Providence Public School Department Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To see a child smile
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Providence, RIOctober 22, 2018
Children that enjoy coming to school, plays with their classmates, eager to learn,being able to instilled in a child what is right or wrong, teaching children positive reinforcement...
Pros
Free breakfast and lunch for all children
Cons
short lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult but interesting
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIJune 18, 2018
Most kids are extremely rude but the few who are there to learn make the experience worth it. I've been at two schools in the district and they are largely the same.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and continuously changing up what I did
Internship (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIMay 11, 2018
On a typical day I did different duties. Everyday I didn't know what to expect but I was able to stay on top of my duties. I was able to learn time management between life and work. I also able to learn better public speaking skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Substitute Clerk (Current Employee) –  Providence, RIMarch 29, 2018
The best part of this job is the flexibility. It's easy to balance your family and job. The hardest part of the job is being called to substitute on a day to day basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it
Head Screener (Current Employee) –  Providence, RI 02903January 27, 2017
It's very busy working with the public every day there is something new to be learn something. It's a melting pot so every day expect the unexpected.
Pros
Good beneficts
Cons
Only working ten month
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
Substitute Clerk (Current Employee) –  Providence, RIApril 25, 2016
This job enables me to grow in a fast paced and energetic environment and gives me the opportunity to work under many different styles of management. The hardest part about the job is finagling with difficult situations with families that disagree with certain guidelines and regulations of the district. It's very rewarding to be able to defuse a difficult situation and provide great customer service.
Pros
Networking and helping students
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on your position and location
General Clerk (Current Employee) –  Providence, RIFebruary 4, 2016
I've enjoyed working for the Providence School Department. I once worked as a stock clerk and was moved from different locations daily. That I did not enjoy. I worked in a high school and for the Student Affairs Office, which I have enjoyed.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful and unsupported by administration
Elementary ESL teacher (Former Employee) –  Providence, RINovember 26, 2012
Hardest part of the job is the feeling that you are the only one responsible for the success or failure of a child's education. No help from parents or administration. Too many tests.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Providence Public School Department. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 9 reviews
51
42
34
22
10

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
2.9Culture

Providence Public School Department Reviews by Location