we have high standards to meet and set production guidelines to keep a level playing field among our employees. We are all asked to learn quickly and with agility, because we need people who can provide answers and solutions to meet the needs of our customers. We hope you find what you are looking for in your next role. All of our best to you.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect Job!
Inspector (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 7, 2019
Since I started working for Power Home I have loved everything about it. The management is very professional and listens to you when issues arise. The hours here can be a bit crazy but it's all worth it knowing you've done something that helps the earth and also makes your community happy. As long as you work well with others, work hard and are willing to learn your opportunities are endless! Thank you Powerhome!
Pros
Hours, Overtime, Travel, People
Cons
Sometimes things get stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Official response from Powerhome Solar
July 9, 2019

Thank you for your service with POWERHOME! We are so happy and proud that you're a part of our team. It's hard to name a company that doesn't have its crazy days, because sometimes that's what it takes to keep our customers happy and to build our credibility with new ones. We thank you for understanding that dedication really drives our business forward. Those who "get" the POWERHOME culture end up doing very well here. Thank you for "getting" us!

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Type C management
Foreman/Crew-lead (Former Employee) –  Valley View, OHJune 5, 2019
Management has no idea what a system install entails, they set unrealistic expectations for deadlines, 90 hours a week forced not a recipe for sustainability.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away, do not work here.
ELECTRICIAN (Former Employee) –  Valley View, OHMay 30, 2019
First week there, put in 90 hours in six days.
1 hour automatically taken out of your pay stub for lunch which your not allowed to leave site for (crew lead wants you to work all day).
The people that are in-charge make a schedule in NC and do not take into account weather in a different state(deal with nasty weather on a roof and still want the job done that day).
Managers NEVER work with one another.
They preach safety is number one but have us use damaged safety gear and tools (not the right tool for the job)

Only good part was learning how to put in solar arrays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
better check your paychecks
INTERCONNECTIONS SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Troy, MIMay 29, 2019
they offer you 1 hourly rate and then seem to hope you never notice that they have given you less in your paycheck. when you let them know it's wrong, you might be waiting up to 2 months or more for it to be corrected with back pay, of course, but in the mean time, you are stuck trying to pay your bills with less than you had budgeted for.
There is little to no training. You actually learn more from your coworkers and making mistakes than you do from any formal training.
Pros
coworkers are great and always willing to help you out
Cons
can't seem to pay people what they promise
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Culture
Energy Consultant (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMay 21, 2019
I joined the Pittsburgh PA team about 8 months and have had a very positive experience so far. The Pittsburgh team has been very supportive and the district manager has been extremely helpful. PowerHome Solar makes a real effort to give their sales people as much support as possible. This is the 3rd solar company that I've worked for and PowerHome is by far my favorite. They have an amazing comp plan / benefits and they have a great company culture.
Pros
Compensation, Flexibilty
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Field Energy Advisor (Former Employee) –  Mooresville, NCMay 21, 2019
I enjoyed the co-workers, management and customers of this company. The work was fairly easy, the staff was on point. The coffee could have been a bit stronger. Lol
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ehhh
Field Energy Consultant (Current Employee) –  Chester, VAMay 18, 2019
They changed the way they pay the employees very shortly after I was getting hired. I was told one thing in training, sold a few deals, and my check reflected something completely different. My check was SUBSTANTIALLY shorter than anticipated. No one reached out to make it right, nor said anything, just brushed under the rug. How do you expect to compete as a company if you’re punishing your employees for doing what they must to get the deal done?

Only positive thing that I can say so far is that my direct manager and assistant manager have been great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, a place where you’re shown your worth
Field Energy Consultant (Current Employee) –  Leland, NCMay 18, 2019
Power home solar is a fantastic place to work. I love the hours, the freedom, the pay, and my coworkers. It is truly the best job I’ve ever had. I would recommend working here to anyone.
Pros
Freedom, work with your own style
Cons
Long drives
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Leagues
Field Energy Consultant (Current Employee) –  VirginiaMay 17, 2019
Awesome company. We are treated like we are in the major leagues, we are compensated appropriately. We work hard and are expected to produce. We are at the top of our games.

Management wants us to succeed and we are given the tools we need to help our clients.
Pros
Compensations/benefits, Awesome company culture, Amazing product!
Cons
It can be a lot of driving. But everyone knows that going in. And we drive company vehicles with, a company gas card.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face Paced and Fun environment
Field Energy Consultant (Current Employee) –  Mooresville, NCMay 17, 2019
I’ve been working for Powerhome for just under a year and so far, it is the best job I’ve ever had. As long as you’re capable of managing yourself then you’ll have more freedom here than any other job. The pay is extraordinary but the people you work with is what makes it great! Everyone should work here, it’s that good.
Pros
Money, People, Work from home, Advancement
Cons
Driving time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced workplace to get people solar energy!
Field Consultant (Current Employee) –  Chester, VAMay 13, 2019
Aside from driving long hours in a car most days of the week, work is enjoyable. Meeting different families to get them set up with solar is exciting and challenging, never a dull moment. Coworkers are encouraging and communication is emphasized for support. Management is always available and between them and other coworkers, it really feels like a team because of how we all work together each day. Great benefits and pay, and its all to help people get renewable energy. I am happy to be a part of the movement!
Pros
Benefits, tranportation, and gas provided
Cons
Challenging and non-routine based job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Powerhome Solar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7
Based on 69 reviews
522
44
37
26
130

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.9Culture