Radio One Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Fast moving enviroment
On-Air Personality (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMay 21, 2018
I love Radio One the atmosphere was very positive and exciting everyday. There was many opportunities to move up in the company. I learned a lot in the 4 years I have work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
In studio engineer (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 18, 2018
Radio Engineer, running sound board, on air personality, answering phones! Became a MC for live events and live radio broadcast after being there about 6 years!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Environment
Promotions Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 14, 2018
Really love this job, but its easy to outgrow when there are few chances to advance. It gave me the opportunity to learn many new skills. Everyone gets along well, although the departments dont interact together very often.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an interesting 15 years
Integrated Media Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 14, 2018
Overall, Radio-One was a good place to work for. When sales declined, they did not have a plan in place nor the right management to deal with the process of getting sales back up
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Radio Forever!
Radio Host (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INApril 15, 2018
Hands the best choice to join the Radio One team! I love my co workers , sales, promotions EVERYONE! The most fun job anyone could dream of. Meeting new people is the overall greatest feeling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Board operator/ Producer/ Production (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIApril 1, 2018
Go into work with a mindset of getting your job done, but make sure you are bettering yourself everyday. You have to balance what you do for the company with what you and doing for yourself. Make sure you take care of the platform, but use to the platform in positive way to benefit yourself as well. All in all it can be a great company to work for and you will learn a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun times
TRAFFIC AND CONTINUITY MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 27, 2018
Working for a Radio Station was something very different for me. I truly enjoyed the people I worked with
the hours varied due to all the staff would help with radio events and other thing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great programming and work culture.
WPZS), Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 13, 2018
Great Urban Station. Tough market,

Corporate needed to support the Charlotte market on a continuous basis.

Station has great potential. Poor Corporate funding due to market competition.
Pros
Fun place to work
Cons
Poor Corporate support
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement opportunities
Project Leader (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 6, 2018
The company was great and has perks but it is not the place to work if you want to advance in your career. They do not pay fairly and do not promote from within. The benefits are okay but management needs improvement and they need to learn to value their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic and Hostile work envornment
Integrated Media Specialist (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMarch 5, 2018
Radio One, Indianapolis is an extremely toxic and hostile environment, Employees are constantly harassed and ridiculed. It is not an organization that I would recommend to any professional.
Pros
Nothing positive
Cons
too many to detail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun-Family Style Environment Focused on Winning
Accountant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 22, 2018
The work place is not only inviting but filled with dedicated individuals who are determined to win and make the overall organization profitable and successful. I acquired not only professional skills but life skills on time management as well as conflict management. The organization as a whole takes care of their people but also strive and push them for greatness.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace. Met different stars regularly
National Sales Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJanuary 17, 2018
I'v learn a lot working in Marketing and Sales. The hardest part was knowing advancement was very difficult to obtain in the position I had as National Sales Coordinator.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Traffic Clerk (Former Employee) –  Urbana, ILDecember 18, 2017
The station went out of business but was a fun place to work with great co-workers while it was still operational. The work sometimes got monotonous.
Pros
free music
Cons
low pay, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Promotions Intern (Former Employee) –  Lanham, MDDecember 4, 2017
Radio One is a great company to work for. It is a face paced environment with great people and plenty of opportunities to lear and network. You'll love it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
internship
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PASeptember 25, 2017
This was an internship. Did not receive compensation. Employees were nice and taught you a lot. Was able to travel to different locations for promotional activities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Radio One
Marketing Director- Marketing Department (Former Employee) –  Lanham, MDSeptember 18, 2017
Radio One had great people that worked at the job but again the company kept pay low and minimum advancement. I loved the job but I didn't like the way they treated employee's
Pros
meeting famous people
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Human Resources - Executive Assistant (Contractor) (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 30, 2017
I loved working with the ladies in the Human Resources Department they are very intelligent, funny and goal oriented women. I wish they had a permanent position for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Producer (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIAugust 1, 2017
- Fun and exciting
- New challenges daily
- Open door policy
- Encouraging environment
- Room for advancement
- Able to learn new skills
- Fantastic coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Programming, Production, Promotions Intern (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 13, 2017
Entertainment industry. You won't do the same thing any two days in a row. Lots of perks, but extremely difficult to get an internship at Radio-One, StL
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Production Director, (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDJuly 5, 2017
One must accept full responsibility for work.
The hours to accomplish jobs that are essential will require one to forego outside activities.
Holidays are not always off.
Pros
Fun
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Radio One. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 105 reviews
540
433
320
26
16

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.9Culture