Price Chopper Supermarkets Employee Reviews

Found 1,182 reviews matching the search See all 1,186 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Bakery Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  New Windsor, NYNovember 9, 2018
Good temporary job for students. Management is tough but nice (they want to see happy employees and customers). Fun place to work and meet new people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cohoes, NYNovember 7, 2018
I’m sure other stores are better to work at then the one I was working at. I was considered a supervisor of cashiers that were making the same amount of money as I did.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pice chopper
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  Utica, NYNovember 7, 2018
is a good company they work with your with you in case you have to go to church and you cold not work they help you. i live my jb because i was having helth problems
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy part-time job
Cashier / Customer Service Teammate (Current Employee) –  Worcester, MANovember 7, 2018
It is a good part-time job for a high school or college student to earn a few extra bucks. The teammates are friendly and kind and it is an overall fun work environment most times.
Pros
paid break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and chilled workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Grandview, MONovember 6, 2018
The staff can definitely be friendly and they definitely have good teamwork. I’d say the hardest part of the job is definitely adapting to a quick-pace. The most enjoyable part of the job is maintaining those good relationships with your coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pays well but loss of personal life
Manager (Current Employee) –  Shrewsbury, MANovember 6, 2018
Always on call, inconsistent hours, last minute calls for overnight shifts, some nights have to work and then be back early next morning, have to work holidays, weekends. The work and the pay are not bad at all but the job is very stressful and payroll cuts are made elsewhere.
Pros
pay, benefits, work is fast-paced, teamwork
Cons
no time for breaks, hours inconsistent, stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pruductive learning experience
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Slingerlands, NYNovember 5, 2018
Good career starter friendly environment, learning experience that i enjoyed. I would however not recommended this job long term due to the lack in advancment opportunitys.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work.
Deli Food Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Malta, NYNovember 4, 2018
Executives in the corporate offices take advantage of store level employees and store level management. It was impossible to have a personal life as a manager at price chopper, due to the lack and poor help that was hired. The uncompetive wages they offered to part timers cause awful, unreliable help to apply and get hired. I would not recommend this job to anyone, and this is coming from someone that worked with price chopper for 13 years.
Pros
Benefits and paid time off
Cons
No help and awful work conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face paced and easy place to work.
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ogdensburg, NYNovember 3, 2018
I liked working at price chopper. The work was fairly easy. They need better people to train the employees. The hours were good and flexible if i needed them to be.
Pros
Close to home, friendly environment.
Cons
Breaks were sometimes not given.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Associate (Current Employee) –  Colonie, NYNovember 1, 2018
The environment is unprofessional and the lack of benefits and employee appreciation is in a concerning deficit the managers are rude and set a bad example for future employees to adequately conform to the work enviorment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work meet good people
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Colonie, NYOctober 28, 2018
I enjoyed working at price choppers if i can work there again that would be great always fun people meeting new people trying new deli meats and cheeses good environment nice people and managers and co workers.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low hours
Pizza Maker (Former Employee) –  Derby, VTOctober 27, 2018
they don't really give you a whole lot of hours at first only a little some at the end of each day or a little in the morning great for a high school student bad for a adult
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some what happy
Supervisor, clerk (Current Employee) –  Derby, VTOctober 25, 2018
The one thing I'm not impressed by is that when a new hire starts they make almost as much as me and I have been there for 10 years. I feel if minimum wage goes up then existing employees wages should go up by the same amount. They also do not give employees any discounts..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Stocker/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Windsor, CTOctober 19, 2018
my job was a overnight stocker so i really dont know how the place was ran but from my experience it was a good job for me and i enjoyed the people and managers that i worked with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's work
Seafood Clerk (Current Employee) –  Plalitin nyOctober 17, 2018
It's a good place to work but with the cost of living it's difficult to live because of how much time you get for the week. But you keep learning new things.
Pros
You can earn gift cards
Cons
Sometimes you can do everything for customers but they can still be not satisfied with your work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a okay place to work
Team Lead/ CSM (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSOctober 13, 2018
Great place other than the fact the manager at the time was so careless and never really took time out to get know her workers she was very judgmental etc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as you advance your career
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Catskill, NYOctober 9, 2018
I worked for Price CHopper for 6 years while I was in college. I became a supervisor after a year and a half. I loved the job, though the pay was very poor and they did not offer full time positions to anyone except department managers. It was a great learning experience and it looks great on a resume. The management was poor and an old store manager was clearly biased and played favorites with the younger girls which was extremely inappropriate. The department management was decent depending on which department you were in
Pros
good first job
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned much information in the pharmacy setting.
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Dunmore, PAOctober 9, 2018
When I entered the pharmacy, I was immediately embraced and trained/coached to be a pharmacy technician. After many months, I felt confident in my abilities and eventually become certified, where I was allowed and given more responsibilities. Currently, I have the highest responsibility among all part time workers in the pharmacy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was ok8
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Glens Falls, NYOctober 4, 2018
It was stressful at time but we alll worked together so it made the day go ,y faster and we had a great team. I miss myfr iends from there. I would recommend this job to my friends
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Breaks and paid vaccions
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYOctober 4, 2018
it was and ok place. to low of hours and pay other that its ok. lot of lazy people wont go back looking for something better people dont mined they bussness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Price Chopper Supermarkets. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,186 reviews
5272
4332
3355
2140
187

See reviews about

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

Women's ratings

4.5Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss