Professional Placement Services Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dangerous employer with broken and faulty equipment.
Slitter Operator (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHApril 14, 2018
My review is from the eyes of a recruit. I worked through PPS as a slitter operator and not directly for the company. The place that I worked was a joke, a very serious joke. This place had nothing that worked, even the overhead cranes!!!! Rule number one for a crane is NEVER walk under a suspended load. Here you had to because of all the trash and debris that cluttered the space. There was a narrow path between the 60” slitter and a cut to length line with a crane on a pendulum. Then this crane broke down (there’s a shocker) and the only other crane had absolutely no brakes. There is no clear walkway, emergency exits, PPE, tools, nothing. And it’s like pulling teeth to try to get ANYTHING you need to get the work done. I advise anyone to NOT PURSUE the slitter operator job in Canton, Ohio. It’s a very dangerous and disastrous place.
Pros
Pretty flexible with work hours, especially saturdays.
Cons
Just read my review again. You’ll get the picture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, great work environment
Payroll Accountant (Former Employee) –  Brook Park, OHMarch 26, 2018
I enjoyed working with the company. Increased my knowledge and accounting skills. Very productive willing to train and had excellent environment. Would love working with them again.
Pros
Vacation
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile Work Environment
Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHJanuary 31, 2018
While working at PPS I learned a great deal about the world of professional recruiting. I enjoyed the interaction with candidates and helping them identify whether or not pursuing a particular opportunity was best for their career path. I liked to partner with a candidate to uncover not only their skills, but also their goals and desires for the future to determine if the opportunity in question was the right fit for them and their family, as well as determining if it would be a good fit for my customer.

However, when employed by this company I felt a great deal of belittlement of employees, both veterans of the industry and new hires looking to build a promising career. With only 4 offices that are operational and only 20 or so employees, the level of treatment that those not in management deal with day to day can be stressful. If looking to work for this company, please understand that you will need thick skin. You will be treated as if you are a number and your successes will not matter. It is a top heavy company that will not respect your opinions, nor your successes. You will not be treated with respect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Liaison (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 18, 2017
fun work place, a company I can learn and grow with. Getting the job done in a timely manner. There is no hard part about my job its all about progressing.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
shirt breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 11Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be very careful with this company
Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Parma, OHJune 15, 2017
This company is OK but is VERY critical of anyone who comes in the door. They have some decent positions for people looking for work. Small company, not much room to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family type enviorment
Collection Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIDecember 14, 2016
Good Place to work, safe work place, they treat their employees well. Management works well with employees, and great trainer! The company offers chances to win gift cards and monthly commissions as well.
Pros
good work enviorment
Cons
better pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 11Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Words cannot express how rude these people are.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHSeptember 9, 2016
Snide comments off to the side on the phone.

Questions that fished for answers they shouldnt be asking

Wasting my gas without a care in the world

Not going to bat for anyone

Dropping people for others at the drop of the time

AVOID.
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Showed up, Worked, Got Paid
Millwright (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHJanuary 24, 2016
Not about to say what happened to other people isn't true.

But the one assignment I had with them went perfect. Nothing bad to say about them.

-Showed up to work
-Was offered an advance after 2 days (which I declined)
-Paycheck was overnighted to me

-I would definitely work for them again
Pros
Paid On Time
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 15Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
These people are scum bags
Applicant (Former Employee) –  Solon ohioMarch 5, 2015
They have you waste your time and gas driving all over the place. Then the pps recruiter trashed my reputation to prospective employer. This place is extremely unprofessional and slandered my reputation.
Pros
There are none
Cons
This temp agency will screw you and discriminate
Was this review helpful?Yes 139No 15Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quiet work place with great clients
Collector (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIApril 28, 2014
I didn't like working 3rd shift but overall it was an ok place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 30Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not apply here
factory worker (Former Employee) –  factory workerNovember 15, 2013
I was told to report to Malleys chocalates. I was there on time. 20 of us were told that we were not needed. Wasted my gas and time.
Pros
none
Cons
this is a fake temp agency.
Was this review helpful?Yes 94No 14Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot Of HOT air
logistics (Former Employee) –  akron ohioNovember 5, 2013
This company likes to puff up themselves that they have an inside into companies.....well they talk alot but deliver little. Mostly a waste of time......not to mention they never get back to you on status....
Pros
none
Cons
waste of time
Was this review helpful?Yes 87No 19Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Akon, OhAugust 23, 2012
Scourced candidates, follow up for interviews
Interviews, calls to set up interviews.
management of positions to fill
The hardest part of the position would be reaching candidates while they are at work.
The best part of the position is hiring someone. It's very rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 56Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the work
Volunteer Recruitment Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMay 16, 2012
I felt good at the end of the day because I was helping people. We called local business owners and asked them to participate in a fundraising event for the MDA. It was 5 days a week, from 10 to 3.
Pros
friendly atmosphere, small office, set my own goals
Cons
micromanagement, short term work
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 59Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staffing Service
Fillo Sorter (Former Employee) –  Parma, OHMarch 1, 2012
The Associates at PPS are very accommodating, helpful, and a good group of people to work with.
Pros
gift cards
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 44Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Professional Placement Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 16 reviews
54
43
34
20
15

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.0Culture

Professional Placement Services Reviews by Location