Principal Financial Group Employee Reviews

Found 210 reviews matching the search See all 310 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic work environment
IT Analyst (Former Employee) –  IADecember 24, 2018
There is no joy when working for this company. You can not contradict the opinions of your leader or you will be punished for it. Up to and including termination. I was walked out 13 days before Christmas for no reason.
Pros
None
Cons
Low pay, unfair treatment, extremely poor leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still a big corporate environement
Technical Scrum Master/(Team Leader) (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IADecember 23, 2018
As much as Principal tries to be a "hip" place to work at, it is certainly still a corporate environment. Depending on which department you end up, will determine who much flexibility you have. Overall, still a decent place to work at.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Build
Leader (Current Employee) –  United StatesNovember 13, 2018
In my opinion, this company is one of the best when it comes to helping someone start their own business in Financial Services and build it to a point that it is a retirement asset. They really do care about the advisors AND their clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good flexibility and resources
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IANovember 12, 2018
In an advisor role, you have a very flexible work environment because you are essentially your own boss. Principal provides a nice array or resources in this model that will help you close business. They also provide a Statutory Employee structure which allows a W2 benefit model. This helps reduce tax liabilities for the self employed.
Pros
Good flexibility and sales resources
Cons
Not much financial runway when starting a new career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
CSR (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAOctober 26, 2018
Workers were friendly and company would have parties, food days and games. Insurance was moderate. Parking was awful not allowing enough spaces or lots for all of it's people.
Pros
Extras like parties
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place - Mundane - limited advancement
Claims Analyst (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAOctober 23, 2018
Great benefits, Lot of PTO
working like a rat in a wheel
clean environment
if you like to do the same thing day in and day out this is for you
with limited advancement
but overall decent for what it is
Pros
clean work environment, pension, good food, decent pay and benefits
Cons
managers depending on department, limited advancement even though they say this is a big thing it is not, small cubicles, dressing up to Impress NO ONE ( hopefully this has changed)
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and stressful
Princor Specialist (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAOctober 14, 2018
I worked for Principal for a very long time and have been gone for fourteen years.
During my time, I thoroughly enjoyed meeting and working with a lot of different people from lots of different cultures and nationalities. I found that to be a real privilege for me.
The management people that I worked for strived to be fair.
Pros
friendly
Cons
high stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unknown
MARKETING/RELATIONSHIP MANAGEMENT CONTRACT (Former Employee) –  Addison, TXOctober 11, 2018
Financial services company, I have nothing bad to say about them, they treated me quite well in the position that I was in. Unfortunately my personal situation would not allow me to continue.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Manager from Voya came in and completely ruined the company culture.
Marketing Associate (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IAOctober 9, 2018
New Manager from Voya came in and completely ruined the company culture. He was rude and did not have any clue on how to properly manage a team let alone himself. He was late, he was rude, he was belittling and continually checks up on female coworkers social media accounts for his own pleasure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and rewarding work experience
Investment Advisor (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IASeptember 21, 2018
Enjoyed my time at Principal. The work was challenging but rewarding. I was able to work with some outstanding co-workers and clients. I would recommend to others.
Pros
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PFG Culture Less Friendly
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IASeptember 13, 2018
Culture is 180 degrees different from prior to the company going public. Somewhat understandable because of the pressure of being a public company, but not as enjoyable of a place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better than some
Investment Advisor Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 22, 2018
Fast paced environment. Flexible with non-proprietary products. Non-captive. No day-to-day pressure, but annual minimum production requirements.

Friendly environment. You choose your work/life balance. Commission only but with good benefits- health, dental, FSA, life insurance, 401k with matching.

Dated technology. Restrictive home office.
Pros
401k with match, Fsa
Cons
Commission, select agents were given house accounts, stodgy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you want a flexible schedule
Financial Representative (Former Employee) –  Iola, TXAugust 16, 2018
Allowed to work from home if necessary. Lots of training and continuing education available. Very flexible work schedule, ability to move at your own pace as long as goals are met.
Pros
Autonomy
Cons
Not much mentorship
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed
Project Analyst (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAAugust 9, 2018
I was only there a short time. My job was all about meetings.

I was contract. The project completed earlier than anticipated.

I noticed that the distinction between contract and Principal Employee was more clear there than anywhere else I have worked.

The environment was super relaxed. My time there was too short to be a great measure.
Pros
flexible schedule with remote work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peaceful, fun
New Business Specialist (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAJuly 18, 2018
It was a great place training was fun. Less supervision. A lot of trust worthy management. They have growth but I was a contractor I wish I could have been full time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense and educational work
Sr. Pension Systems Technician (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAJuly 4, 2018
Working here I learned a lot about the insurance business from the inside. I enjoyed most of my co-workers. After having my children I wanted to spend more time with my children and less time at work.
Pros
Benefits, Pay, Parking...
Cons
distance from my home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, professional place to work
Benefits Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Grand Island, NEJune 14, 2018
Assisting clients via interenet and phone, educating about polices and the company website, making changes to accounts. Direct customer interaction. Helping customers a big plus.
Pros
Pto
Cons
Scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what would make being a rep better
Registered Representative /Broker (Current Employee) –  Maitland, FLJune 13, 2018
they could offer a longer base salary for new hire reps. They could also train better. The could hire from within a bit better. The commission structure could improve also
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
no financial stability offered while trying to grow your book of business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong culture
Senior Investment Analyst (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IAJune 4, 2018
A lot of effort has been made to improve the culture at the company and it has paid off. New branding has seemed to take hold. Overall a good firm in a great city.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
New Business Associate (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAMay 29, 2018
The team I was on was great until I met the manager. She seemed nice at the start but than something changed and no matter what I could do nothing seemed right in her eyes. There was just a lot of things going unnoticed and when I brought things to her attention nothing was getting done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Principal Financial Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 310 reviews
5120
496
360
217
117

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture

Women's ratings

3.2Fairygodboss Score

0%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss