Publix Employee Reviews for Deli Associate

Found 1,363 reviews matching the search See all 11,959 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management, No advancement
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Athens, GAFebruary 17, 2019
I had some of the worst managers imaginable. My direct supervisor once told me "Stop being so depressive" and I'm medically diagnosed with anxiety and depression. No one above this person cared or did anything when employees would complain or had any sort of issues with another member of management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, hard working job
Deli Associate (Current Employee) –  Ormond Beach, FLFebruary 16, 2019
I work in the Publix Deli where the work is very fast paced and at times very stressful. You are to slice meats and cheese in the traditional section for customers and attempt to do so in a quick and professional manner. Every four hours the slicer are to be washed and sanitized.

In the hot case section of the deli you are to time and check temperatures to all the foods and make sure they are within their times and proper temperatures. Serve them to customers and tag them with prices. Wrap certain items if needed.

In the sub station, we are to prepare subs and restock with products as needed. Make sure area is kept clean and sanitized. Looking fresh for customers.
Pros
Decent pay, fast paced
Cons
Very hectic at times, short shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Apopka, FLFebruary 12, 2019
Publix was a great company to work for. Everyone is friendly, it could be stressful but overall great place. Different department tend to get busier than others. Like the Deli Department is one of the busier ones
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your average minimum wage job.
Publix Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLFebruary 7, 2019
A great workplace, strict management, excessive rules, minimum requirement, great for a part-time job if your going to school, if you're not willing to pursue a full-time career with publix then look for a different career path.
Pros
Hours are flexible
Cons
Part-time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy work place
Deli Technician (Former Employee) –  Loxahatchee, FLFebruary 5, 2019
as far as company, very good company to work for as far as beneifts and growth with in the company.
As far as schedule it does become your life almost.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Freeport, FLJanuary 31, 2019
The actual employees were easy to get along with, just wish i could say the same about the management there. They would listen to complaints that people made but they would never go the extra mile to actually fix the complaint.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deli clerk
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Ocoee, FLJanuary 26, 2019
Deli Clerk and Cashier
Assist people with selective cuts of meats and cheeses
Made subs and lunch plates and platters
Superior customer service
Used meat and cheese slicer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your Manager is Everything
Deli clerk (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJanuary 25, 2019
All it takes to ruin a great experience working at Publix is having an awful manager to make sure you want to resign. Publix's job culture strongly supports giving you the hours you request that best work for you. If you request specific availability and the manager signs to approve it, they cannot force you to come into work if it does not satisfy that availability.
It's also very hard to get fired there too. If you get in trouble or don't do what you should then you're more than likely to just have a counseling statement, get your hours cut, or suspended from working for 1 week.
Sadly, those are the only upsides to working for Publix. You will never get discounts, you'll never know what to expect for next week's schedule, the customers are rude & snobby, getting a raise is nearly impossible, and if you're not friends with your manager then expect them to never give you what you want. When I started at a Publix I transferred to, I was set at 36 hours a week. But since my manager was friends with my coworkers, he decided to cut my hours to 7 a week and give them more.
If your manager isn't good, your job won't be good.
Pros
Flexible availability; They rarely fire employees
Cons
Bad manager = horrible experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work environment
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kennesaw, GAJanuary 22, 2019
Manager was unfriendly and made the work environment poor. Inconsistent work hours in scheduling made moral poor. The rest of the co-workers were friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SO many benefits
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 21, 2019
Publix offers so many helpful benefits and helps you set your life up long term. Very fair business, great people, and great service! Also a very understanding management team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work at.
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLJanuary 20, 2019
typically busy.
I learned a lot, from deli management to life skills.
Depends on the specific manager.
Team-centered culture.
Being understaffed.
Closing it down.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
had fun working at a great place.
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 20, 2019
Publix is a great company to work for. Worked there for over a year. Have paid stock opitions. They are really flexible. Open to advancement. Good options and liked the management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Ocoee, FLJanuary 20, 2019
fast paced job, keeps you on your feet need more staffing. great customers 90 percent of the times.
Manager not very cooperative at times. Each day is a learning experience.
My customers keeps me happy and i enjoy working to make them feel appreciated and wanting to return to publix each time. A very productive entity and they offer great benefits such as stocks as well as tuition reimbursement.Overall a great place to work.
Pros
great dental benefits
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job
Deli Clerk/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  East Brainerd, TNJanuary 20, 2019
Great co workers , the management does not appreciate their workers. Management is very judgemental. Deli managers are amazing. Work with your schedule especially if you have family occasions.
Pros
People are nice
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, bad management
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Decatur, ALJanuary 17, 2019
Publix is a great place to work, pay is great and the fellow employees are a lot of fun to work with, but the management is poor. There's a lot of young managers in my store that haven't quite matured enough, in my opinion, to be in management. Employees bust their tail for some of them, and nothing much to show for it. BUT I have had a handful of managers I really enjoyed working under! They're just expanding too fast and not being picky enough for new managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Four stasrs
Deli Associate (Current Employee) –  Marietta, GAJanuary 16, 2019
Fast pace and customers are god. Customers are allowed to treat you anyway they feel like and you are not allowing to defend yourself.. Thank God, the majority of the customers are nice and some are like family and friend..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transphobic/homophobic/racist the list goes on
Publix Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lynn Haven, FLJanuary 15, 2019
It was awful working there. The bullying and threatening of loosing your job was constant with our managers so they were always stressed out. You were definitely discrimated against in most locations of Publix within Panama City.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely productive workplace with helpful employees.
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, TNJanuary 14, 2019
Publix is an exceptional place to work with many polite customers who were always happy to be there and helpful employees with many opportunities to advance in the company.
Pros
Employee Discount, Healthcare, Private Stocks, Paid Vacation
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJanuary 14, 2019
Employees are treated like family. The company truly respects people. Management is very reliable. The benefits are great and they have reimbursement for college tuition. The company promotes within, so most top managers have had experience with daily work in multiple departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Job, Wasteful Company
Deli Associate (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 12, 2019
Things aren't so pretty once you start working behind the scenes. Outdated computer systems and scales. Old tech everywhere. They used to be on the forefront of technology, but they seem to just not care anymore. Also, they are incredibly wasteful. Very, very little food is donated.

The good? It's a job.
Pros
None
Cons
Random schedule, very wasteful company, they'll shame you if you don't donate from your weekly check, etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Publix. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 11,959 reviews
55.7K
43.6K
31.9K
2484
1367

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Women's ratings

3.1Fairygodboss Score

67%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

71%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss