Prairie Meadows Racetrack and Casino, Inc. Employee Reviews

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 43 reviews
Ratings breakdown
58
413
315
22
15
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 43 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Risky but fun environment
Casino Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IAJuly 13, 2018
Nice place to work if u love internment even on stress
Be focused what u doing no matter what type of customer u have. I miss working here i moved out of the state, if some how i move back i will work here
and they will hire me too because they know how i am .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere but terrible hours
EMT/Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IAJuly 10, 2018
It's an ok place to work in security. They mandate overtime weekly so you never have more than 1 day off a week. Management leaves a lot to be desired. The other employees are really friendly and helpful and the job is actually fun. It's the hours that stink.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patrons were great and some felt like friends
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IAJune 19, 2018
Always felt like was under a microscope. like employees were being watched more than the patrons. There is also way too much favoritism. If you make one mistake they will bring up every little thing they can to get rid of you.
Pros
Friendships
Cons
Favoritism. If you don't suck up to supervisors your a nobody
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Securtiy Officer (Current Employee) –  Altoona, IAMay 9, 2018
Great place to work with fun environment. Great team atmosphere as well as a professional environment to help further your goals. Work hours can be hectic but not without compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast
Cocktail Server (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IAMay 6, 2018
Great place to work fun people and loved the money loved the fast pace life style and my manager was amazing also i loved working with the fun eventful people
Pros
Tips
Cons
Long hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Investment
Several Positions (Current Employee) –  Altoona, IAMay 4, 2018
Overall, working at Prairie Meadows is very stressful and is one very large commitment in order to work there. My life outside of work had to take a major hold as I was entirely focused on my job with very little room for much else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits, Poor Management
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Altoona, IAMarch 13, 2018
Most feel as though the upper management team are not truly concerned with the staff. "Everyone can be replaced" mentality. Leadership by example does not exist.
Pros
Benefits, training, great HR department
Cons
micro management, lack of concern for staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work.
Horsemans bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IAMarch 8, 2018
A wide variety of opportunities and great fellow employees. Liked working and interacting with the patrons. Open 24/7 so any shift is available to work.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with
TV Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IAFebruary 24, 2018
There are a lot of tasks involved with the position and it is always great to know that there are people who will go out of their way to make sure that everything is going well.
Pros
Great team, great equipment to use, flexible on schedule with notice
Cons
over multi-tasking duties to do at once. Racing season does not let you get many weekends off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Manager (Current Employee) –  Altoona, IAFebruary 5, 2018
Fast paced, high stress in a constantly changing environment. Great benefits. Management staff is hard working and cares about the quality of work, culture and customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Mail Clerk/R & D Clerk/Dual Rate Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IAJanuary 30, 2018
I had a great experience at the casino. Loved the people I worked with. I left because they passed on me for a supervisor role. It was a blessing in disguise though because it forced me to go back to college and finish my degree. Now I'm almost finished with a Master's!
Pros
fun co-workers, exciting work
Cons
advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor treatment from management
Hotel Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IADecember 7, 2017
Management was so impersonable. Felt like just a number. Terrible morale. Security way too strict. Treats employees like criminals. Have to use a finger print just to clock in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underpaid for what you do and never get time with your family.
Main Banker (Current Employee) –  Altoona, IASeptember 27, 2017
Spend eight hours dealing with an immature manager and doing way too much for way too little pay. Working unfair hours dealing with cranky customers. Only good thing about my job is that the newest head supervisor actually wants to change the way things are run.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Great benefits but not easy to advancement employment.
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IASeptember 14, 2017
I worked with a variety of people and was able to learn about different cultures. Job was easy enough and the pay was good. Management could have been better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast weekend evenings, consistent hours, set routine schedule
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IASeptember 7, 2017
Would get in after noon for the shift and leave late evening. Had no prior experience of Security but soon came to learn multiple skills in the field. Had the responsibilities of the staff and guests safety. During the week it was slow, but weekends flooded with people. The structure of the building made it hard to maintain what was required of our staff in security.
Some of the employees staffed were difficult in working with, but made it work. Hardest parts of the job were sometimes standing in one spot for almost a constant eight hours whilst keeping eye on many keen details. Also handling guests who did not want to cooperate in an environment that was loud and crowded.
Enjoyed most about the job was the teamwork that was needed to get most work done. Also meeting a lot of people through staff or guest of the town.
Pros
Multiple times for breaks, had each other's backs, consistent hours
Cons
never made more than 40 hours, low pay, smoke environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor workplace
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IAAugust 24, 2017
This job was terrible. Harsh working environment and a high turnover rate do to security employees being thrown under the bus for anything that goes wrong. Very stressful and not worth the pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting workplace, could use lots of improvement
Hotel Front Desk Agent, Security Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IAAugust 10, 2017
Each department has great management mixed with absolutely horrible management. Rules are considered universal but seem to be pretty relative to each department. It is quite rare for ANY employee to have Monday through Friday day hours. It is almost impossible without a degree and huge salary. All positions are paid quite well. The hours will always suck. Working here will take all your time away from your friends and family.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
Poor management, horrible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a decent place.
Slot Technician (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IAJuly 16, 2017
The work environment was nice. There was many opportunities in the property. However there was quite a bit of favoritism. The health care was great. There was separate treatment for the various shifts.
Pros
Health care
Cons
no oppertunities for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job with excellent benefits
Main Banker/Dual Rate Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IAJune 27, 2017
A good place to work, with excellent benefits. It is a 24/7 company so if that does not work for you this is not the job for you. But if you like a job that is not too difficult and pays well this is for you
Pros
Excellent benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i would not recommend this place to work
Prep Cook/Salad Bar (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IAMay 18, 2017
this was not the place for me to work . it started out days in which I was told i would be working and then added night in which i did not want to work. had to work every holiday and every weekend. The kitchen had to many supervisior in which none of them communicated with each other about placement of employee. they were very rude. they all need to take a class on how to treat their employees. i would never go back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1`
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report