QinetiQ North America Employee Reviews

Found 56 reviews matching the search See all 84 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company doesn't really exist any more
XML Developer (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALAugust 14, 2018
Not much I can say about QinetiQ North America. From what I understand, the company doesn't really exist any more. At least it doesn't in my area. So, a review really isn't needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for.
Network Systems Administrator (Former Employee) –  York, PAAugust 7, 2018
The best company I worked for in the last 15 years. The company treated employees very well, paid very well and made sure that there was opportunities for professional development.
Pros
Excellent working conditions
Cons
Not enough job openings currently available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs work
Software Engineering Co-op (Former Employee) –  Waltham, MAJune 14, 2018
Qinetiq hires talented people, but does not listen to its talented employees when making management decisions, nor does management understand that resources must be allocated to improve process, especially for software.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Principal Engineer (Former Employee) –  Stafford, VAJune 13, 2018
as a subcontractor we were treated well, they had excellent supervisors and let us do our job. They had a good corporate structure and environment for the most part
Pros
lunch
Cons
subcontractors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting projects and professional management.
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Waltham, MAApril 15, 2018
This company has a lot of interesting projects and the work environment is friendly and professional. The only down side is that it is a very big and in many ways old fashioned company. The working environment feels like a time warp back to 1995. If your looking for a hip and progressive workplace, this may not be the place for you.
Pros
Interesting projects, professional management
Cons
A little old fashioned
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable work place
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Franklin, MAMarch 13, 2018
Worked with very professional yet personable, charismatic co-workers in a very professional atmosphere. During my time here I had the opportunity to learn and understand the severity of "survivability" in the military field. I witnessed while working here during the Boston bombings/Boston Marathon, QinetiQ provided detonation bags to detonate questionable bags & pressure cookers (which Boston Police did use.) I've also been exposed and educated in the top leading Velcro systems for the military as well as many other survivability items that this company has created and produced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Arlinton VAFebruary 25, 2018
Worked in Arlington supporting ONR. Provided project management and admin assistance as required. Work included support via SIOR and other classified tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
QunetiQ NA
Contractor to DHS - ICE (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 3, 2018
High levels of stress and security in the environment with flexible work hours and days.
Lots of travel and overnight stays.
Work with many government agencies at various levels.
Pros
Frequent travel both in and outside US
Cons
Short notice on some travel requirements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Vice President of DHSecurity Programs (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAJanuary 25, 2018
Loved working for QinetiQ unfortunately the company bid on a contract that was not awarded to them and we were laid off. Wish the company had other available positions to fill as I would have wanted to stay long term career wise with QinetiQ!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some really important products
Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Waltham, MAJanuary 22, 2018
I am very proud to have been able to contribute to the TALON program, and its service with the US Military overseas. Many lives saved, TALON is an amazing machine.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Qinetiq
Technician (Former Employee) –  Waltham, MAJanuary 22, 2018
I was called back a second time due to pauses in Government contracts. It was for me a very easy job that unfortunately did not challenge me very much. Great engineers and pretty competent personnel. However, it was very complex due to QinetiQ's struggle between manufacturing and engineering structure on the shop floor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Software Engineering Co-op (Former Employee) –  Waltham, MAJanuary 17, 2018
QNA was a good place to work. Smart engineers, good management, strong products. I felt, as an intern, I should have been paid a little more than I was, but overall the experience was positive.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Lower than average compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great variety of technical work
Software Consultant (Current Employee) –  Waltham, MAJanuary 8, 2018
Amazing variety of projects in C++ and C#
Embedded systems include custom os, linux and windows embedded
Great Software manger.
Able to work independently is key.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Exchange Administrator (Former Employee) –  Washington City, DCDecember 25, 2017
Bad management, took on management personnel from old contract, that caused the contractor to fail. Management did not value more experienced employees that knew the client. Often seek to under cut employees salaries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Contracts Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Crystal City, VANovember 13, 2017
I really enjoyed my time working at QinetiQ. There was always cross training opportunities available and people who were eager to share. The culture was relaxed, fun but professional. I certainly would work for QinetiQ again.
Pros
Free food and perks everytime we won a new contract
Cons
No telework at the time I was there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Senior Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  united kingdomOctober 17, 2017
there were no lunch facilities on site. sandwich came round in the morning. mainly worked on ground equipment for military aircraft.
job got cancelled and therefore the contract.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Place to Work
Operations Manager/Management Analyst (Former Employee) –  Stafford, VASeptember 29, 2017
I worked with a remarkable group of people supporting the United States Marine Corps. The proximity from home to work allowed me to have a better quality of life. My Managers were accessible and allowed me to shine.
Pros
Meeting new challenges
Cons
Departing QinetiQ North America
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a fun and safe place to work
Senior Assembler Specialist (Current Employee) –  Waltham, MAAugust 28, 2017
I learn a lot with new idea, how to balance with jobs due date is in rushtime to ship out, learn how important customer quality and on time delivery so we can achieving our quarterly goal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Network/NOC Engineer (Former Employee) –  Newington, VAAugust 26, 2017
QinetiQ is a good company but does not always support engineers or workers under management supervision. Once a family oriented organization, initiated changes toward a more corporate philosophy which affected how personnel interact with each other.
Pros
Growth potential, flexibility
Cons
Miminal management support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appeared to be a well funded and reasonably well run organization
Product Manager (Former Employee) –  Waltham, MAAugust 22, 2017
I was a consultant with rather limited exposure to company and only dealt with them for a rather brief period of time. I do not feel qualified to comment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at QinetiQ North America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 84 reviews
530
429
315
25
15

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture