PSAV Employee Reviews

Found 474 reviews matching the search See all 521 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not someplace I ever plan on returning to work for
Project manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 19, 2018
I was very hopeful for a positive working experience. In the end, it was not. All the negative things I had heard throughout the years were all true. There is a negative culture that really should be weeded out of some of the facility locations. The corporate employees were all positive and great to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please Send Another Vehicle
AV Technician (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 19, 2018
Yep. It's hotel AV. PSAV is probably the biggest name in the game, but they're so big that the quality of the work varies. It's not a terrible place to work, I recommend any part time pool spots. Don't pick up a full time slot at a hotel or property, it's not worth it!
Pros
Make your own schedule
Cons
Some hotels are terrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run and Hide
Gone (Former Employee) –  GoneSeptember 17, 2018
They suck you in and you think it's supposedly a wonderful place to work and then they allow management to attack you on a daily basis. They will protect the upper echelon, but everyone else is expendable to the point that they will manipulate a situation to protect their senior management.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great For The Green
Audio Visual Lead Technician Specialist (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 8, 2018
This place was great for green/ new people in the field of Audio Visual or the Entertainment industry. I valued the ease of the managers to work with and the ease to advance your career into the corporate structure. Very great benefits, good with time off and summers.

Sometimes you're not quite paid enough for the things you do as it is sometimes dangerous with the heavy equipment and such on bigger shows, but if you do everything correctly it's not bad because everyone helps out. There are rarely accidents.

Long hours. No sleep sometimes. Also, lots of travel, but I like that.
Pros
Benefits, paid time off, paid holidays, great people, their culture for learning is great
Cons
Long hours, no personal life, little turn over time sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company
Technician (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNSeptember 8, 2018
I worked there many years ago, and I hated every minute of working there. The only reason I stayed was because I needed a 3rd job to get by. I would not recommend this place to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Company to be With For a Little While If You're Young &Living With Parents
Audio Visual Technician (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 6, 2018
If you're young and living with your parents, this is a good position until you can get a better job. You meet a lot of guys from film and video backgrounds who couldn't get something steady in it so that's why they're there.
Pros
Decent pay for work that's not too hard although this depends on how busy your hotel is, Get to learn how to be organized with setting/striking rooms and how to use AV equipment, A lot of workers are young and around the same age which can be fun., Part timers can sometimes get hours close to full time hours, Flexible scheduling, Health benefits
Cons
If they tell you it's full time IT'S NOT FULL TIME, Schedule changes every week so this can limit a social life, PT not reimbursed for parking, Bad turnarounds sometimes, no extra pay for busier hotels, pay raises suck
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company, still trying to figure out how to handle new workers
Assistant Technician (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZSeptember 4, 2018
after working in the labor pool for psav for a year and working at a property for six months i can honestly say that advancement beyond the lower tiers of employment is not ever going to be the concern that the management in my areas have they employ good people and have nice people working for them but there's no drive to have a solid training program that is anything but employee motivated.
Pros
if you're looking for AV work this is definitely a good starting point, but i dont know how career options will pan out
Cons
no upwards momentum
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a job for anyone with a family.
Audio Visual Technician (Current Employee) –  Lake Geneva, WISeptember 1, 2018
Long hours with periods of no work. Basically seasonal. They expect you to always be available for work no matter what. They do not work with you to fix scheduling problems or conflicts and often times change the schedule on the fly without notice.
Pros
Good number of hours
Cons
Lack of communication, poor scheduling, do not work with employees to solve problems
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast days long days sometimes But lots of Fun Jobs.
Event Technology Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fontana, WIAugust 24, 2018
PSAV was a great job to have each day was like walking in a little different of a job. you would have your slow days mixed in with your 18 hour days in the same 2 weeks time. the main reason I let was the really slow times made it hard to plan bills around only working 3-4 days a month.
Pros
Lots of new Skills
Cons
quick change in hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job of my life
Event Specialist and Technology (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 20, 2018
I enjoyed working with everybody at PSAV. It was the greatest job of my life, lots of fun, and great teamwork. but overtime things do change. New management and Hurricane Rita affected parts of my family. I had no choice but to leave and the new manager was a total change in the career. I had no choice to move on but deal with the path of life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company at first
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 20, 2018
it all went down hill after the acquisitions started. It was a great company to work for when they were a smaller firm. towards the end the employees are just an expendable number
Pros
free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company
Lighting Director/AV Crew Lead (Former Employee) –  Santa Barbara, CAAugust 20, 2018
PSAV has stepped into the AV industry in a major trying to under bid everyone and everything. This in turn means they can pay their actual employees way less than industry average. They have so many contracts now throughout the hotel AV industry that its hard to get a way from them completely. But I would not suggest working here complete waste of time. Oh and be aware that they target kids right out of school who do not know their time is worth way more.
Pros
free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Accounts Analyst (Current Employee) –  Schiller Park, ILAugust 19, 2018
I enjoy interacting with my co-workers and appreciate that I am able to set my own priorities within reason and not micromanaged.
Opportunities are available to learn with the PSAV University program.
Pros
occasional company sponsored activities
Cons
more flexible work schedule or ability to work from home is only available to select employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still in "exciting" growth phase, but lacks slaes leadership
Sales (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 17, 2018
One day PSAV will overcome the operations-heavy culture that was the start of the company and may eventually have a vibrant sales force. Until that time, location-level Directors (Operations) that report to RVPs (Operations) will still make decisions that only favor operations and not sales.
Pros
Success is dependent upon location leadership
Cons
Even the best venue relationship is not really a partnership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you already have experience
Tech Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 15, 2018
Management has a few flaws in their operations they refuse to change. Most employees are unhappy with their pay. Part timers get too few hours while full timers seem to never get a break. Other than those things it's a nice place to work. The work is active, events are usually properly staffed, there's more work to do with PSAV than with other companies thanks to the company's monopolization of in-house A/V for hotels in the city. The co-workers are always friendly. You learn a lot on the job. Lots of hotels offer free lunch.
Pros
Free lunches, exposure to nice equipment
Cons
No comped parking, have to find out about benefits on your own.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job for those interested in working in music field
Sound Engineer (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 15, 2018
Ive had a good time working here, they are very helpful when it comes to getting you on your feet with the work and the environment. Would recommend for sure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn AV
Technician (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 13, 2018
If you want to learn the field of AV start here. Can move up rather quickly depending on who you know and if you have a strong focus on customer service, Numbers is what matters to this company at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Director of Event Technology (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 9, 2018
PSAV is a monster in the audio visual world when in comes to in-house AV, meaning hotels, lodges, resorts and convention centers.

It was a good company to work for but after 9 years hit a ceiling in individual growth. It became a data driven corporation and less personal. Not a bad thing, just at times redundant and irrelevant with day to day operations. The pay scale is fair, just not deserving of the amount of commitment required at a more senior level. Commissions to secure contracts with hoteliers dictate the pay scale and thus a six figure position turns into a 50k plus position.

Benefits are great. Job security - they rarely fire their people.
Pros
technology, people, size, brand, benefits
Cons
pay, hours, expectations, work load
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company,Good benefits, Unstable work hours.
Technical Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 4, 2018
Solid company, Good benefits, Unstable work hours.
Overall depends where you are located.Every single manager have their own style to make decisions and that affect the consistency of the procedures. That can be confusing but with time working in the company you'll start to understand every personalty and management style.
Pros
flexible company, good benefits, promotes learning skills
Cons
difficult to grow within the company, bad communication between employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very corporate
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 4, 2018
Was a great company to work for. I did my job with out being put under micro scope. Management was going thru a lot of changes at the time. A lot of details in gear shipment was missed
Pros
ability to work from home
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PSAV. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 521 reviews
597
4154
3115
279
176

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight