Publix Employee Reviews for Grocery Associate

Found 453 reviews matching the search See all 10,662 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Bradenton, FLAugust 8, 2018
Publix was a good place to work, the culture was good there the people were nice and the managers were interested in see the workers advance and make sure they are doing well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place with a good future
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FL 32308August 8, 2018
If you plan on working for Publix as a career then, you can make plenty as a manager. However, if you have other career plans, it can become disheartening working there after awhile.
Pros
Great benefits (if full time), wonderful opportunities
Cons
Repetitive, not worth it (if not becoming Full-time)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Throw you in with no training
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, GAAugust 7, 2018
I worked there for 6 months never received any decent training, management greatly sucked put me in a position I had never dealt with and just threw me in never had any training got reprimanded daily, I worked my tail off and to see other people lollygag around was upsetting but in the end they got to keep their job... Dont work here its not whay its cracked up to be.
Pros
Benefits (if you make it that far)
Cons
No training, expect one person to do a 2-3 man job and not get overtime but complain when everything is not done.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Publix
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Davie, FLAugust 1, 2018
Walk in. Clock in. Check in with manager on what to do. Certain days require you to unload a truck. Others you work the truck onto the shelves. You clean the back room. You block the store. Fill specials. You communicate with employees and have to be well time managed. Also physical use is high.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced physical intensive work
Full Time Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLJuly 16, 2018
An average day included managing my time to efficiently keep the shelves full, clean and aesthetically pleasing. This included maintaining an optimal working area and offloading any deliveries (pallets of product) in a timely manner.

I learned how to manage my time effectively to maximize efficiency and provide excellent customer service.

Management is willing to listen and they have a great open door policy if there are any issues you may have.

The hardest part of the job is the physical aspect. I happened to work in a cold Dairy cooler which was an extremely high velocity area of the store.

The best part was the compensation, even when you start at the bottom you get a decent wage.
Pros
Good opportunity to advance if you work hard
Cons
No paid breaks, physically stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place, unfortunately had to move
Grocery Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Acworth, GAJuly 12, 2018
May take time to advance, but a wonderful place. If the opportunity arose I would gladly head back.

Work your butt off and they will see it, guaranteed.
Pros
Stock, vacation, holiday pay, medical
Cons
Ceo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Grocery Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Port Charlotte, FLJuly 12, 2018
Great job for a young adult or a senior but does not pay well enough to provide housing and comfortable living financially. More customer service than I would prefer and not as much labor as I would.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hardeeville, SCJuly 12, 2018
Management gives clear expectations and trains you so that you are given tools to succeed. Everyone is very inviting and it was enjoyable to go to work
Pros
Enjoyable coworkers, good management, flexible schedule, good pay
Cons
Overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 11, 2018
Publix is a good company to work for if you're willing to put in the hard work . They look for hard working people, depending on the store , it could be a really good situation or a bad one
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the same.
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJuly 5, 2018
Publix has changed alot from the time I started to the time I left. They used to have cookouts for employees. There much more of a family atmosphere in the beginning and It doesnt feel that way anymore.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Grocery Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCJuly 2, 2018
Great company just not enough room to grow here in Columbia. Been a little stagnant for the past 3 years. Ready to experience something different with better schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the place to work
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAJuly 1, 2018
management is every poor. very unorganized staff because there is barely no crew here. everyone is stressing pulling double the work due to mutiple people walking out
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional workplace
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLJune 28, 2018
I learned that responsibility, punctuality and clean appearance are very important aspects to be care and keep it up
Also how important is being friendly with the costumers and helpful if i can
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting job
Grocery Clerk/Bagger/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Newnan, GAJune 26, 2018
Not a bad place to work, but don't think about moving up fast. Unless you know someone. Diffidently club atmosphere, if your in it your good, if your not then I would suggest being happy with what your doing or looking elsewhere.
Pros
culture
Cons
advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and benefits. Good people too.
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Pensacola, FLJune 23, 2018
I stock shelves, straighten shelves, unload trucks, customer service and helping other employees when needed. If there is a spill, and there are spills, I aid in the cleanup when needed.
Pros
Benefits, good pay if you are up the ladder.
Cons
Work load
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere with a tight schedule
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  AlabamaJune 22, 2018
It really is a pleasure to be there. Great people and motivated workers who take pride in what they do. They're team players and because of the stock ownership, they are more conscious about the care they take at work.
The workers in all departments rely on each other and have to ask before they go to the bathroom. The district managers are hard on the store managers, making it stressful for the department heads. Very strict about hours. They do what has to be done to be successful though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
front service clerk
Customer Service/Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCJune 15, 2018
i would come into work to cleaning
having great customer service skill with customer
making sure the customer find everything properly
making sure its a safe work place for everyone around me
i also stocked product
Pros
getting paid every week
Cons
not that many hours a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Daniel Island, SCJune 14, 2018
Managers were easy to work with for days off. Customers were friendly and a blast to help out. The job was simple and they give you the responsibilities to do the best you can do.
Pros
Hours
Cons
Promotion rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
had promise, then that flew away
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vero Beach, FLJune 13, 2018
Publix used to be a great place to work, with the new changes I can no longer recommend that you pursue a career at Publix. You get no benefits compared to other places of work anymore, raises are cents when they used to be dollars, the health insurance is pitiful, management will demand the most of you yet not do anything themselves, hours can be cut at will for no reason, bad employees get let off the hook constantly but when you mess up after working an 80 hour week you'll be hung. good if you have no other option
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work environment with good benefits for full-time employees
Grocery Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Covington, GAJune 8, 2018
-Overseeing stock clerks to ensure accomplishment of assigned tasks.
-Fast paced work environment.
-repetitive work (i.e. stocking shelves, unloading trucks, etc)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Publix. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 10,670 reviews
55.1K
43.2K
31.6K
2404
1305

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight