Princeton University Employee Reviews

Found 141 reviews matching the search See all 143 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are becoming to corporate
Senior Enterprise Application Administrator (Former Employee) –  Princeton, NJNovember 2, 2018
It was supposed to be higher ed and not a corporation, so if you are going to be in a position of corporate climate then you should get paid corporate salary
Pros
great people close to ho, e
Cons
manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
ASSOCIATE PROFESSIONAL SPECIALIST & MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Princeton, NJSeptember 18, 2018
projects are both challenging and fun and they have a great group of people in the lab. Management is good about promotions, i was promoted 3x from within.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Facilities and Maintenance
Facilties (Former Employee) –  Princeton, NJSeptember 17, 2018
My summer job at Princeton University was great. I enjoyed learning about the facility and working outside. There was a great group of employees that made each day enjoyable. The houts were 6:00am - 2:30 pm daily so the rest of the day was mine. The heat was tough but we all got use to it. I recommend working hard and outdoors at least once in a persons life.
Pros
Great staff, good hours
Cons
Outdoor temperatures could be very hot on summer days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Social Media Intern (Former Employee) –  Princeton, NJSeptember 6, 2018
The coaching staff is great they really teach you a lot and give an opportunity to people. you will learn a lot about wrestling and how hard the team works.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Painter assitant (Former Employee) –  Princeton, NJSeptember 4, 2018
i enjoyed being employed by Princeton U. it was a great experience the people were great and so was the job. i would recommend the job to any and everybody.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity among staff, great benefits
CUSTODIAN (Current Employee) –  Princeton, NJAugust 28, 2018
My typical day is busy!!! I have a regular routine that consists of emptying trash, cleaning bathrooms, showers, cleaning common areas, i.e., kitchen, general custodian duties. Moving of furniture/equipment. Provide assistance to coworkers in other buildings.

The benefits are great. I am provided with a medical coach due to a medical illness. My time off, i.e., vacation is adequate and provides me with time away.
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but depends on your leadership
Director of Internal Audit (Current Employee) –  Princeton, NJAugust 15, 2018
At the highest levels, Princeton Univ is driven by integrity and respect. Depending on where you work, you can have a great experience or a terrible one.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Students are routinely abused.
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Princeton, NJAugust 13, 2018
Unrealistic expectations of graduate students mixed with an arcane, ambiguous set of requirements. Professors have no regard for students and the administration is detached from reality. Labs are expected to raise their own young, absent of professor guidance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Work-Study Opportunities
Blogger (Former Employee) –  Princeton, NJJuly 17, 2018
Interesting work study opportunities (not just call center or food halls)
Pay was great
Lots of independence and flexible work hours (could work early in morning/late at night)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student Job
Firestone Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Princeton, NJJuly 14, 2018
Had an on-campus job that was well paid and very relaxed. The manager was nice and the schedule was flexible. You could sign up for as many or as few hours as you wanted.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Work Place
Manager (Current Employee) –  building servicesJuly 14, 2018
Union only supports negative behavior from union members. Union does not work with the University management to promote unity. Union members believe the University is there for them first and the students second.
Pros
Benefits, Job Security
Cons
Union, Senior Management not in-touch with mid level managers, operations managers are not supported from all areas
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Maintenance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Princeton, NJJuly 11, 2018
I loved it here. The clients that you work with makes it difficult at times. Management/ Supervisors was fair. Meeting and working with some of the students and learning somethings about them and their struggles was enjoyable.
Pros
work environment was not stressful at all
Cons
long periods of idle time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Princeton
Manager (Current Employee) –  Princeton, NJJuly 11, 2018
Not a corporate environment, less progressive, slow and steady. Takes time for one to adjust to decision by committee and lack of autonomy. Can be challenge at first. Mission to provide a world class education and environment for students and faculty to thrive is well understood.
Pros
Collegial atmosphere
Cons
Slow decision making
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Princeton University is a wonderful and exciting place to work
Web Services Manager, Woodrow Wilson School (Former Employee) –  Princeton, NJJune 19, 2018
Working in an academic environment is a wonderful opportunity. The resources available and energy level from the students and professors is extremely powerful. I was able to grow professionally and acquire as many skills as I could possible absorb during the time that I worked there. I feel privileged to have had that opportunity and to have known the people that I worked with.
Pros
Amazing working environment and abundance of resources available
Cons
The amount of knowledge and resources is humbling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good experience
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Princeton, NJJune 18, 2018
Great opportunity to interact with students and faculty from all over the world with excellent knowledge and education background, but there was no career advancement within the job I was in.
Pros
great faculty, students
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good place to grow
Office Support III - University Services (Former Employee) –  Princeton, NJJune 12, 2018
I learned a lot about computers, Leaned independence, and to be a team player. Princeton is very diverse, very stable employment. Good benefits and they match your 401K contribution.
Pros
Lots of time off
Cons
Becoming corporate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was not a Fan
Project Controls Specialist (Former Employee) –  Princeton, NJJune 6, 2018
They did not have a clue how to do project scheduling or cost control. I would not recommend if you are in the construction management industry and have worked in large construction companies to work at this University.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work and grow
Telephone Operator/Office Support (Current Employee) –  Office of Information TechnologyMay 1, 2018
Very interesting job fast past must have a open mind you're there to work learn about the difference programs and student faculty and completely workers willing to help out were needed the work was very rewarding I wouldn't have changed anything about Princeton University I loved working there.
Pros
Free parking had access to different department activity had access to different seminar
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Princeton - great education and careers
Designer (Current Employee) –  Princeton, NJApril 13, 2018
Princeton is an amazing place to learn and work. There are so many opportunities to advance your learning and knowledge outside of your normal role that you are hired for. People are proud to work here and it shows in your everyday interactions with staff.
Pros
Great benefits and more casual culture than corporate world
Cons
Raises are somewhat less than inflation sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and family friendly workplace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Princeton, NJApril 11, 2018
The most enjoyable part of the job is that the campus is beautiful and historical. It is located in an area with plenty of choices for lunch. In addition, if you need a break from your job, you can spend your lunch break walking around campus. work-life balance classes are offered for free and they are very helpful. Benefits are great. Work load wasn't stressful at all.
Pros
Work-life balance classes, free flu shots, family events, 36.25 hour work week
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Princeton University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 143 reviews
577
444
313
26
13

See reviews about

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.1Culture

Women's ratings

3.5Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

67%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss