RadioShack Employee Reviews

Found 5,479 reviews matching the search See all 5,702 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was closed down
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Whittier, CAJune 18, 2019
Was my first job. did not have much to compare it to. I left the company before they closed down. It was a decent place to work for. Commission was always changing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Customer service/ Phone repair (Former Employee) –  Kamuela, HIJune 18, 2019
I was a customer service and fixed phone. Helped my customer with the phone contacts and always making sure my floors was clean of rubbish. I was a cashier and a stocker with out items come in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn sales
Manager Trainee (Former Employee) –  Arbutus, MDJune 17, 2019
I was mostly a salesman but also a manager trainee. There were times when I ran the store and people thought i was the manager. Sadly, this is another business that has closed down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful environment and friendly atmosphere
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  ColoradoJune 16, 2019
Typically I would help customers change batteries in their watches and offer my recommendations about what phone plans to sign up for. The average day would consist of helping individuals find memory cards and chargers. RadioShack might be considered a slow paced environment with no carrier advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s was an ok experience, for me.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJune 15, 2019
It was one of my first part time jobs in Florida. The environment was much different then in NYC. It was much slower, less consumers of products, it was closing down, and the management was VERY minimal and a great deal of leniency with any request in regards to time off, days off, lunches and more.
Pros
Very relaxing environment
Cons
No way to excel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RadioShack Corp is not longer in business.
District Administrative Assistant/Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAJune 13, 2019
RadioShack is no longer in business as a corporation. There are owner owned stores scattered across the country. A company purchased the website portion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RadioShack is not a company I would recommend working for
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJune 12, 2019
In the brief time I spent with the company, I was lead to believe that I would eventually become a store manager and other career opportunities would be available. I soon found out that RadioShack was closing the majority of their stores nationwide which prompted me to find work elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
Corporate Vendor Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJune 10, 2019
This was a nice place to work. I worked with great people and everyday I had things that kept me busy to do that I enjoyed. I had great training and was able to do my job well!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job, positive environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Natchez, MSJune 9, 2019
This was my first job during & after college. The manager was very fair, & respectful. I was able to receive more than enough hours for my time there. It was a nice part-time job, unfortunately the store closed !
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job as a teenager
Electronic Retail Specialist (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 6, 2019
It was a good job to start off with to help out while I was in college. The hours worked with my schedule and i was able to have money while I was in school.
Pros
Good hours and I loved the cool gadgets what radio shack offered.
Cons
Not enough pay to keep up with the cost of living.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good while it lasted
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJune 5, 2019
When I worked at radioshack they were going through an identity crisis, one year they tried to be hip the next they were all about being an electronic parts store. One thing that was always there was commissions or spiffs as they called them.
Pros
The pay was really good at busy locations
Cons
The pay was really bad at slow locations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work for
District Sales Administrator (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLJune 4, 2019
The benefits were great, compensation was above average but lacking for the responsibilities involved. It was overall a good workplace but company went out of business.
Pros
Benefits, discounts and training
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAJune 4, 2019
This job by far was my favorite place/company I have worked for. It gave me experience, knowledge, and skills that I still use to this day in both personal and professional activities.
Pros
Fun, commisioned, discounts
Cons
Base pay was low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dying Company
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLJune 4, 2019
The last year I worked there it was all about damage control for liquidation. Nothing made sense for employees. District managers were leaving like wild fire.
Pros
Good compensation at one point
Cons
too much to list
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Radioshack culture
SALE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 3, 2019
Learning everyday as well as contributing to a safe environment. Not stressful. The hardest part of the job was maintaining inventory of the store. However, I liked the boss.
Pros
Learning the retail trade
Cons
Inadequate lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Wireless Specialist (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDMay 30, 2019
Loved working there and learned random new things about many different parts that can go to many different forms of technology. Phones were always fun to sell. Staff was hard working and fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Store Manager at Store (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 30, 2019
Working with Radio Shack was well worth experience. It focus me on which taking a management role and understanding the product knowledge of different gadgets within the company. I really didn't like my location where I was at because I always had to fear for my life sometimes. But on good side I love working with co-workers I had and all
Pros
great benefits and commission
Cons
was salary and I should had it where location was terrible and not very knowledge of a company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unprofessional
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  West Valley City, UTMay 30, 2019
Radioshack was perhaps one of the most unprofessional places I have ever worked. I don't think it was necessarily the company but more so the people I worked with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent start into management
Manager (Former Employee) –  Portland, MEMay 29, 2019
-set/review goals, training, lead by example
-understanding customer needs is one of the most important aspects of retail
-leading by example
-congratulate and push others to meet/exceed expectations
-they did not have the staffing to meet the needs of the business(not enough customers to handle transactions and provide expected service; not enough budgeted hours)
-below district level management the people. I was amazed at some of the individuals that stayed with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn about electronic components, and regular consumer electronics.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Lynwood, CAMay 26, 2019
Great company with a lot of history, unfortunately poor decision making led to it's downfall, I would love a chance to go back and proudly work for RadioShack to keep the tradition going.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RadioShack. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 5,702 reviews
51.4K
41.6K
31.5K
2654
1518

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.1InHerSight Score

1.9Personal Development

2.4Career Opportunities

1.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight