Presbyterian Church USA Employee Reviews

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 9 reviews
Ratings breakdown
52
42
33
22
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 9 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I do not recommend this place for employment
xxx (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 31, 2018
Good Benefits, but company is having problems. They have good paid vacation time and benefits, The work environment is average. Everyone seems to get along.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Data Entry/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYNovember 16, 2017
I enjoyed working for PCUSA. The only reason I left was because it was a contracted position. It was a laid back environment that focused on employee empowerment.
Pros
flexible scheduling, faith based organization
Cons
contract job and no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They lay off often and don't pay into unemployment insurance.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYOctober 30, 2016
Most employees are friendly. It's nice that they offer 4 days off per month of your choice before the work schedule is final.
Pros
Nice part time schedule.
Cons
Strict regarding recording calls or emails on the computer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the legal work I did and worked with a great team of people.
Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYSeptember 27, 2016
I enjoyed working here; however, there was talk of a layoff coming up. (After I'd been there for 5 years.) I felt I may be affected, as there were discussions of restructuring the legal department. About the same time I came to the realization that I wanted to work in a place where I could make a difference in people's lives, either directly or indirectly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant politics and change, with goalposts moving daily
Shared Services Management (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYMay 28, 2016
Management changes; goal changes; not much professionalism abounding. But there are faith and hope by many employees.
Pros
Many of the missions and people are wonderful. God is a focus for many in the organization.
Cons
Politics rules. No professionalism; zero career growth; lack of organizational stability.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintaining documents necessary for the functioning of the designated group.
Coordinator for SWAN Presbyterian Church (USA) (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 18, 2016
Providing information to the Churches within the Synod of Southern California and Hawaii. Functioning as the liaison between the designated group and the Synod of Southern California and Hawaii.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed both my coworkers and church members that interacted with.
Credit/Collection Clerk (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYApril 14, 2014
Most of my time was spent entering information into the computer system and assisting church member via both the telephone and written correspondence.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't be fooled.by.church this is a corporation
not shared (Current Employee) –  Louisville KyOctober 10, 2012
Great benefits you won't find anywhere else! Nutty managerswho never have supervised employees....expect to work like a slave because of budget cuts and layoffs....layoffs in May are a spring ritual...working environment varies by department...usually casual or business casual dress...you don't have to be presbyterian or Christian for that matter at certain levels to work here but expect prayer the beginning and ending of meetings and functions and optional chapel daily. Sounds like a church...trust me it's a business
Pros
benefits
Cons
no job security / layoffs every year, workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Presbyterian Church USA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Presbyterian Church USA Reviews by Location