Quikrete Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a paycheck, steady work, but you will earn it, no breaks
Local Flatbed Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  McKinney, TXApril 13, 2018
The Time you work does not equal the pay you get, very well underpaid. You work almost two full time jobs in a week and you don't get compensated for it.
Pros
paychecks
Cons
No life during week, only weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun people and monthly catered lunches
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMApril 12, 2018
Mornings start with 2 hours rotating work places til lunch and start all over. I i leaned change overs, forklift safety, lock out tag out etc. Management is great, will work with you and is understanding. Workplace is great and chances to move around and extremely heavy lifting all day. Lifting and stacking 80 lb bags of concrete when a broken bag is found on a pallet is the hard but not compared to recycling concrete bags which consist of shoveling waist high piles of concrete and lifting endless bags of reject concrete bags into the recycler. Enjoyable part of the day is the workout, advancements, opportunities to learn new positions, great hours, monthly catered lunches, weekly pay and holiday pay.
Pros
Weekly pay, holiday pay, monthly catered or bbq lunches provided by the company and hours
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and office girls were at all time worse
Haul Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXMarch 3, 2018
Manager treats people like slaves and can't even do his job. Office personal is the worse part. I liked my co workers and to boot the pay scale was horrible long hours and Saturdays too.
Pros
Good coworkers
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Challanging Location
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Salida, COFebruary 15, 2018
Remote location Long Days, older equipment breakdowns, awesome Manager from Denver office. Everyone was always helpful and supportive. I learned a lot about the crushing process and also about crushing equipment.
Pros
The Denver Leadership and Office people.
Cons
Plant Closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Efficient
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Ravenna, OHFebruary 12, 2018
Great place to work...Worked hard and learned teamwork with others. Had to possess good work ethic being willing to try something that required a vigorous workout and able to work well with others.
Pros
Good work out
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company
Production (Former Employee) –  Clinton, MDFebruary 11, 2018
I enjoyed my time at Quikrete even though it was short. The management expects the product to be out quickly and doesn't hide what they want or need. I've worked at other places that are shady and just slave drive you with no goals and no communication. These guys will at least talk to you.
Pros
Small company atmosphere, ok pay and benefits
Cons
dusty and plants need to be updating
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have to be a hard worker
PRODUCTION/SELECTOR (Former Employee) –  Danielson, CT 06239January 11, 2018
Good job a little exhausting but overall good job air quality sucks with all the concrete mixes but other than that it's not bad you also work alot so you have to be committed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 1, 2018
great work environment, the people that work there are good workers. kind of dusty place but there's always work there. the company offers a lot of overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 27, 2017
Very hostile work place.. Management is poor.. Corporate owned.. They do not care about the employees or their well-being what-so-ever.. Union shop with union dues, But no union representation at all..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Quality Control Inspector (Current Employee) –  Ravenna, OHNovember 27, 2017
There is no room for advancement here at quikerete.the pay and benefits are not good either.the work you do is harder. Then you get paid for.but the mngement is good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close to home and loved what I did, and it was only a 2person that worked their
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Harrison, OHNovember 8, 2017
Quikrete was a nice place but very dirty, pkg. cement products, some of the people were very nice, but then some were not. Kind of conflict in office because of 2 ladies working, one wanted to run the show, but she was there longer understandable. Over all loved my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place
Front End Loader Operator/ forklift operater (Current Employee) –  Plant City, FLNovember 2, 2017
Not a bad place to work if your young..the pay isn’t perfect but the vacation and benefits are amazing..even holidays are really good..everyone is friendly and management are great ..
Pros
Good Benifits and vacation and holiday pay
Cons
Can’t move any higher on pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's fun
Fork lift driver (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSSeptember 5, 2017
Its a good place to work, learned a lot of things, fork lift, operate all kinds of machines and drive a truck, I was able to learn how to work around other people
Pros
Over time
Cons
Working in a hot warehouse
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drama and stress
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Alvarado, TXAugust 30, 2017
To much drama. Not an equal opportunity employer. Discrimanation, sexist. To many power hungry individuals in management and dispatch trained to be ugly yo employees. Literally. If you choose to work for this company be prepared to be fired at any given minute for any reason. Should be an easy breezy job. Management makes it different. Trust my facts here. Look at the turn over rate. Or just ask some of their current employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Machine operator, filling bags of concrete (Former Employee) –  Perryville, MDAugust 16, 2017
there wasn't much good about this job. you would breath in dust all day without being able to see 20 feet infront of you. we would fill and stack bags
Pros
no pros
Cons
the whole job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shipping clerk
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Current Employee) –  West Columbia, SCJuly 20, 2017
Ok job to work for very low pay for manual work subpar management basically treat u as a number! Really can pay more to employees do more family get together.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work little pay
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJuly 10, 2017
Would not recommend. Workers are nice management isn't very bright need a lot of work could be a decent place if they make the right adjustments. Pay is not good
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 6, 2017
Days start early with the ability to somewhat make your own schedule. Management expectations are and the ability to be independent is key at becoming successful. The employees are very easy to get along with and are helpful. There is no hard part to this job at all, and the most enjoyable part of this position is being able to manage my time and work schedule according to my needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing job, have to work hard but it's worth it..
Packer Operator (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAJune 8, 2017
I enjoyed this more than any job i've ever done, loved it sadly school came along, but this job is nice if you want money, i loved it the treatment, the manager the work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structural and traditional office environment
Corporate/Finance Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 8, 2017
I worked for 3 amazing bosses. They are the most wonderful, respectful, kind, considerate and classy people that I have ever met in the construction industry. I left because of personal reasons. often times, an easy-going management ended up with the most evil workplace culture. What a shame!
Pros
butter ball turkey and honey baked ham for Thanksgiving and Christmas
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Quikrete. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 79 reviews
525
420
317
27
110

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture