Providence Health & Services Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 1,133 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5368
4344
3227
280
1114
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,090 reviews matching the search See all 1,133 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a productive work place
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 21, 2018
very friendly employees, the administration doesn't appreciate your skills, they don't pay enough money for the amount of work that you have to do but it is a nice place to start for beginners
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of autonomy from direct leadership
Information Security Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJuly 15, 2018
In a management role I was not given autonomy to direct the actions of my department toward our internal mission. Meetings were held that could have been handled through emails or phone calls which took time from pursuing the real issues within the department and organization as a whole. The senior leadership in my department was micromanaged, preventing us from making strides on larger issues facing us. I would not recommend working under the current VP for IT.
Pros
Great opportunities to fix issues.
Cons
Too many issues to fix when everything is the top priority and it shifts from day to day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient Service Rep
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAJuly 14, 2018
Providence Health And Services was a great place to work. Providence Health And Services truly cares about their patients and employees
.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unenjoyable
MA Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Beaverton, ORJuly 12, 2018
The management does not take things seriously when reported. They protect people who are abuse the policy. Other than that it has been an over good experience.
Pros
Value the Mission
Cons
Managers play sides
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work or be treated
Medical Records Scan Tech (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 11, 2018
I worked here many years. Family friendly, great staffing, commitment to community, growth opportunities, and as a patient for myself and family always had great treatment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and happy
Phlebotomist/Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mission Hills, CAJuly 11, 2018
I had been application for more than 6 years, when they called me, it was very exciting and happy and it was 4 years ago and it seems that it was yesterday I am very happy working there
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very fun place to work with
Indexing and QC (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 10, 2018
I like working at PROV and every day it's a new challenging work. I had gained so much experienced working there.

Co-workers are very friendly to work with and I'd really enjoyed working as well.
Pros
free lunch on Holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job review
Medical Assistant, Certified (Current Employee) –  Centralia, WAJuly 10, 2018
For my career there is not a lot of room to grow. Providence does provide nice benefits, and competitive wages for the area. Overtime is not typically allowed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Remote Coder
Remote Coder for the Physicians Billing Office (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 9, 2018
Other than not much opportunity to move up within the company and the rate of pay not being competitive, the benefits are good. They allow many of their coders to work remotely, pay for their coding books and cover coders under the company's AAPC corporate membership which pays for our dues, and they allow coders to earn CEUs while on the clock.
Pros
Corporate membership through AAPC as a coder, work remotely
Cons
Low wages and inconsistent instructions from coding trainers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and willing to work with you
Medical customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Beaverton, ORJuly 7, 2018
Very willing to promote and encourage employees. Easy training and good people. Management always there is you need them. Open door policy. Good benefits as well
Pros
Employees, benefits and fixed hours
Cons
for me just the location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Remote work available but micromanaged
Remote Certified Coding Analyst (Former Employee) –  RemoteJuly 6, 2018
Micromanagement everything had to go through a supervisor so problems were rarely resolved due to not being able to reach out to the departments or people directly involved. If your supervisor doesn't understand the issue it is never resolved.
Pros
insurance benefits were ok
Cons
micromanagement and lack of understanding of issues by supervisors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very shady management.
Driver CDL Class A/Distribution (Former Employee) –  Lane, NEJuly 5, 2018
Management was very shady....never practiced what they preached. The core values look good on paper but in reality not so much. High turnover rate on drivers, warehouse personal and management.

And I have not worked for them in 2 years and I left on good terms.

Hopefully they have made some improvements!
Pros
benefits were ok, PTO good, few good people work there.
Cons
Never knew what to expect, who was out to get you, absolutely worst management ever involved with in my whole 34 years out in the work force, incompetence
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIJuly 4, 2018
I really liked this job, grew bonds with my clients and employee's but the hours was just to short for me. so had to leave this job to get gain more hours at a different location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Staffing Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 2, 2018
The schedule in this department is great. Management could be better. No diversity. The turnover in this department is alarming. Love my coworkers. Thx
Pros
Good schedule
Cons
Management/Office culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily routine
Insurance Authorization Specialist (Current Employee) –  Tukwila, WAJuly 2, 2018
My daily job can be hectic and satisfying to provide patient care by obtaining authorizations for their care. The management style here can be a challenge at times but managable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Out Side referral (Former Employee) –  Medford, ORJuly 2, 2018
would work for them again if they came to Grants Pass great insurance and lots of time off plus you have a great team to work with along with fair work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
CNA (Current Employee) –  Everett, WAJuly 1, 2018
Everyone works very well together and is always willing to help you out. Management communicates fairly well and makes sure to include employees in new decisions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace never a dull day
SPD Technician (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKJuly 1, 2018
A lot of diversity with a lot of different people for a lot of different places shows you that no matter where you come from lots of great people to work with and learn from
Pros
Good pay great benefits
Cons
Overworked sometimes and high cost of living
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large system with limited ability to grow
Public Health Specialist (Current Employee) –  Portland OregonJune 28, 2018
Growth is difficult with this company. There are opportunities for lateral movement but no career advancement. The culture and message of the CEO are well advertised
Pros
Great mission
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Walla Walla, WAJune 28, 2018
I was very excited for my position at St Mary's and quickly learned the corporate world. Poor management, a long process for any progress, etc. Very stressful unrealistic expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Providence Health & Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight