Presbyterian/St. Luke's Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 25 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid off
Radiology Transcriptionist (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJuly 10, 2018
I was laid off from the company after years of dedicated work. Apparently this company no longer wanted to pay for quality work on their medical reports.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff raffles,indoor games and group discussion with Continous Nursing Education
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMay 9, 2018
Annual luncheon for all staff and family in the city and amazement parks.Once two months Pot luck for amongst staff in the department,
Hardest part of my Job was taking care of a patient under general Anaesthesia with Surgeons grampy about missing equipment
Pros
Free snacks by Surgeons and Nursing Department
Cons
Old and Poor marl functioning equipments/instrument intra operatively
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 23, 2017
my favorite part about working in this hospital is the people there. everyone is so nice. this job is awesome because your office is basically the entire hospital. you go all over the different towers and floors to retrieve your samples. everyone is so happy to help eachother at this place. highly, highly reccomend this place for work.
Pros
fun atmosphere, lots of walking
Cons
part time doesnt include benefits package
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love patient care
Cardiac Rehabilitation Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJune 18, 2017
I enjoyed working independently and being responsible for my own department. The hardest part of my job was the feeling of my department not being valued because it was not a "money maker", although it was very valued by the physicians and the patients. The most enjoyable part of my job was helping patients regain/maintain their health. I also enjoyed working with the hospice patient and family to develop their goals of care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work needs a little help
Evening Lead Sterile Processing Tech (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJune 14, 2017
most enjoyable part of the job is staff
hardest part working during construction
I learned how to be flexible in very trying situations
I learned how to be a substitute manager on the fly
I learned ho to make the best of a very difficult work environment during the 2 years of construction we have been going through.
Pros
employee wellness center
Cons
direct management or lack there of
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Coordinator
Case Management Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJune 13, 2017
I loved working at Presbyterian St. Luke's they are like a family. A lot of changes have been made. They need to be quicker about hiring people and calling them for interviews.
Pros
Nice place to work
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surgery Sales
Surgery Sales (Former Employee) –  Denver, COApril 18, 2017
Extreme pressure to meet numbers. HCA only cares about the bottom number. They pretend to care about patients but administration only cares about getting their large bonuses. The pressure starts from the top and falls on your head as a sales rep. The hospitals are conservative and are not conforming to the changes in health care as they make more profits on readmissions. The surgery sales role is very pressured with all responsibility falling on your shoulders. The CEO is not respectful and HCA has a high turn over rate. Very high.
Cons
Extreme pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Denver, COMarch 16, 2017
PSL is a great facility because they really do care about not only patient satisfaction, but employee satisfaction. It has a small hospital feel and you feels like you know everyone there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 14Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Administrative Assistant II (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 14, 2016
I have been an employee for over 40 years and have worked in three different departments.

I have enjoyed the three sections of my work experiences. Many have been rewarding and others although challenging -- gave me the work experience that I need to grow.

Campus is large, and continues to expand ... I love the changes and love to be a part of these changes.

Staff and healthcare team are concern for their patients, community as well as each other and their staff members.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad place to work
Staff Nurse Women's Care (Former Employee) –  Denver, CODecember 6, 2016
Very ill moms with never enough help. Manager believed in all RN staff but could have used CNA to take vitals, make beds etc.. due to our sick population. Charge nurses would tattle on staff instead of helping them out. Very inexperienced charge nurses. It is a for-profit hospital which means they are worried about he bottom dollar and not the patient. Nurses were made to punch out for lunch even if they worked thru lunch while charting and eating.
Pros
non
Cons
listed above.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slave drivers
Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee) –  Denver, COOctober 23, 2016
You will be worked to death if you accept a job in the radiology department. Non-stop for 12hrs, you're lucky if you get a lunch break. No regard for your family/personal life. Compensation is minimal. No one cares if you're actually good at your job because it's all about numbers and patient satisfaction scores. Management exhibits extreme favoritism; advancement opportunities are non existent (except for the favorites)
Pros
working with adults & children
Cons
everything in my review
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job-- until they decide to move you
Medical Lab Scientist (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJune 4, 2016
Started off being a fun place to work.

But now, they are looking at bringing quest into the lab to "consolidate". Management doesn't understand that this will be a bad thing for patient care.

I can't wait to return to non-profit hospitals.
All they can see here is the bottom line.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
Management makes stupid decisions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Began as a great place to work but ended up being toxic
Administrative Assistant/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMay 10, 2016
When they started caring only about their bottom line and did anything to get rid of high producing employees is when PSL became a miserable place to work. Totally under staffed, they abused salaried workers and were utterly indifferent to their needs. Bullying environment.
Pros
Good soda machines in the cafeteria
Cons
Terrible administration and gossiping management
Was this review helpful?Yes 23NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work!
RRT (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMay 5, 2016
HORRIBLE PLACE TO WORK!!!!
Understaffed all the time, which leads to overworked staff getting burnt out QUICK! This place is all about the money and NOT quality patient care. WORST place I have ever worked.
Management is terrible, hiring non qualified people to be managers of departments is absurd.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Understaffed daily, Management is horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep your mouth shut
RN, BSN (Former Employee) –  Women's CareFebruary 26, 2016
I worked on the women's care unit and after 8 months I told the manager I rather work at McDonalds. Not enough staff, unsafe practices. Charge nurses who were inexperienced. Had to punch out for lunch but worked through it to be able to get out on time. Terrible place. Don't complain, or the "spies" will tell the manager.
Pros
None
Cons
No ancillary staff to help with pt care, inexperienced charge nurses. Manager who can't take hearing anything negative about the work load
Was this review helpful?Yes 30NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RNs Beware
Staff RN (Former Employee) –  Denver, COFebruary 16, 2016
Fact: This hospital is one of the lowest ranked hospitals in the Denver area. Patient safety means nothing to incompetent nurse managers. They staff the units according to a money-making "matrix" and throw the overburdened floor nurse under the bus when something goes wrong. And things go wrong a lot. It's a broken system. As a floor nurse, expect to use your hard-earned BSN constantly emptying trashcans and stocking supplies while monitoring EKGs and standing in the bathroom with patients, sometimes for hours. (Janitors and CNAs are quite sparse.) Coworkers can be nice, but you'll be singled out by managers if you don't keep your head down--way down--and smile, smile, smile.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
Clueless, m-e-a-n nurse managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Dietary Technician (Former Employee) –  Denver, CODecember 6, 2015
Great co-workers. The most enjoyable part is interacting with patients and families. The hardest part is having to go over a diet order that the patient doesn't agree with.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Lack of support from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job, and was sad to leave it!
Unit Secretary (Former Employee) –  Denver, COOctober 9, 2015
Great place to work, but benefits and salary were below expectations. Really loved my job and working with patients and staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great positive culture
Director of Risk Management & Patient Safety (Current Employee) –  Denver, COSeptember 5, 2015
PSL is always striving to be the best in the healthcare world. They have a vibrant Culture of Excellence program and truly want to be the best.
Pros
Positive work environment
Cons
Always more work than time in the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 19Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not RN friendly
RN (Current Employee) –  DenverJuly 18, 2015
If they are offering a sign-on bonus... there's a reason. Tragically incompetent orientation. Passive aggressive management. Poor compensation (those sign-on bonuses are coming from existing staff salaries). Very much a "blame the nurse" culture. The physicians aren't present on the floors. You will never be able to use your PTO.
Pros
Location
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 48No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Presbyterian/St. Luke's Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 25 reviews
59
41
35
23
17

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
2.9Culture

Presbyterian/St. Luke's Medical Center Reviews by Location