R+L Carriers Employee Reviews

3.3
Overall rating
Based on 518 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5124
4135
3117
252
190
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 512 reviews matching the search See all 516 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No
Dock Worker/Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Piedmont, SCMay 21, 2018
This is a terrible place to work. Coworkers and management alike are all around unpleasant. I would strongly recommend finding another form of employment. Please use this company as the last viable option. Thr pay is good but is a seniority based company and takes 5 years to work up to full time pay. It sucks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wow where to start
Trailer Mechanic A / Class III (Former Employee) –  Sauget, ILMay 15, 2018
I have no idea what went wrong ar R&L carriers for nearly a year i seemed to be on top of the would hear and then the last week of April everything changed every one but a few seemed cold and far away i was in hot water nearly everyday did last two weeks i was there i was told of a list problems that is hard to belive i did. and one i know there is noway i could have done as it was just the day before i dont know for if this is why but the mechanic i took the place of transfered to the nashville tn shop did not like it and now wonts to come back
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Private company that can do what they want
AX Diesel Technician (Former Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLMay 6, 2018
Management will lie and tell you to do things and turn around and say they never did. If they don't like you or you don't kiss up enough they will make things up to get you fired. they don't appreciate your hard work management rather take out the girls that work in the office for a drink after work instead of taking you or even saying good job.
Pros
pay
Cons
poor managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
R l
CDL Class A Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 5, 2018
very fair people great company everybody get weekends off and also everybody get paid holidays get paid every Friday wear what ever u want to wear no hard work ok management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Enviroment
Fork-Lift Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 25, 2018
The work environment is excellent the workers are the best people to get to know not so much the management they tend to cover up for each other I feel like workers are under paid and unnoticed
Pros
great job enviroment
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productave
Dispatch /Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 23, 2018
There were to many stressful moments with the women in competition. Always yelling and fighting among co-workers. Always stressful even when you were not in that department.
Pros
2 people in my department
Cons
holiday parties
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, No structure, positive workers, good environment
Dock Hand & Reception (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLApril 20, 2018
A typical day at work required us to come in at a designated time, complete morning tasks then wait for customers. The Marina basically ran on improvision and proactivity. None of the workers had a designated task (which was an extreme issue). If you complained to the manager, nothing was done about it. Multiple issues with people slacking off requiring other workers to pick up slack.

I've been a worker for two years and still never recieved a pay raise. A new hiree just got on the team and instantly started making more money than I am. NOT HAPPY.
Pros
Flexible hours, 30% store discount, good environment
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
R & L carriers is aweful
Loader (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, OHApril 17, 2018
I would never recommend someone working for this employer. Management is very poor, little to no interest in their employees. if they find out you work somewhere else and or trying to apply somewhere else, they WILL fire you on the spot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City dispatchers and termunal manager easy to work with
City Driver (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILApril 16, 2018
Overall everyone is easy to work with especially city dispatchers,Linehaul dispatch is unorganized and has favorite drivers that will get the good runs while you run short,good equipment but you are limited to how much you can earn and there hardly any weekend work to earn extra cash, a 3yr pay scale that after 90 days is very small raises and they do not pay overtime at all.Benefits are average.If you need experience and want to be home everynight it is good but many other LTL companies that pay and offer better opportunities.
Pros
Good equipment, lots of hours, easy to work with
Cons
No overtime, avg expensive benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fast paced
Accounts Receivable Clerk (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, OHApril 14, 2018
fast paced, multi tasking, good benifits, 3 vacations locations that employees can stay for free a week at at time. get discount on shipping. locations thru out the us.
Pros
cafeteria on property at corporate office
Cons
only 30 lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice environment to work for
Truck Driver Class A CDL (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILApril 11, 2018
Was a friendly outgoing place to work for, all the other drivers were friendly and had alot of laughs with. The dispatchers were great guys giving fair runs everyday. And the terminal manager was a very nice man. He is very fair to all the drivers, in a typical day, you can have as many as 15 deliveries and as many as 10 pick ups, but like I said for the most part they were very fair with the drivers, The roughest part of the job was dealing with slick roads, and the nicest part of the job was nice warm weather, it just seemed to make the day better when it was warm out
Pros
lunch times
Cons
healthcare could have been better
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Forklift Operato (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOApril 7, 2018
Productive and awesome work place. I learned how to work hard, knock the job out and its not bad to have a little fun while doing it. The management is awesome and the environment is awesome as well.
Pros
pay, the people
Cons
the hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, OHApril 6, 2018
Poor management like being in kindergarten all over again the bosses had they're heads stuck up each others butts and did not approve of team work bosses went against owners rules and made they're own
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A stressful place to work
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 5, 2018
This company is a nice place to work if the management likes you, I was one of the guys that was actually liked but its no secret that the dispatchers will treat their buddies with preference. certain big money routes are set aside for the dispatchers buddies. if they have a bad day, you can surely see it, its extremely noticeable when you're on their bad side because your paycheck will reflect it. Its a good place for a single person to start out in. If you have mouths to feed, I would definitely look for something that's a little more secure. Job security is big thing for a family man like me and i can honestly say that R and L does not provide this.
Pros
A relaxed place to work when the dispatchers like you
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a relaxed atmosphere
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, OHApril 4, 2018
the work pace is different from day to day. Most days it is none stop, it when you get the bit of slow down that you get caught up on your most pending items.
Pros
benefits and vacation packages are good
Cons
some are not team players
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok to work there
R+L P&D Driver (Current Employee) –  Kearny, NJApril 2, 2018
management throw you to the wolfs hardest is dealing with mess on daily basis hours and days are long minimum 10 hours days on call on weekends pay is reasonable
Pros
flexible
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Management (Current Employee) –  Battle Creek, MIMarch 28, 2018
Great place to work for. Recommended to many friends who have now worked here for years. Easy work for the pay on the dock. Great wages. RECOMMENDED! two thumbs up!!
Pros
Best ever... Srs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not for me
Trailer Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Ellenwood, GAMarch 25, 2018
3rd shift is rough,, and no chance in site for a day shift advancement. pay is competitive but its worth it for me to take a small cut to move in to a day shift job elsewhere. management could use some updating..
Pros
pay
Cons
nigh sfift
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
two snack machines and a restroom
Driver (Former Employee) –  San Lorenzo, CA 94580March 19, 2018
The company should try harder to pay competitive wages. Many drivers left the company in search of higher wages. The benefits and close to average, Kaiser health would have been preferred. The company is trying hard to attract drivers but many move on. I would have stayed longer however I will be moving about 100 miles from the San Fransisco Oakland area.
Pros
you get paid on time
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I've had more success and job satisfaction losing a football game in High School.
Customer Service Associate ( Salary (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, OHMarch 16, 2018
If you enjoy working your tail off, keeping strictly to professionalism, and getting praise for accomplishing all tasks and then some, then this is not the place for you. If you accomplish all tasks, they find excuses to deny you raises. If you are professional, then they see you as a threat to their High School Mental State, and if you work your tail off, they wonder why you didn't do someone else's work for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at R+L Carriers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.0InHerSight Score

1.7Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

1.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight