Radford University Employee Reviews

Found 139 reviews matching the search See all 141 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physical Plant
Grounds Worker (Former Employee) –  Radford, VAJanuary 1, 2019
I worked a normal 8-5 day with three breaks. I learned very little there.There is ZERO advancements in depts. The management doesn't know how to manage or delegate. Work place, is OK. They are not very egalitarian with employees, management definitely plays favorites. The hardest part of the job I did, was dealing students and poor management. There isnt much enjoyment for staff. They are treated like scum and are under paid. Having worked at other institutions, this is by far the worst.
Pros
given uniforms, time off, and sub par health coverage
Cons
poor management, bad and out dated equipment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Radford, VADecember 17, 2018
Input purchase orders
Greet students and staff
Manage department budget
Purchase supplies for staff and department with RU SPCC
Assist in preparation of Career fairs
Pros
9 month employee
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work place
Resident Director (Current Employee) –  Radford, VANovember 20, 2018
Love working with students and coworkers to advance the student life at Radford University. The campus is amazing and everyone is so friendly and welcoming.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work- Study
Office assistant in HHP (Current Employee) –  Radford, VANovember 17, 2018
I was a work study for the 3-1/2 years on the job. I enjoyed it because I was able to do homework, but the government only pays $7.25, so I had to get a second job to afford expenses. Not a hard job, and the professors are extremely nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was class
Johnny Miller-Conflict and Resolution (Former Employee) –  Radford, VAOctober 31, 2018
I learned how to deal with difficult employees and how to manage them. Radford is a wonderful University full of diversity and plenty of programs to choose from for your career.
Pros
free lunch, off work site
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice School
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Radford, VAOctober 30, 2018
Great school and great employer in the time that i worked there. They provided the necessary tools for advancement and balance between work and education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing University
manager (Former Employee) –  Radford, VAOctober 28, 2018
Radford University is a growing university that really focuses on the future development of their students. Nice facilities that have wonderful modern education learning areas for all levels of students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management undermines academic mission.
ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF PHYSICS & ASTRONOMY (Former Employee) –  Radford, VASeptember 6, 2018
Serious disconnects between faculty and administrative priorities. Faculty are given inadequate support to accomplish institutional goals, and pay is very low for comparable academic positions.
Pros
Pleasant community
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academically driven institution that allows growth and learning
Leadership Consultant (Former Employee) –  Radford, VAAugust 16, 2018
Radford University is an excellent institution and working there is both rewarding and allows professional development. The environment is collaborative, fast-paced, and employee engagement is high. I recommend Radford to professionals seeking higher education professions.
Pros
Flexible schedule, breaks, learning opportunities
Cons
Few hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So=so
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Radford, VAAugust 15, 2018
On one hand its a good place to work on the other it is a flawed system. Job security is the biggest advantage of working here.
Downside is you are always judged on work performance and always receive negative feedback no positive. You are call f they need you and you will work snow removal if you work for facilities. Housekeeping is hard.
Pros
job security
Cons
on call 24/7 if you work in housekeeping.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Radford University?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Student Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Radford, VAAugust 2, 2018
The Radford University T.O.P. was a great place to work with some great people. Everything was fantastic from the hours everyday to the opportunities for advancement.
Pros
Good hours, good pay, and nice people.
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a University not a job
Radio Club member (Former Employee) –  WVRUJune 26, 2018
I hope the guys at indeed know this is a university and not a job. I graduated from here in 1986. The television industry was just in the beginning stages of a full revolution, there was hardly an internet.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Radford, VAMay 30, 2018
This was a work study job working at Radford University registrar's office. I got to have a school work balance and still earn some money. I learned a lot there
Pros
Flexible schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Environment
Graduate Research Fellow (Former Employee) –  Radford, VAMay 17, 2018
Twas ok. Nothing more, nothing less. Watch out for parking. They're evil. Oh, and the townies stink and the local police are corrupt. I once got a parking ticket one morning of $140 because they ticketed me at 1am, 3am, 5am, 7am, 9am, and 11am. And whenever I would call about it, they'd hang up on me. On second thought, avoid this town like the plague.
Pros
N/a
Cons
Much
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time job
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAMay 17, 2018
I love this job so much that I really did not want to leave but, I had to leave due to lack of benefits. Leaving this job was one of the hardest things I have ever done.
Pros
I really loved everything about the job
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Worker
Tour Guide (Former Employee) –  Radford, VAMay 13, 2018
During my time studying at Radford University I held 2 different positions on campus. Many students hold 3 or more positions at once and there are always different positions available on campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers on the most part, but administration does not do enough to retain its staff.
full time staff (Current Employee) –  Radford, VAApril 11, 2018
Great coworkers on the most part, but administration does not do enough to retain its staff. Staff is underpaid, and offices are understaffed. Staff overturn is high.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
University 100 Instructor (Former Employee) –  Radford, VAApril 9, 2018
I enjoyed working with RU. The staff were very helpful. The students were wonderful to work with. I enjoyed working in such a positive learning environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive and engaged
Leadership team coordinator (Former Employee) –  Radford, VAApril 4, 2018
We learned to network with various different organizations in order to perform collaborative work. The workplace was a great place to be because everyone was on the same page and worked well together.
Pros
Networking
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, but little responsibility
Staff Accountant (Current Employee) –  Radford, VA 24141March 19, 2018
Great place to work with regard to management and co-workers. Not enough responsibility on a daily basis, thus not at all challenging. I desire a position where I am mentally challenged, and that is not the case here.
Pros
Fantastic management and co-workers
Cons
Little responsibility or challenge to the position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Radford University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 141 reviews
578
439
318
23
13

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

2.0Personal Development

2.3Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Radford University Reviews by Location